We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Resort with OK standard rooms & OK beach”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Amirandes, Grecotel Exclusive Resort
Ranked #1 of 39 Hotels in Kato Gouves
Certificate of Excellence
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
264 reviews
219 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 756 helpful votes
“Nice Resort with OK standard rooms & OK beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2011

HOTEL REVIEW # 183 Gansevoort

MY TRAVEL STYLE: If possible, I try to stay away from business hotels and strongly prefer resorts that resemble the Four Seasons, Aman, and Oberoi but try to find similar properties at lower cost. I seek out the “wow” experiences.

LOCATION: Directly on an average beach and walking distance to a few local restaurants.

BEST WAY TO GET THERE: It was 180E round trip by taxi to/from the ferry port/airport. We rented a car for 160E for 6 days as it was less expensive and we were able to see other sights.

TYPE OF ROOM: 

Standard. Room was all white with almost no color and no pictures. Very boring. Highlight of the room is the oversized patio door that opens up all the way to make your bedroom almost feel like it is outside.

BED/SHEETS/PILLOW: Bed/sheets were good but nothing too special. Our bed was 2 twins (doubles) pushed together to make a larger bed (and beds were made separately). Pillows were not down pillows and were not very good.

LIGHTING: Excellent in bedroom and bathroom

BATHROOM/SHOWER: Nicest part of the room. Shower had excellent water pressure.

TOILETRIES: Very nice local Greek products.

CLEANLINESS: Entire hotel is spotless

A/C: Worked well.

COMMON AREA: Definitely beautiful at night with how it is lit up via fire and lights. Olympic sized pool was nice but too cold (like nearly every pool in Greece/Europe).

QUIET/MORNING LIGHT: Room was very quiet and all morning light could be blocked.

FOOD: Breakfast was good for a buffet (I prefer freshly prepared items) and there was lots of selection. Tip: Espressos can be ordered at no extra charge. We had a pizza one day for lunch that was not very good.

TV/INTERNET: Flat screen TV with about 3-4 English channels. TV could be bigger for the room. Wireless internet worked OK

SERVICE: Staff was very nice and there were only a few minor problems.

SUMMARY: Definitely a great place to stay if going to Crete. I preferred the Blue Palace Hotel much more than this property. I don't think Crete is all that great of a place to visit as the beaches are just OK and there isn't much to see.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank TravelSnob1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

680 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    512
    114
    34
    12
    8
See reviews for
218
313
13
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
42 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2011

Lovely resort, located near the airport (so all flights pass most of the day and night over the hotel). We had a family room located on the ground floor, with a shared garden. Room had everything we needed, but, I felt that for the price we paid and the overall level of this hotel, our room wasn't to the standard you would expect. Mainly the furniture and how things worked. Please note that having this type of room invited man little animal friends to also stay with you.... Overall this hotel is super high class. Both breakfast and dinner buffets were very good. Great viriety and service. Pools were too cold to go in, even in August ! Most of the guest are Russians (80%). Rest are mix of English and Americans. Not much activities going on. Great pace just to chill out. They are not cheap, so if you can afford it, this is one of your better options in Crete. We might be back again.... But nothing made it a real wow to come back again next summer

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erannn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amirandes_Management, Manager at Amirandes, Grecotel Exclusive Resort, responded to this review, 20 October 2011
Dear Guest,

With this opportunity we would like to thank you for taking the time to write a letter and let us know about your stay in Amirandes Grecotel Exclusive Resort. We truly welcome and value your comments as direct feedback always helps us to try harder, in order to improve our product, exceed our guests’ expectations and continue providing exclusive luxury services.

To begin with, we are pleased that in overall you find our hotel to be in a high level and we hope that you will choose again a Grecotel Property during your next visit in Greece. We are also very happy to hear that you were satisfied by the quality of the food and the service of our personnel. The Amirandes team makes a continuous effort for personalized service and through extensive training we try to improve day by day. Service has always been an important value for our Group and we will continue to work hard towards this direction.

Concerning the activities, we would like to point out that we have an entertainment team of 4 persons and in the high season up to 9 persons which tenderly present daily activities for our guests such as Beach Volley, Football, steps, aerobics, yoga, water gymnastics, table tennis, football, Free Golf trials & lessons. Alternatively we have our own water sports center offering a variety of water sports options to our guests during their stay and our co-operators for near by diving excursions, horse riding and mountain bike tours.

Concerning the evening entertainment, we would like to point out that the character of the hotel is in such a way that allows very soft entertainment. However, every evening there is another music band in our Labyrinth Bar and alternatively during the week, we have 3 professional shows and 2 Movie presentations in our Amphitheatre area plus one action activity such as for example Night Football. Once per week, we offer Cretan Folklore Dancing Performance accompanied with music in our “Xasteria” Restaurant and three times per week there is a signer with live piano music in our “Lago Di Candia” Mediterranean Restaurant. We really regret if the above information did not reach you promptly in order to experience some of the above mentioned day activities.

Working with the greatest enthusiasm, constantly improving our services and taking into account your well intended, constructive criticism and comments, we truly hope that you would give us the opportunity to welcome you again in our Resort or another of our hotel in the Grecotel chain.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2011

What a pity that they chose to put this hotel in this location . Outside of the hotel complex , the surrounding area was horrendous . Inside the complex the hotel was mostly well appointed with a beautiful outdoor eating area complimented by very pleasant and helpful staff . The long corridors in the part of the hotel we stayed in resembled a prison block and when uncaring people closed the doors it also sounded like one . The noise was incredible and you had virtually no chance of a full nights sleep . Evening entertainment was poor , usually consisting of a singer in the bar which was never full as it lacked atmosphere . The beach was non existent . It was at best approximately 2 / 3 metres wide except for the people in the private apartments who were given more than enough space for their needs . To one side of the hotel there was a wide and spacious beach that could have been developed but unfortunately it was over grown and strewn with rubbish . A total lack of thought in locating this hotel on this site . Gouves is at best dire !!! The Grecotel group must have got this land cheaply . The food was excellent although the drinks in the bar were a little pricey .

Room Tip: if you can afford it go for one of the private villas .
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 2ball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amirandes_Management, Manager at Amirandes, Grecotel Exclusive Resort, responded to this review, 20 October 2011
Dear Guest,

With this letter we would like to thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay in Amirandes Grecotel Exclusive Resort. We truly welcome and value your comments as direct feedback always helps us to try harder, in order to exceed our guests’ expectations and provide exclusive luxury services.

We are very sorry that we did not meet all your expectations regarding the points are you highlighting in your letter.
The location of the hotel is in Gouves just 18 km away from the Heraklion Airport providing only 15 minutes driving distance. The city of Heraklion is at a distance of 23 km offering few options for shopping, restaurants an coffee shops. The Palace of Knossos with a driving distance of 20 minutes is located just 25 km for guests who have culture interest. Alternatively, also Hersonnissos area is nearby at a distance of 10 km and friends of Golf playing can enjoy tournaments and practice at the Crete Golf Club just 10 km away from the hotel.

As you have noticed probably during your stay, Amirandes is characterized by a sense of relation and serenity. We are afraid that a few times some of our guests might become a little louder than expected. We understand that this can be disappointing for their ‘’neighbors’’ especially during the night hours. In cases like these, our staff respecting both sides proceeds carefully with kind recommendations, trying to resolve these matters in the best interest of all our guests.

Concerning the evening entertainment, we would like to point out that the character of the hotel is in such a way that allows very soft entertainment. However, every evening there is another music band in our Labyrinth Bar and alternatively during the week, we have 3 professional shows and 2 Movie presentations in our Amphitheatre area plus one action activity such as for example Night Football. Once per week, we offer Cretan Folklore Dancing Performance accompanied with music in our “Xasteria” Restaurant and three times per week there is a signer with live piano music in our “Lago Di Candia” Mediterranean Restaurant. We regret deeply if the above information did not reach you promptly in order to experience the evening entertainment program.

Regarding the beach areas of our hotel, we would like to comment that we have three different areas: The beach area in front of our Restaurants, the beach area east of the Amirandes pool with our water sport facilities and the beach area in front of our Villas with the Gazebos (the white cabanas) for use for the guest’s villas. Due to the weather conditions at that period, the beach area in front of the Restaurants limited the number of lines stressed with sunbeds. Additionally, we would like to position that we have our beach personnel that cleans up daily all three beaches but definitely until the ending of our entitled beach areas.

Dear Guest, we would like to assure you that working with the greatest enthusiasm, we always take into account any comments and proposals. We truly hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you again in our resort and we are confident that your highest expectations will be fulfilled in Amirandes Grecotel Exclusive Resort, during your next visit in Crete.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Grecotel Amirandes the second week in September, we had a great stay - lovely food, and this was an ideal hotel for just chilling out for the week. The public areas in this hotel are stunning, the staff friendly and proficient, and there are some lovely touches about this hotel like the constant supply of fresh towels at the pool, beautiful pool area and lovely surroundings, but there are also a few fails that definitely detracted something from our stay.

We had a lovely warm welcome with reception staff greeting us with fresh orange and cool towels - very welcome after a late arrival.

Our room was extremely comfortable - double size with a day bed in the corner. Always cleaned to a really high standard, although I would say that the room was comfortable as opposed to five star luxury.

The pool area is outstanding, and we ate a few times in the pool side bar - the food was excellent, and although a little more expensive that cafes and bars in the surrounding area the portions were huge, and the food really fresh. There is also waiter service in the pool area throughout the day, and the staff come around with free melon slices and water.

We were half board, and the restaurant for evening meals is stunning (mostly outdoors, water features etc). The food was great - always fresh and tasty, but maybe not quite the selection I would have expected from a 5 star hotel. We found the wine on offer at this restaurant was on the whole really expensive, and resorted to getting our own from the local supermarket and drinking it before dinner....however on our last night we ate at one of the a la carte restaurants and found the wine selection better and cheaper!

On the whole the drink is very pricey in the hotel, which was disappointing (over 10 Euro for a vodka and tonic and 13 Euros for a cocktail), so we ended up wandering a 100 yards up the road to the local Taverna where we got 3 rounds for 20 Euros.

The biggest disappointment was that this hotel is not quite the haven of peace and quiet we were expecting. Our room over looked the reception area, and at night there is a lot of noise from the live acts (which do stop at 11:30). There is reasonable sound proofing between the rooms, and good sound proofing between the floors. However there is little sound proofing between the corridor and the room, and practically none between the room and the outside world....which was exceptionally problematic when at least 3 sets of our neighbours sat out in the balconies drinking until about 2 or 3 am while getting generally riotous and very loud!

On the whole we had an enjoyable holiday, although minus a good few hours sleep...my advice - invest in a decent set of earplugs!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rosiesmartypants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
159 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2011

There are now quite a few luxury hotels on Crete so why stay here? Well, if you're just planning on a bit of relaxation by the pool or on the beach, then that's a good question. Elounda, where the other five star hotels are situated, is a lot prettier than Kato Gouves, which is, to be frank, a bit of a one horse town with an unappealing beach backing onto a bit of wasteland. The sand's brown, the beach is covered with smelly seaweed, and the large pipes waiting to go somewhere on the field behind the beach don't exactly add to the ambience.

But actually, there is a very good reason to stay here. Gouves is about a 15 minute drive from the airport and Heraklion, so it's much more central to the island than Elounda. If you plan on doing a bit of exploring of the island and its historical sites, but you also like a bit of luxury when it comes to your accommodation, then the Amirandes is really your only option.

And it doesn't disappoint. It really is a beautiful hotel. The public areas have been built to resemble a Minoan palace. There are walkways and arcades beside shallow reflecting pools which are all magically lit up at night with sparkly lights and candles. Breakfast and dinner are outside in a beautiful courtyard with a pool in the middle and walls to protect you from the (quite strong) breezes, yet giving views of the sea. The huge swimming pool (Olympic size) is surrounded by a kind of louvred sun shade so you can choose to be in the sun, in the shade or in dappled sunlight and there are enough sunbeds for everyone, even when the hotel is full (which it was the first week we were there). It's very romantic - you could come here for a honeymoon (as many couples do) and not be disappointed. It reminded me a lot of the sort of ultra stylish resorts you get in places like Mauritius.

The staff are wonderful. Everyone is so friendly, even the room maids. Most of them are native Greek although there are some Eastern Europeans in the kids club and on the reception who are equally chirpy. The restaurant staff loved my son and gave him lots of attention. I can honestly say they are the best staff of any hotel I've been to, and that includes the Four Seasons, where they're great, but you feel they're paid to be great. In the Amirandes you get the feeling they're so nice because they're just really nice people. It won't take you long to learn what "kalimera" and "kalispera" mean.

In fact in many ways the Amirandes is up there with some of the best hotels I've stayed in, except for one thing, which is that it's really not very cheap to stay here. The hotel is lovely but for the amount we paid we expected it to be pretty darn lovely. We booked a family suite with sea view, but the first room we given (in the sunset wing) was very disappointing. In order to see the sea, you had to stand right by the window in one corner or go out onto the balcony or otherwise you were looking straight onto the hotel's even pricier villas. The so-called suite was actually a normal sized room split in two, with the part nearest the window divided off with some sliding doors and two small beds were placed in there for the children. It wasn't a suite in the sense of any hotel I've stayed in. We asked to be moved (we were paying extra for a sea view and wanted to see the sea without craning our necks) and the hotel manager was very helfpul. She said the hotel was full so couldn't move us, but the next day another suite became free in the building near the swimming pool. This wasn't much larger than the first one, but had a much better layout with a separate dressing room, and our bedroom had it's own window (as did the kids' one) so we weren't cut off from the outside world when the sliding doors were closed. At a very conservative estimate (we booked through Sovereign, who I might just add were absolutely dreadful - they couldn't even get the departure terminal right) we were paying more than five hundred quid (GBP) a night for this, probably more. I just expected something a bit better. The pillows were hard, the bed was uncomfortable, when you had a shower water went all over the bathroom floor. If they'd made the rooms a couple of feet bigger in each direction, that would have helped. Charging less would have helped even more. It's a nice hotel in an unclassy part of a very touristy island, and Greece is in the middle of a massive economic crisis. But hey, the hotel was full, so who am I to moan about it? (although while I've got your attention, over seven Euros for a freshly squeezed orange juice seems a bit over the top too. Cocktails were around the 12 Euro mark.)

The food was good. Breakfasts were excellent with loads of choice. Dinners also had a lot of choice although vegetarian dishes were more limited if you don't eat fish or meat. You won't starve, but you may find it getting a bit samey.I was disappointed that the menus were rotated on a weekly rather than fortnightly basis so the second week the food was all very familiar. There is loads of fresh fruit. I had fresh figs with honey and yoghurt almost every day we were there. Delicious.

The hotel has free wi-fi and it was super speedy. My husband always has to work on holiday and this makes a big difference to us. It's very rare for hotels to offer it for free and for it to be so good, so well done to Grecotel for moving with the times. Less good was the gym, which was a bit sparse in terms of equipment.

More than half the guests were Russian, which may account for why it's so pricey, as they seem to be a bit less price sensitive than the rest of us, the rest of us being a mixture of Europeans, mainly German and British. There were some quite stunning women the first week - which made for interesting people watching around the pool and in the dining area. But fortunately for the body conscious there were also plenty of fatties (rich ones I think - not many tattoos here) in inappropriately small swimming cossies.

In other reviews people have mentioned the aircraft noise and mosquitoes. Although the hotel is under the flight path, the planes are high enough up that they haven't got their undercarriages down when they fly over so they're not landing imminently and the noise is no worse than it is where I live in South London. Maybe I'm more used to it than some people, but it didn't bother me at all. We didn't see a single mosquito the entire time we were there. I'm normally a biting insect magnet but I came away with not a single bite and my insect repellent spray went unused.

The hotel has a little kind of mini supermarket which sells more or less anything you might want. It's a little pricier than a normal shop but not that much more, and is actually very useful if you've forgotten or run out of something.

I was a bit disappointed by Crete. It's very touristy and nothing feels very authentic. Even it's most famous attraction, Knossos is mostly a total fake. We hired a car and drove around a bit, but this isn't very relaxing. The Greeks drive like maniacs and not surprisingly have a death rate on the roads three times ours. However, the weather when we were there was fabulous - fourteen days of glorious sunshine (with a cooling sea breeze), and it's only a three hour flight from the UK (even if Easyjet can make it feel a lot longer).

If you're going anyway, then the Amirandes is certainly the best placed of all the luxury hotels to make the best of the island. It's an undoubtedly lovely hotel, but for the price you're paying, I can't help feeling it jolly well ought to be.

Room Tip: Avoid the sunset wing if you want a seaview. The wing by the pool is the most convenient..
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank rosiefromlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kato Gouves
70.5 km away
Caramel Grecotel Boutique Resort
0.5 km away
The Island Hotel
The Island Hotel
#2 of 39 in Kato Gouves
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,764 reviews
73.2 km away
Grecotel Creta Palace Hotel
Grecotel Creta Palace Hotel
#11 of 167 in Rethymnon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Stella Palace Resort & Spa
69.2 km away
White Palace El Greco Luxury Resort
36.8 km away
Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Crete
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amirandes, Grecotel Exclusive Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amirandes, Grecotel Exclusive Resort

Property: Amirandes, Grecotel Exclusive Resort
Address: PO Box 106, Kato Gouves, Gouves, Crete 71202, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Gouves > Kato Gouves
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kato Gouves
#1 Spa Hotel in Kato Gouves
#1 Family Hotel in Kato Gouves
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kato Gouves
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kato Gouves
Price range (per night): ₹ 15,025 - ₹ 42,250
Hotel Class:5 star — Amirandes, Grecotel Exclusive Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amirandes 5 star hotel in Crete, is a sparkling exclusive resort on the coast of east Crete. Themed around the lagoons that swirl through its centre, the luxury hotel in Crete covers a 70,000 sq m beachfront estate comprising of eight restaurants, sandy beaches, Elixir Spa with authentic Ayurveda treatments, outdoor Olympic-size seawater pool, over 60 private pools and extensive children's facilities. The sophisticated guestrooms suites and villas feature indulgent details such as private gyms, home cinema and state-of-the-art bathrooms with colour-therapy and aromatherapy Jacuzzi bathtubs. Refined and considerate service mirrors the Resort's meticulous attention to detail and utmost respect for the privacy of its guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Prestigia, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Amirandes, Grecotel Exclusive Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grecotel Amirandes Hotel Gouves
Grecotel Amirandes Amnissos
Grecotel Amirandes Hotel Amnissos
Amirandes, Grecotel Exclusive Resort Kato Gouves, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing