We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Destinia.com
Prestigia.com
StayForLong
Expedia.com
Melia.com
View all 14 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (675)
Filter reviews
675 results
Traveller rating
336
227
68
27
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
336
227
68
27
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews animation team french guests international team kids club was fab themed nights including french hotel mr marina splash pool with slides french speaking perfect place for families a great vacation pool bar family vacation bar staff different foods very nice stay beach volleyball
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
54 - 59 of 675 reviews
Reviewed 23 June 2022

I have recently returned from an amazing stay at this hotel and here's why!

Staff
- All very friendly, will do absolutely anything for you. Very pleasent and smiley throughout the whole holiday from check in to check out. Special shout out to the amazing Stalios outside remembering our orders without fail and such a lovely happy man providing 3 ladies a weeks worth of non stop all inclusive Marina Paradise!

Entertainment
- INCREDIBLE
Amazing choice of daytime activities and all of the entertainment team are so welcoming and want all their guests to participate and make their holiday special and enjoyable
Special Mention to Jazz, Liv, Dorian and George! Made the effort to come and speak to us every day and we joined in with Water Polo, Volleyball Aquajog, Aqua Zumba - All very good fun daytime activities. The entertainment really makes this hotel and there was so much choice to participate in from HIIT Classes, to football to Yoga - Something for everyone!

The shows were fantastic too, our favourite being the Michael Jackson show and also the Fire Acrobats too! Always looked forward to these every night.

Rooms
- Clean, tidy, spacious
The third bed had a very thin mattress when we arrived, not even strong or safe enough for a young child. Asked for another mattress and they came and provided us with a full size mattress which was very comfortable and resolved the issue immediately.

Food
- Great choice of food in the restaurant for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Loved the choice of theme nights and there was always freshly made pizza and pasta. Snack bar maybe could have a little more variety and freshly added food.

Pools were clean and enough sunbeds for everyone. Nice beach, very relaxing! Hired a car and explored the island which was very cool!

1 week just wasn't enough and would deffinitely return!

Date of stay: June 2022
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank S8687XVamyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Maria Papakaliati, Ιδιοκτήτης at Sol by Melia Marina Beach Crete, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2022

Dear S8687XVamyb
Thank you for choosing our hotel for your holidays and for your great Feedback
For us, it is a great honor that you remember our friendly staff by name.
Stelios thanks you deeply for enjoying his service and Marina Paradise.
Jazz, Liv, Dorian and George are more than happy by your kind comments.
Our guests’ comfort is our aim, and we are pleased to read that we have offered an immediate solution on the bed mattress’s issue
Your kind remark for the food variety at the Snack bar is already taken in account

With pleasure we shall wait for your return!
Till then we send you our warmest regards and wishes
Maria Zacharioudaki
Front office manager
Sol Marina Beach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2022

All round perfect hotel!

A lot of previous comments mention they have different wrist bands for French guests, and guests from other countries - think this is mainly because there's 2 animation teams, and it helps them know who is and isn't French!

It's mainly a French hotel, but we understood everything that was going on and everyone understood us :) so don't be put off by this, the staff were amazing!

Everything seemed to be so chilled out compared to other all inclusive hotels we've stayed in. No rush for sunbeds in the morning (which is unheard of - so you don't need to wake up at the crack of dawn to put your towel down), each meal sitting was for around 3 hours so plenty of time eat throughout the day.

The hotel:
Its big! Luckily we were right on top of reception so didn't have to travel far for anything but if you have trouble walking, it might be an idea to request one of the closer rooms.
Its is so clean everywhere. There is a guy in the pool each morning making sure its clean, the maids clean the rooms well (you have to leave your towels and bedding on the floor if you want them changed - saves washing unnecessarily I think, helps the planet :)
It's right on the beach front, you just have to cross the very quiet road and you're there! Lots of sunbeds available on the beach too.
- There was a shop in the hotel which had everything you needed (snacks, toys, gifts, clothes etc) and wasn't expensive at all! If you couldn't find what you needed there were plenty of shops nearby along the beach front, with some nice restaurants and bars nearby too if you wanted to go out in the evening.

Food and drink:
- They have an allergy book as you come in, in all languages, and the staff there were always very happy to help (I have a severe nut allergy and didn't find eating there a problem at all!)
- Most of the dishes have a little sign saying what they are in a few languages so its always easy to tell what everything is
- Tea's, coffee's, juices and fizzy drinks, wine and beer were all help yourself, never a queue for these machines, they have multiple of each in the restaurant.
- Breakfast - they had a large hot and cold selection (cereal, fresh and dried fruits, pancakes, donuts, pastries, cakes, breads, everything for a fry up, salads, yoghurts)
- Lunch in the restaurant - always had a wide selection of foods. Lots of meat choices, mainly kebabs, stews and grilled chicken/pork/lamb. They had a separate station for pizza and pasta every day (big shout out to the pasta man who was always so happy and polite!!). They have the standard salads and breads selection too which was always fresh and well stocked.
- Dinner was themed most nights (either Fish, Mexican, Italian etc) which made it really nice to have a change of dished everyday, and you were never bored of the same foods (although again they always have pizza, pasta and salads for those who weren't as adventurous)
- Food by the pool - there was food by the pool all day long - from about 10am until around 5pm (chips, pizza, pasta, nuggets, fishfingers etc) lots of picky food for the kids, always kept warm and well stocked too!
- Drinks are available by the pool all day from 10am - 11pm - all soft drinks, coffees, teas, beer and wine is help yourself, and you just ask the staff for alcohol or cocktails.

Entertainment:
I cant fault the entertainment team, all so polite and although they asked everyone to get involved in the days activities, if you didn't want to that's fine too, they'd be happy just to have a chat, no pestering!
The animation team and kids club was from 10am-12:30pm I think, then they broke for lunch and came back from 3-6pm ish? Plenty of activities throughout the day, in the pool, on the beach, on the sport courts.
The evening entertainment was all outside. Kids disco started at 8:45pm and the main show started at 9:45pm. They have a mixture between animation run shows and external company shows, but all were great entertainment!

We will definitely be back! We loved every minute - Thank you Marina Beach!

Room tip: Get a room facing the beach and pool if you can, the other side just looks over the town.
Date of stay: June 2022
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Explore525602
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Maria Papakaliati, Ιδιοκτήτης at Sol by Melia Marina Beach Crete, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2022

Dear Explore
For your stay with us and your detailed and valuable feedback we are grateful.
It makes us very happy to read that you are fully satisfied with our hospitality and services.
Your kind words of appreciation are a generous source of motivation and encouragement for us to continue offering superior value and consistent service to all our guests.
A special thank you for acknowledging the efforts and hard work of our animation teams. They are more than happy to know that you have enjoyed the day & evening animation programs
We keep your promise of return in our heart, and we are looking forward to welcoming you back soon
Till then we send you our warmest regards and wishes
Maria Zacharioudaki
Front office manager
Sol Marina Beach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2022

We had a wonderful time with you. Lovely service. Delicious, varied food. An interesting, attractive infrastructure for children and adults. A beautiful garden. Super pools! Interesting animations. Sandy beach with private sun loungers. We will come back to you for sure! And we will take even more of our friends. Really worth it!

Date of stay: June 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Dominika J
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Maria Papakaliati, Ιδιοκτήτης at Sol by Melia Marina Beach Crete, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2022

Dear Dominika

Thank you for your stay with us and for sparing your valuable time and posting a great review of our hotel. We are delighted to read that we have managed to meet your expectations and you, and your family had a wonderful stay
Your recommendation and promise of a future visit make us proud.
Looking forward to welcoming you and your Family back, as well as your friends, we send you our warm wishes and regards
Maria Zacharioudaki
Front Office Manager
Sol Marina Beach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2022 via mobile

We just got back from the Marina and can honestly say we had a fantastic time. After reading some of the comments about the hotel being predominantly for the French we weren't sure what to expect.

I'm pleased to say this wasn't the case and can see they have made a big effort to make English speaking guests welcome and inclusive.

I would just like to say a massive thank you to Jaz and Liv for making my whole family feel welcome from the get go and sorry we didn't get to say goodbye. We wish you all the best for the future and you're both an asset to the hotel. Also Dorion is an absolute legend.

The food was great, the bungalow was lovely so all in all I haven't got any complaints.

Date of stay: June 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank danieldrayson
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Maria Papakaliati, Ιδιοκτήτης at Sol by Melia Marina Beach Crete, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2022

Dear Danieldrayson,
Thank you for your choice to spend your holiday with us at Sol Marina Beach
What a lovely review for our staff!! It is a great honor for us, that you remember our friendly staff by name. Jaz, Liv and Dorian are so happy knowing that they have very much contributed to your fantastic holiday experience
Thank you !!!
We shall wait of your return!!
Till then, we send you our warmest regards

Maria Zacharioudaki
Front Office Manager
Sol Marina Beach Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2022 via mobile

We stayed for 2 weeks in May, we had a fantastic room in the main part of the hotel, with a pool/beach view. Every where was spotless and food was lovely. Aircon was centrally controlled and needed to be turned on much earlier, temperatures were hitting 30 but hotel didn't activate till 2 days before we left on the 26th and even then it was hardly noticeable. Staff were always lovely especially the bar and restaurant staff no matter how busy they were they always had time for a smile and a chat. A big shout out to Stelios in reception and Stelios at the pool bar, nothing was too much trouble, both really nice guys!!
As others have mentioned the lookea animation team had no time for anyone who wasn't french, if you did not have a lookea red band, you didn't matter, the remarc team were totally different George, Jasmine, Olivia and Dorien were fantastic. The shows are the same each week, so if you stay 2 weeks then you will see the same ones again, don't attend the white party or comedy show if you are not french as no one speaks English and we had no idea what was going on but the dance and acrobat shows are worth attending, i would suggest someone who speaks English is also present on these nights. We had a fabulous 2 weeks and would definitely return.

Date of stay: May 2022
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank R1253AYcherylb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Maria Papakaliati, Ιδιοκτήτης at Sol by Melia Marina Beach Crete, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2022

Dear CherylB
It was a pleasure hosting you at Sol Marina Beach. Thank you for your choice and preference
We are delighted by your comments for the food ,the services, the room and for having managed to offer you a fabulous 2 weeks stay
All your remarks and suggestions for the animation are taken in account and help us improve our services
Stelios at the pool bar , Stelios in reception , as well as all animation team deeply Thank You for your great comments

We are looking forward to your return and we send you our warmest wishes and regards
Maria Zacharioudaki
Front office manager
Sol Marina Beach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews