We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (287)
Filter reviews
287 results
Traveller rating
199
73
10
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
199
73
10
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsarchie the dogdrawing roomtop floorcinnamon toastcountry houseroom was largebefore dinnerlovely viewoverlooking the gardenhotel is lovelyexcellent staycomfortable bedgreat showerenjoyed our stayfirst classpublic roomsfamily room
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 287 reviews
Reviewed 18 April 2018

Together with a photographer group I stayed at the Dalrachney for 7 nights in April. My room was comfortable and very clean and I enjoyed every moment of my stay. Trixie, Gordon and their dog Archie made me feel very welcome. The service was personal and outstanding and every day was a lovely experience. With a rich breakfast, I could visit all the beautiful locations of the nearby Cairngorms National Park or the Banffshire Coast and coming back in the evening I enjoyed a delicious dinner and relaxing night.
It was a very successful stay. I would love to come back as soon as possible.

With greetings
Walter

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank walterroeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trixie T, Owner at Dalrachney Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2018

Walter - we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay at Dalrachney. It really was a pleasure to look after your Group and welcome you back each evening and it is so good to hear that you felt the service was personal and outstanding. We were delighted to be invited to watch the Group slideshow of some of the photos you took during your trip to the Cairngorms and Banffshire.

We very much hope that you will return and thank you for taking the time to post a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2018 via mobile

Thank you very much to Gordon & Trixie for another wonderful stay at Dalrachney.

This was mine and my partners second visit to Dalrachney and it was just as perfect as the first. It was remembered by Gordon and Trixie that i like to drink a lot of tea- so our room was stocked with plenty tea bags and milk - it's the little things that mean the most!

Food - both breakfast and dinner - were up to high standards, freshly cooked and delicious! Still the best lamb dish i have ever had - highly recommended!

It's great for us that we know we have somewhere we can return to for when we attempt to "bag munro's" and will always receive exceptional service with a personal touch - we certainly won't be staying anywhere else.

Thank you so much again!

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank mspence2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trixie T, Owner at Dalrachney Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2018

We are delighted that you enjoyed your return stay at Dalrachney and it was our pleasure to welcome you back. We try to remember our guests' preferences when they return. As you say the little things make a difference! We are glad you enjoyed the food and our Rump of Scottish Lamb does remain a firm favourite!

We very much look forward to seeing you again and thank you for your kind review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2018 via mobile

I can’t find much to say of a positive nature.
It’s winter, so why oh why would you turn off ALL of the heating at 8pm? That’s terrible.
So, I know, I’ll warm up by having a bath. Oh dear. Water is ok for a shower but nowhere near hot enough for a relaxing (warming..) bath.
I had to use 2 duvets and the blanket to stop freezing myself.
The room cost over £135 midweek and I couldn’t even stand up in parts of the room due to low ceilings.
V few channels on the tv (bizarre, as it was a cut down free view I believe).
And the piece de resistance? The appalling WIFI. None of the various WiFi codes actually kept the WiFi going for more than 2 mins. It just dropped out constantly.
Quite frankly, this place was a rip off disappointment.
The only thing that was ok (in fact it was great...) was the fabulously friendly dog that jumped for joy when visitors arrived.

No point in complaining at the time cos it’s v clearly just the way it is.. beyond redemption...

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trixie T, Owner at Dalrachney Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2018

We understand your visit to the Hotel was due to a family bereavement and we were disappointed to see the review you left. However fortunately your views are not shared by over 250 other reviewers and by other members of your Party who left very good feedback on Expedia while they were here using the Hotel’s Wifi. At no time did you mention you felt your room was cold. The heating certainly does NOT go off at 8pm. We can only assume you turned down the radiators yourself as they were not on full when your room was serviced after your departure. The Hotel has copious amounts of hot water from our biomass system.

The room you were allocated was the room you personally chose when making the booking online. There are several photos of each room and other rooms were available for the night of your stay.

When you were asked if you had a good night when you came down for breakfast you answered that you did. The Resident Proprietors were available throughout your short stay and at no time were any issues raised with us. There is no excuse for not mentioning any perceived dissatisfaction.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2018

We’re not easily impressed but the Dalrachney Lodge is the perfect antidote to the corporate ‘big-box’ hotels and today’s hectic lifestyle. It captures the spirit of a Scottish Highland lodge. The owners are wonderful hosts, food is of the highest quality and each room is individually tailored and unique. A serene and picturesque retreat for sure.

This is our third stay since 2015. The online booking site accurately describes each of the individually appointed rooms so you can choose precisely the one you fancy most! We have found that the rooms (we have stayed in two different ones across our three visits) are actually bigger and more sumptuous in real life than the images would have you believe. The beds are soooo comfortable, the bedding crisp and the whole hotel has been gradually refurbished with an emphasis upon traditional quality in keeping with the Scottish Highland theme.

Our favourite room (room no.1) has a huge bathroom with a beautiful modern suite, backlit mirror, amazing shower and deep bath. Whoever laid the floor and wall tiles must have been a perfectionist as the fit and alignment of the grout lines, cut edges and bead is faultless - sorry for this level of detail but I am a fellow perfectionist and do a good line in tiling too. So I appreciate this stuff!

Our room was a good size with a chaise longue, modern flat screen television, sat-tv, high speed broadband (it supported a FaceTime video-call with our son at the other end of the UK) and tea making facilities. This room has a window to the river on the side and a double window to the east across the lawns to the mountains beyond. It is a bright room with lovely, full length curtains and blinds (the latter enables you to set the height so you are not blinded on those rare Scottish days when the sun makes an appearance!).

The hotel sits in its own grounds with the River Dulnain running along one side and uninterrupted views east towards the Cairngorm mountain range. Inside there is a well furnished lounge and open fire together with the usual array of glossy Harper’s Bazaar type magazines. A modest-sized bistro serves evening meals and there is a separate breakfast room which is bright and sunny in the morning sun with views across the grounds towards the mountains beyond.

Our breakfast was prepared to order. There was a good choice of cereals, fresh fruit, yoghurts, porridge and cooked options. I have experienced a wider choice but, bearing in mind that this is not a huge hotel, the offer is more than sufficient and the quality of the food is amongst the best we have experienced. Sometimes, when the price of breakfast is included within the cost of the room, hotels try to penny-pinch. That’s not the case here. The sausages, bacon and haggis were mouthwatering.

For us this is a peaceful bolthole from which we seek solace from the world around us which can sometimes intrude upon the special bond we have as a couple. When you and your partner want to leave everything behind and enjoy a peaceful, perfect weekend being spoiled by mature, caring and professional hosts in a small, authentic Scottish Lodge then this is the place.

Highly recommended! Enjoy!

Arianne

Room Tip: Room price varies according to room features. Room 1 is our favourite but the four poster room looks good too.
Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Arianne1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trixie T, Owner at Dalrachney Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2018

Thank you for writing such a lovely review of Dalrachney Lodge. We are delighted that you had a perfect weekend away and enjoyed the food, views and tranquility. We are particularly glad that you felt so at home with us and enjoyed the Scottish spirit that the Lodge has to offer! We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2018

Warm friendly staff . Great food served promptly nice comfortable atmosphere.very relaxing. The room was modern comfortable with a lovely bathroom. I couldn't fault it and would definitely go back. A nice break.

Stayed: January 2018
Thank Katie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trixie T, Owner at Dalrachney Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2018

Thank you very much for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed the relaxing atmosphere of Dalrachney and had a comfortable stay in our Super King room with new bathroom. We are delighted you would like to come back and look forward to welcoming you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews