We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“ReUnion Central!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Halfway House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Halfway House Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Eardington B&B and Inns
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“ReUnion Central!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2012

We visited here for a long weekend as a longstanding group of friends, & being central England, it was an ideal location for us. Our experience of the host and his premises and service were all positive. The bar was well stocked (when we arrived!) and the log fire burnt throughout our stay. The staff were kind and courteous and although drinks were a little pricier than most "locals" the beers were good and wines matched our needs.
The accommodation was excellent, clean, comfortable & roomy, any anything amiss was put right straight away... the host could not have been more helpful.
The evening meals were ordered in advance and, although basic English fare, were enjoyable, and, as we all dined together both nights around one large table, made it condusive to a hearty re-union for the 16 of us who managed to make it..... and prices were not unreasonable. Breakfasts were whatever you wanted from full English to just cereals/OJ so all tastes catered for.
Overall I/we would definitely stay here again as it's country Inn atmosphere added to our re-union and not one of our party had a complaint..... and that's saying something as we're a group of middle-aged grumpy old men and our all enduring partners!
Hats off to Peter, Terry and the ladies who hosted our enjoyable weekend away...hearty thanks!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnny T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

186 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    60
    13
    15
    23
See reviews for
35
47
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Uxbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2011

Visited here with a coach party for lunch. I found the host really patronising, and treated those of us on the party as children. The meals, which had been ordered by telephone in advance, were not ready when we arrived and were brought out in dribs and drabs. I was on a table with three friends. We all ate separately, which was not ideal Additonally, the food was rubbish. I had greasy scami and very greasy chips. Terrible.. We decided we would like a glass of wine with our meal, but were told that they could not serve drinks while they were serving food. It's supposed to be an inn for goodness sake. After the food had been served to all, and most of us had finished, they had the cheek to come round and ask us if we wanted drinks! All in all a terrible experience. I would not recommend eating in this establishment. Mush bett in Wetherspoon's and you can get a drink while you're eating.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank roxyinuxbridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pengwern, Owner at Halfway House Inn, responded to this review, 30 January 2012
As this booking was linked to the Severn Valley Railway timetable, it was only taken on the proviso that we had the food orders in advance so that it could be served to the group within a 45-minute window. All our meals are freshly prepared (no microwave, etc) and the order received from the coach company was incorrect as seven items had been omitted. This naturally caused delays to the timetable and hindered the bar service as we were concerned the party would miss their train.

We are sorry that you did not have a good time with us but this is an uncharacteristic review and we do feel that circumstances beyond our control were a major contribution to the problems incurred.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2011

We had an excellent stay at the Halfway House Inn recently. The room we were given was spacious and warm with all the charm of a converted 16th century inn. The pub itself is extremely cosy and the large open fire was a huge treat (the campers who came in from outside and hogged it weren't). The food was delicious; particularly the breakfast fry up which was one of the best we've ever had at a B&B. We would love to stay again and would certainly recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harriet H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Halfway House Inn for five nights recently, and loved it.We picked it because my husband's cousin was getting married nearby and the location was convienient. The staff were friendly, the room itself was spacious and clean.

One thing I'd like to mention is in regards to meals - the meals were excellent (and the serving sizes are a bit bigger than I'm used to). You won't go hungry here. Next time we're in the UK we will certainly consider coming back.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TudorRose80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pengwern, Manager at Halfway House Inn, responded to this review, 23 November 2011
Thank you very much for your positive review. it was lovely meeting you and glad to see that you got back to australia safely! we look forward to seeing you again when you next visit to see your cousins. As for the meals we are glad you enjoyed them and that the servings were enough to fill you up we do believe in serving a proper meal. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2011

A few of us stayed in Campers for the Bank Holiday weekend - and was firstly treated quite brusquely by the chap behind the bar - but after we had a meal and a few drinks the atmosphere was much warmer... Site was adequate apart from one shower for Male & one for Female and cold water for the washing up of items... though in great location for Shropshire sites.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mellas9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eardington
2.8 km away
The Croft Bridgnorth
The Croft Bridgnorth
#2 of 30 in Bridgnorth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
3.3 km away
The Bull's Head Inn
The Bull's Head Inn
#1 of 1 in Chelmarsh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
3.2 km away
The Woodberry Inn
The Woodberry Inn
#5 of 30 in Bridgnorth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 km away
The Friars
The Friars
#16 of 30 in Bridgnorth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
1.6 km away
Swan Inn
Swan Inn
#1 of 1 in Knowle Sands
4.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
2.2 km away
The Down Inn
The Down Inn
#1 of 30 in Bridgnorth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Halfway House Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Halfway House Inn

Property: Halfway House Inn
Address: 4363 Cleobury ROAD, Eardington, Bridgnorth WV16 5LS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Bridgnorth > Eardington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Eardington
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,554 - ₹ 6,126
Hotel Class:3 star — Halfway House Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Halfway House Inn offers accommodation, self catering, touring caravn and camping site that is open all year. 24Hr toilet/shower facilities, fresh drinking water, chemical waste disposal, electrical hook-up, pot-washing facilities. 6 Hard-Standing Super Pitches with electric hook-up, water connection, regularly-mown grass for awnings. The Orchard Bedrooms sleep up to 6, and can be booked for those preferring a roof over their heads! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Halfway House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing