We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Still haunts”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Lion's Den

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Coromandel
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lion's Den
Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Still haunts”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

I stayed here back in December 2009 It ruined my holiday.
I had to wait a least 20 - 30 minutes to go to the toilet first thing in the morning, due to shower and toilets being together. I went to the owner to ask if i could use their's as I was desperate. She didn't care, told me to wait. I wasn't the only one waiting either.There were also three other people.
After the couples finally emerged from the two choices of bathrooms. There was hostility between the backpackers. I couldn't get out of the place fast enough.
If the management had been understanding this could have been avoided. Maybe the toilet facilities have been improved? But no doubt the attitude will be the same.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

40 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    12
    5
    3
    0
See reviews for
2
10
18
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

Saw it in Lonely Planet and thought it sounded like a quirky place to stay for our night in Coromandel. Edy was great, very welcoming and friendly. Our african themed double room was small but clean and comfortable and we had a great night's sleep, although the walls are a bit thin so we could hear other people as soon as they were up and about in the morning. Shared bathroom facilities are ok. Shared kitchen and living space is great, with plenty of places to lounge about and a large wooden table for everyone to eat at and share stories over breakfast. We found out lots about the local area and good fishing spots from others round the table. Would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank samncaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
auckland nz
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2010

We saw this place in lonely planets and thought why not...the owner, cant remember her name was very relaxed and welcoming. She only takes cash for payment though. Got given a double room with shared toilets and kitchen. Nice and clean with comfortable bed. Infact the most comfortable bed we slept in during our trip.

Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank burgerqueen700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2010

The Lion Den is a hidden treasure!
Every room has an (african) theme and paintings and interior according to it. The kitchen alone is worth staying there. Everything adds up to a cosy and warm atmosphere. This hostel is run by a couple who takes care of all you needs. They even leave personal notes to wish departing travelers a good day.
If you come to Coromandel, don't miss out on it!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happygirl160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, UK
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2010

I have just done a whistle stop tour around the Coromandel Peninsular and found this fabulous little retreat hidden away at the end of a quiet street in Coromandel town. THE BEST BACKPACKER HOSTEL for miles. For cat lovers there is the most beautiful resident ginger manx cat.
http://www.lionsdenhostel.co.nz/

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank joanmiaowNorfolk_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coromandel hotels
0.1 km away
Coromandel TOP 10 Holiday Park
1.0 km away
Anchor Lodge Coromandel
Anchor Lodge Coromandel
#5 of 11 in Coromandel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
3.4 km away
Jacaranda Lodge
Jacaranda Lodge
#2 of 14 in Coromandel
5.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Coromandel Tui Lodge
Coromandel Tui Lodge
#5 of 17 in Coromandel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
0.8 km away
The Olive Motel
The Olive Motel
#2 of 11 in Coromandel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
2.0 km away
Hush Boutique Accommodation
Hush Boutique Accommodation
#2 of 17 in Coromandel
5.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lion's Den? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lion's Den

Property: Lion's Den
Address: 126 Te Tiki Street, Coromandel 3506, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Coromandel
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Coromandel
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing