We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Coach holiday break”
Review of Carrbridge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Carrbridge Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Carrbridge
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Coach holiday break”
Reviewed 29 April 2012

We stayed at the Carrbridge as part of an organised coach trip. It was acceptable and met expectations. The rooms were tidy, bedroom clean and warm and the staff helpful. Breakfast was very good with plenty of choice, dinner was adequate with good quality meat although the vegetables were disappointing. First taste of haggis which was good! The entertainment was good each night but felt sorry for the performers as poorly supported by the guests. The ceilagh would have been more successful if we had had some instruction! We would stay there again and it was nice and peaceful in the village being away from the main road although it seemed to be very central for travelling around.

Room Tip: Our bedroom on the 1st floor was above the entertainment room so we could hear the music anyway! Ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Geordie021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

489 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    125
    148
    108
    64
    44
See reviews for
75
219
23
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hants UK
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012

Stayed here with a coach trip for 4 nights. Lovely location but hotel very shabby and the rooms small and depressing. Breakfast OK but dinner was a huge disappointment. The hotel was very clean I have to say and the staff very helpful - if you managed to find one who spoke English!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MelHants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Carrbridge hotels

Derby Uk
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Stayed 4 nights on rail holiday. Room on 2nd floor of newer block was clean and comfortable. Rather rambling inside but lift helped. Excellent breakfasts, dinner more basic but quite edible. Staff very polite and helpful. Evening entertainment disappointing. Ceilidh on Wednesday night good but poorly attended (Saturday was reported as being much better).
Note to management: Appeared rather overstaffed. A rethink of the entertainment, particularly in publicising whats on, could increase attendance (and bar sales). Waiting staff made no attempt to offer drinks with meals.

Room Tip: Try for 2nd floor of new block. Entertainment was a reported problem to rooms on 1st floor of new bl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MistletoeDerbyUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights as part of a rail holiday. Read the reviews before we went and were a bit concerned the management had not taken the opportunity to reply. It's a 'coach' hotel - no problem with one/two coaches but three is one too many. Staff, who are very helpful, cannot cope with three and neither can the kitchen. However we only saw a couple of meals being sent back. Breakfast is a buffet and that's fine. Dinner is a pre-plated affair served very early with the vegatables being monontonously unimaginative. The room we were in was clean, fairly recently decorated with good bathroom fittings. Overall it's ok for a couple of nights but it's more Canteen than Cordon Bleu when it comes to the food at Dinner.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Yorkie69663
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hucknall
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2012

My sister and I spent 5days/4 nights on coach trip staying at the Carrbridge Hotel, our room was comfortable, very clean and the chocolate on the pillow was a lovely gesture. The view from window was of the bridge,(which at night was floodlight) and the wandering river was perfect. Unfortunately we had to eat at the hotel, 3 coaches were at the hotel and on two occasions we had to return our meals to the kitchen (we found out later that several other people had done the same). I think that the number of people eating at the same time was too much for the staff to cope with. It was a shame because if they could only sort their kitchen out and make their dining room a bit more attractive it would be a very pleasant hotel to stay at. The entertainment in the evenings was enjoyable.

Room Tip: Front rooms have lovely view of bridge which is floodlight at night and good view of river
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank PatHHucknall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carrbridge
0.2 km away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
249 reviews
12.2 km away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
0.3 km away
Fairwinds Hotel
Fairwinds Hotel
#2 of 3 in Carrbridge
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 km away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
1,283 reviews
29.8 km away
Highlander Hotel
Highlander Hotel
#3 of 3 in Newtonmore
668 reviews
9.8 km away
Nethybridge Hotel
Nethybridge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Nethy Bridge
557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carrbridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carrbridge Hotel

Property: Carrbridge Hotel
Address: Main Street, Carrbridge, Aviemore PH23 3AB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Aviemore > Carrbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Carrbridge
Price range (per night): ₹ 2,954 - ₹ 5,845
Hotel Class:3 star — Carrbridge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Carrbridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carrbridge Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing