We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommended but...”
Review of Fourth and Church

Fourth and Church
Ranked #24 of 344 Restaurants in Hove
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 11 - US$ 33
Description: Purveyors of flavour Restaurant - Wine bar - Wine shop & Church is Brighton’s go-to destination for those looking to experience delicious, exciting food & drink in a friendly informal space. We borrow traditions from around the world to create new and exciting dishes that are packed with layers of flavour and beautifully balanced to deliver those “wow” moments….However we don’t take ourselves too seriously. We favour “fun” over formality and turn “simple” into special. Not only do our products taste fantastic, they have integrity too. We seek out the best of seasonal produce, supporting artisanal producers & independent winemakers from across the UK and Europe. We share our passion and curiosity, bringing lovingly curated flavours from around the world to our local neighbourhood. We all have a unique flavour, discover yours at Fourth & Church.
Restaurant details
Description: Purveyors of flavour Restaurant - Wine bar - Wine shop & Church is Brighton’s go-to destination for those looking to experience delicious, exciting food & drink in a friendly informal space. We borrow traditions from around the world to create new and exciting dishes that are packed with layers of flavour and beautifully balanced to deliver those “wow” moments….However we don’t take ourselves too seriously. We favour “fun” over formality and turn “simple” into special. Not only do our products taste fantastic, they have integrity too. We seek out the best of seasonal produce, supporting artisanal producers & independent winemakers from across the UK and Europe. We share our passion and curiosity, bringing lovingly curated flavours from around the world to our local neighbourhood. We all have a unique flavour, discover yours at Fourth & Church.
Reviewed 8 January 2019

Nice atmosphere, good service, great food
Just one question: why no free range? I'm not actually veggie but won't eat 'cruel meat'
So many restaurants are making a principled stand on this, can you too?

Date of visit: December 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Suze70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (95)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 95 reviews

Reviewed 2 January 2019

I brought my whole family here who were visiting us for Christmas to show them our favourite restaurant in Brighton and Hove. We weren't let down, and with there being 7 of us we were able to sample nearly the entire menu! What a treat!

The cauliflower, the kofta, the parfait, all delicious! Special mention however must go to the duck beignets - a real delight. We drank some delicious white wine and finished it all off with a very special sherry recommended to us by Paul - an expert on the stuff who will happily share his expertise and knowledge.

Highly, highly recommended .

Date of visit: December 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank DavidW396
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2018

First time in Hove and needed to meet up with somebody close to my hotel. This seemed okay for a not too copious diner. And it was, indeed!
The atmosphere is a bit between a pub and a coffee corner: bar and small high tables. Not for a long evening of indulging into food. That food however is well prepared and tastes good. Some special small dishes but nothing to the extremes or highly surprising. This while the prices in my opinion are relatively near what is charged in a star restaurant.
Long and diverse wine list though the waitress had no special ideas or advices. Wine was good as well as the other drinks.
We certainly enjoyed the evening and I would recommend the place for couples looking for a different taste, certainly not for groups or families.

Date of visit: December 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ortwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2018 via mobile

Great small plates of meat, fish and veggie food. Best cauliflower ever. Amazing wines and good beer selection as well.

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank BrightonShredhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2018 via mobile

Really lovely win bar and reasonably priced. I go regularly and either choose a meat or cheese selection with red wine. They’ll also do a meat and cheese combo which isn’t on the menu. Staff are great too. Really recommend. There’s also a function room downstairs

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Jessica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fourth and Church also viewed

Hove, Brighton and Hove
Hove, Brighton and Hove
 
Hove, Brighton and Hove
Hove, Brighton and Hove
 
Hove, Brighton and Hove
Hove, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to Fourth and Church? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing