We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Wee Hotel”
Review of Cairn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cairn Hotel
Ranked #5 of 8 Carrbridge B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 November 2017

We decided to spend the night at The Cairn Hotel in Carrbridge so that we could go to Landmark Adventure park the next day. The staff were welcoming and friendly, our room was larger than we expected, but was comfortable and nice and warm for the cold November night that it was. The bed was comfortable, though the pillow i had was kinda lumpy, luckily I always travel with my own pilllow, my partner found her pillow to be ok.
Breakfast was served quite quickly and was really nice, could have gone for round two on it, it was that nice.
There were plenty of walks to be had if the notion so took you, my partner did wander off for an hour through the nearby woodlands. overall we had a great wee stay at this hotel and would stay there again without hesitation.

Room Tip: if you like a bath ask for one of the rooms with a bath, ours had a shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Maria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (248)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 248 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2017 via mobile

After being turned away from 4 different eateries on our drive back from the Black Isle it was a welcome relief to find a pub that allowed our dog into the bar.

We enjoyed a great lunch, friendly staff couldn't be more helpful.

Nice menu offering a mix of traditional Scottish fare or sandwiches, burgers etc.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Laurence S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2017 via mobile

Had a lovely meal here very nice surroundings and freindly staff. Good quality food excellent service. Get there early at weekend as it gets very busy always a good sign. Can fully recommend the Cairn to you for a decent meal.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Philip R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2017

Disappointed that this didn't live up to expectations. Bar grubby with a cabinet trophy that doesn't seem to have been cleaned inside or out for years. Bar ceiling either deliberately painted in nicotine colour or never been painted since smoking ban. Our double room resembled a cave. It was tiny with dark grey walls to tone in with lovely grey tartan feature wall but far too dark. En-suite badly laid out and would be a real squeeze for someone with mobility problems. Breakfast lovely and staff very helpful and friendly. Great location.

Room Tip: Avoid grey box room with eaves.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Patsy789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2017 via mobile

Rooms are basic and slightly dated but, overall, this place ticks the boxes. It's not expensive and the food in the bar is remarkably good. Staff were friendly. Ideal stop-off to visit other parts of northern Scotland.

Stayed: July 2017
Thank FKSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carrbridge
5.4 km away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
1,370 reviews
12.1 km away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
0.2 km away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Fairwinds Hotel
Fairwinds Hotel
#2 of 3 in Carrbridge
229 reviews
9.7 km away
Eriskay
Eriskay
#13 of 28 in Aviemore
111 reviews
0.2 km away
Carrmoor Guest House
Carrmoor Guest House
#1 of 8 in Carrbridge
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cairn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairn Hotel

Address: Main Road, Carrbridge, Aviemore PH23 3AS, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Aviemore > Carrbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Carrbridge
Price Range: ₹ 5,340 - ₹ 8,417 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cairn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An authentic Highland inn, full of rustic charm and the perfect base for a tour of the Scottish Highlands and the Cairngorm National Park. Our award winning real ale & whisky bar is the centre of our community, providing a genuinely welcoming atmosphere and a great source of information on what to see and do in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Cairn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cairn Hotel Carrbridge, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing