We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really nice hotel with lovely staff.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cairn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cairn Hotel
Ranked #4 of 9 Carrbridge B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Arnhem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Really nice hotel with lovely staff.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2012

The rooms and bathrooms are clean, and most of the rooms are ensuite. The staff is always there to help you: I wanted to do some walking and the manager gave me a map with walking routes and ideas.The food is absolutely delicious (try the cheesecake) and you get a lot of food for a little money. I would definitely go there again, whether I'd go with my family or friends, or just on my own again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hanneke B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

230 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    137
    70
    11
    9
    3
See reviews for
56
95
26
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2012

Two night stay in Carrbridge.We decided to eat both nights at the Cairn.Good meals on both nights.Staff just great..nothing a problem.The pub part of the hotel has a great atmosphere.And sitting outside is first class.The menu has good choices,something for all.Yes!! a wee gem.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank williamson000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2012

My husband and I stayed here 1 night in June. Our room was very clean and comfy. We found the TV set to be very small. The host is very friendly and helpful with directions. We ate at the pub and the food was excellent. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Very good breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annkel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, Scotland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2012

Dropped in here for our evening meal and was very pleased by what is clearly a well run hotel/pub where the atmosphere in the pub and the efficiency and friendliness of the staff was the best I have seen anywhere. Good food, and my wife and I were very disappointed not to be able to book a room for the night there and then, even losing the pre paid room in Aviemore just for a bit of craic and a blether with some friendly locals. Cursing our luck, we will be back in the very near future. Ignore the folk who have moaned, this is a small village pub in a small village and one of the most homely places I have been to. an absolute 10/10. Well done to all.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aberdeenangusthebull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2012

We were just passing through the town and arrived for dinner nearly at closing time, not hoping for much. But, "much" sure is what we got. Upon spotting us, a waitress cheerfully and briskly set about cleaning a just-vacated table in the prime spot in the front window bay. A second waitress soon arrived to be sure we were being well taken care of. I can't include all of the helpful, accurate comments and recommendations they gave us, but suffice it to say that mid-meal my husband said it was the best restaurant experience he had ever had, at any price or location. The menu included both some Scottish favorites (I got the roast pork-best ever), as well as some interesting, but not gimmicky, twists ( my husband got a gorgeous grilled salmon filet on a lightly sautéed version of salad Nicoise). Everything was fresh from nearby sources, and the portions were generous. We visit Scotland every couple of years, and the next time we go we will be sure to put the Cairn Hotel on our must-do list.

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Leslie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carrbridge
0.4 km away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
5.1 km away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,215 reviews
11.8 km away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 km away
Cairngorm Hotel
Cairngorm Hotel
#2 of 11 in Aviemore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 708 reviews
0.3 km away
Fairwinds Hotel
Fairwinds Hotel
#2 of 3 in Carrbridge
5.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
0.1 km away
Carrmoor Guest House
Carrmoor Guest House
#2 of 9 in Carrbridge
5.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cairn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairn Hotel

Property: Cairn Hotel
Address: Main Road, Carrbridge, Aviemore PH23 3AS, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Aviemore > Carrbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Carrbridge
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,482 - ₹ 7,884
Hotel Class:3 star — Cairn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An authentic Highland inn, full of rustic charm and the perfect base for a tour of the Scottish Highlands and the Cairngorm National Park. Our award winning real ale & whisky bar is the centre of our community, providing a genuinely welcoming atmosphere and a great source of information on what to see and do in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cairn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cairn Hotel Carrbridge, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing