We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“absolutely outstanding”

Review of The Old Stables

The Old Stables
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Old Stables
The Old Stables benefits from a large private patio garden The spacious open plan accommodation in The Old Stables
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
7 reviews
The Old Stables
The Old Stables benefits from a large private patio garden
The spacious open plan accommodation in The Old Stables
Very well-equipped kitchen at The Old Stables
The Old Stables
Comfortable relaxed sitting area in The Old Stables
Second ensuite in The Old Stables - Twin bedded room
2 ensuites: one with shower and one with bath/shower
The Old Stables - bathroom
One of many walks on the farm directly from the cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
West Marden, West Sussex, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
LiAnF
Ghent, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“absolutely outstanding”
Reviewed 6 August 2012 for a stay in July 2012

Just returned from a third excellent stay in the Old Stables (West Marden), I cannot but highly recommend this absolutely outstanding accommodation yet again.
From the idyllic but strategic location to the warm and attentive hosts, from the magnificent and well-equipped cottage to the lovely surroundings, this spacious and comfortable property is the perfect -and spotless- home away from home. On top of all that this beautiful place boasts plenty touches of character and luxury, a stunning garden with heated pool and dozens of great countryside walks just on the doorstep.
The standard of accommodation and hospitality is truly flawless.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sarah w
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect In everyway!!!”
Reviewed 28 December 2011 for a stay in December 2011

My family and friends all stay for 3 days at West Marden Farm. I was getting married at a venue near by and when we came across the Old stables we knew it would be the perfect and homely place for us all to get ready for the BIG DAY! The Beautiful surroundings also made perfect pictures for our wedding before we left to go to the Tithe Barn. We took over all of the accommodation and was made to Feel like part of the family. Me and my bridesmaids got ready in the old stables which catered for 4 over excited girls, 2 hairdressers and a relaxed Bride( which was helped by the surroundings) with space to spare. My family stayed in the keepers which is out of this world! The day after we spent time there opening cards and presents around the wood burning stove with all our family. It Made the best day of my life, the best weekend of my life! Thank you x

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: How homely it was
Liked least: I just loved it all
Travelling group: Large Group/Tour
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruth M
Basingstoke, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Totally amazing and a wonderful experience!”
Reviewed 2 October 2011 for a stay in September 2011

I stayed at the old stables the night before my wedding with my parents and brother and then with my husband for a couple of nights after the wedding. It's situated in a beautiful little village near the South Downs. The old stables is just oozing character but with all the mod cons which made our stay very comfortable indeed. It was also a super place to get ready before the wedding - loads if space in the reception area for hairdryers, make-up and copious amounts for tea, coffee and croissants. The owner, Carole, was very welcoming and had put gorgeous fresh flowers in each of the rooms - a really lovely personal touch! Overall, a fabulous experience and we'd love to stay again some day!! And I'd thoroughly recommend it to anyone for a romantic getaway, family break or a base for a wedding!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The bed was amazingly comfortable
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LiAnF
Ghent, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Sheer bliss: delightful in every way”
Reviewed 27 July 2011 for a stay in July 2011
1
person found this review helpful

The Old Stables, West Marden, is a sheer bliss. It meets every expectation or standard you can possibly have. Spacious (even for a family of five) yet cosy, well-equipped and homely, tastefully decorated but at the same time very convenient for those keen on the outdoors. Combine this with a courteous welcome, a lovely swimming pool and the beautiful Old Stables becomes a delightful and impeccable holiday spot. Tucked away in the rolling hills of the South Downs on the grounds of an 16th century farmhouse, this cottage is ideally located to discover Sussex: just a short drive from Chichester and Portsmouth, Goodwood, Midhurst or Arundel. The Solent and the Isle of Wight are within easy reach too. Recommended for all seasons!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children Families with teenagers
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rhofmann2...
Eschenz, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016
Google Translation

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Es war wie zu Hause anzukommen
Liked least: Ein Auto ist ein "must". Der Bus fährt nur 4x pro Tag
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing