We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Liked the hotel, pity about the evening meal menus”
Review of Carrbridge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Carrbridge Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Carrbridge
Maryport
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Liked the hotel, pity about the evening meal menus”
Reviewed 20 November 2011

Room was comfortable, clean and quiet. Staff were helpful and friendly. Breakfast was excellent. The evening meal menu was very basic very little different from every day meals at home and this is not what I expect from an hotel. Shepherds pie and Cottage pie is not what I expect to eat in an hotel unless they are excellent which these were not

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gwen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

490 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    125
    148
    108
    65
    44
See reviews for
76
219
23
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lockerbie, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2011

I recently stayed at The Carrbridge Hotel during a weekend conference.
The staff were polite and good natured and the hotel was clean and tidy.
My room was clean and tidy and had athough quite basic everything worked fine and it was warm and cosy.
I slept very well and enjoyed my weekend in this hotel
The food was quite basic but this was a conference which was very good value so we couldn't expect too much.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank macnab99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
City of Chester
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2011

We stayed here in mid November for 3 nights as part of a railway explorer package. The local village is best described as quiet, but there are a number of walks and attractions to hand.
The hotel is a typical established hotel. Generally it was very clean and the refurbished room we had was excellent. Like a lot of hotels, fire regs have broken the "flow" of the corridors and some of the doors are well sprung, but that is a small price to pay for safety. The restuarant was good with a good selection of meals included within our package. The down side to this was the vegetables were always the same. Big panoramic windows give a grandstand view of what is going on in the village.
The hotel is a handy central location if you wish to visit say Aviemore, Grantown and its distilleries and Inverness and its Loch (and Nessie)
The staff were excellent.
We would go again

Room Tip: There is no cash dispenser in the village. The post office/general store will oblige with a cashback...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chesterman51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
1 review
Reviewed 29 October 2011

I have read the reviews of the hotel, and am astounded at some of the comments. Having travelled to over 35 countries, varying from Russia to the USA, I can honestly say that I found the hotel warm, friendly, welcoming and clean and comfortable. The food was good, the rooms clean and comfortable, the staff friendly and extremely helpful, and the local area, including the hotel where we ambled for a drink, really good. The only criticism I have is that the bar man "mine host" was miserable, and £4.45 for a bottle of Cairngorm beer is unacceptable. Having said that, the hotel is very very good. If you want bad, or extremely bad, go to Minsk and stay there. The hotel is cockroach city!! This hotel is a welcome and refreshing change from dumps like that!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2011

We have just returned from this hotel, travelled with Diamond holidays, and we came from Essex. My partner and I are in our forties, so we were probably much younger than the average guest, however we expect this and it isnt a problem.
After a 15hr coach trip, the hotel had finished serving our included dinner when we arrived after 10pm, but the hotel kindly provided us with soup, sandwiches, cakes and biscuits, all very nice and a very welcome complimentary drink from the bar.
Our room was fine, very clean and comfortable, we had no complaints at all. Food very tasty and quite a good choice, much better than we had expected judging by other reviews, or maybe we are not fussy, or are happy to get what you pay for, but we found it all very nice. Breakfast has a very good choice, full English, continental, lots of different cereal and fruit juice, fresh fruit and yoghurt. Honestly cant think of anything else they could of offered. Entertainment in the evening is possibly for the older age group, but we especially liked 'Alfie' singer/guitarist and enjoyed chatting with other guests. We also went for afew drinks at the pub just afew doors up. Found Carrbridge to be attractive village and would of liked to have stayed longer to explore, all-in-all, a great holiday, nice hotel with friendly staff and an exceptionally fantastic coachdriver, Danny from Turners of Essex. Ignore the negative reviews, go and enjoy!

Room Tip: we had room 614, which had double bed and bunk beds even though only 2 of us, pleasant room but look...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LucyShanks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carrbridge
0.2 km away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
251 reviews
12.2 km away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
0.3 km away
Fairwinds Hotel
Fairwinds Hotel
#2 of 3 in Carrbridge
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 km away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
1,284 reviews
29.8 km away
Highlander Hotel
Highlander Hotel
#3 of 3 in Newtonmore
670 reviews
9.8 km away
Nethybridge Hotel
Nethybridge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Nethy Bridge
557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carrbridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carrbridge Hotel

Property: Carrbridge Hotel
Address: Main Street, Carrbridge, Aviemore PH23 3AB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Aviemore > Carrbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Carrbridge
Hotel Class:3 star — Carrbridge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Carrbridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carrbridge Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing