We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
5 people are viewing this hotel
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Hotels.com$114
Travelocity$114
Orbitz.com$114
Trip.com$118
ZenHotels.com$109
Agoda.com$107
View all 12 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,620)
Filter reviews
2,620 results
Traveller rating
1,704
696
166
36
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,704
696
166
36
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tholos bar across the road sea view stone bar main pool relaxing pool shared pool open plan lovely hotel breakfast and dinner relaxing holiday buffet style sun loungers bottle of water hotel guests quiet road local tavernas
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 2,620 reviews
Reviewed 31 July 2022 via mobile

By day three I can confidently say that this is the most beautiful hotel with the most attentive staff that we’ve stayed in.

Since my two girls were little I’ve ensured that we have our invaluable mother daughter holidays. 2 years ago Covid scuppered plans to celebrate our joint 16th, 18th and 50th birthdays. But The Island was well worth waiting for especially as we are all of an age where we can fully appreciate the merits of an adult only resort.

Every member of staff is courteous and professional. Our room is large, clean and airy even with the third bed in use. It is is serviced and cleaned to a high standard and is well stocked with fresh water replenished daily.

The 3 large pools serving different needs are surrounded by Bali beds and umbrellas a plenty and with the beach as a back drop you can’t ask for anything more.

It has a very well stocked gym with a good mix of cardio and weight equipment. There is a beautiful Greek Orthodox chapel, a range of places to eat and relax and a mini market with prices comparable to the those on the adjoining strip.

I would strongly advise people to look past any negative reviews on here and try it for yourselves. We honestly believe you won’t be disappointed.

We can’t extend our thanks enough to every who is making the stay so memorable other than to say we will certainly be back year after year.

Date of stay: July 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
4  Thank A1wisewords
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 15 July 2022 via mobile

Good:
Friendly front of house staff
Good amenities

Bad:
Management
Dealing with issues

We had an okay stay. We were happy with our room and the hotel facilities generally. The one large problem we had was not dealt with in a satisfactory way in our opinion. Our air conditioning did not work from the first day. As the weather warned on the second day we noticed that the air conditioner was blowing out ambient air, so we flagged this on day 2. Someone came out the same day and agreed there was an issue so someone would come round tomorrow (as was a Sunday and therefore difficult to organise an engineer. Despite chasing multiple times an engineer did not attend until Tuesday (day 4). They diagnosed the fault but realised they would need coolant fluid which would be delivered the next day. At the end of the next day, despite being assured by the hotel staff, the repair had not been done and at this point the weather was much warmer and we were struggling to sleep. Only at this point were we offered another room to sleep in (at 10pm). So, we transferred to this room temporarily for the night. The next day we were told that this move was not temporary and this was a permanent ‘upgrade’. We did not feel this was an upgrade, as the room was significantly smaller with less storage space. We explained this and hotel staff offered that we could move back to old room and air con would definitely fixed that day. Again, it was not fixed and we were forced to move room at 10pm. We were therefore living out of bags and moving every day. The next day the air con was fixed, thankfully. We discussed the option of compensation for our inconvenience and after some discussion were offered a discount for €90 off a massage with no refund/reduction in nightly room rate. We had asked about a voucher for the restaurant but this was refused. We also felt the manager was dismissive and condescending in dealing with us, which was not appreciated. Given the room rate/amount we paid, we did not feel adequately compensated for our disturbed stay.

Date of stay: May 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank bobmH6562CL
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 12 July 2022

Stayed here with my boyfriend last week, the staff was awful, the cleaners and one member of staff from the kitchen was the nicest staff members there.
Staff on reception spoke to us like a robot, nothing was explained in detail, they was snotty and so rude, we requested late check out unfortunately was not able to have this but the hotel let us check out at 1pm for free ( probably the nicest they were all week), we was told we were still guests of the hotel on our last day and can make use of the facilities, my boyfriend went to get us some clean towels so we could shower and I was shocked at how they spoke to him when asking - “ only our guests get towels” “have you booked the shower room?” “You can’t get a shower without booking the shower room” - no one had informed us at all that we had to book the shower room after it being mentioned on the check out that we can have a shower so we was unable to get a shower on our last day after sunbathing and swimming in the pool, we ended up having to shower outside by the pool and getting changed in the toilets, we then went to get food at the hotel as we was pressed for time and asked the waitress if we can order food which she replied to “No food is only served after 7pm you will have to go outside the hotel for food” - we wasn’t bothered about leaving the hotel for food it was more over the tone and how she spoke to us, me and my boyfriend both thought she was joking, not one staff member you walked past said good morning back to you or smiled back, when waiting for our transfer I asked someone on reception if there is somewhere to charge my phone and he just pointed to this cove in the wall where there was 1 plug. The last day when you’re going home is a day you want running smoothly and instead they made the little things stressful.

Shame because it is such a beautiful hotel, myself and my boyfriend still had a lovely relaxing time but I will not be coming back at all for this reason, also there is not much to do in that area.

Wouldn’t recommend going to The Island Restaurant up the road on the beach front either staff was disgusting in there and the food was gross. The restaurants behind the hotel (reception front) was lovely the staff there was so nice couldn’t fault the food either ( paradise).

Oh yeah and the entertainment in the hotel is boring best just going out to one of the cocktail bars the atmosphere is so much better.

Solid 2/10 for the experience at the hotel 10/10 for the hotel itself. Just glad we never let it ruin our holiday after looking forward to it for so long.

Date of stay: July 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Xxnicolexxpricexx
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 11 July 2022

Another fantastic holiday, paid for a sea view room and we werent disappointed. Our last vist was in 2017 and there have been a number of changes which have improved the quality of stay. On arrival there was a nice welcome gift waiting for us which highlights the way guests are treated by the lovely staff.

Room tip: Always go for a sea view room
Date of stay: July 2022
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank APower7732
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 11 July 2022 via mobile

In summary- we had the most wonderful trip and felt the holiday was very good value. We are a young couple who came for a week in July. The resort is very lovely and relaxing- definitely on the quieter side but this was exactly what we were looking for. If you would like a lovely relaxing summer holiday that’s also good value this is a really great option. It wasn’t necessarily “luxury” compared to some hotels but for this price it is a really lovely hotel. (we paid £1200 for 6 nights including dinner and breakfast)

The staff were charming and welcoming throughout. Our room was lovely, we chose one of the rooms with the shared pool- it was towards the back of the resort, probably a 6-7 minute walk from the reception and pools, but we didn’t mind this at all as it’s a beautiful walk. We had breakfast and dinner included with our room. Both are really great with plenty of choice and high quality of food. We went out a couple of times to local restaurants too which was really nice- only a few moments from the hotel (our favourite was the “island”). Lunch served at the restaurant by the pool was also really delicious and good value. Portion sizes are very generous so most days my boyfriend and I would share (and still be full) an added bonus of this would be our bill for lunch would be about 20 euros including two cocktails.

Only “negatives” to consider (although wouldn’t stop us returning) are:

- The bathrooms in the room are quite small and basic, I wouldn’t really compare to other five star hotels we’ve stayed at but perfectly fine and clean
- No alternative milk at breakfast, I cannot drink dairy so missed my morning coffee and I think all hotels these days should have at least 1 milk alternative on offer as it’s very easy to solve
- Only 2 plugs in the room and one wasn’t working, so maybe worth bringing an extension lead
- The area is quite quiet around the hotel, not much to do. We thought it was closer to Heraklion but taxis are 35 euro each way and about 30 mins so it does mean you spend most time in the resort

Date of stay: July 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Annabelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews