We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A brilliant Christmas stay.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Beach House

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
21 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
13 Bedrooms, 12 Bathrooms, Sleeps 33
Hove, East Sussex, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Celrobins...
Enniskillen, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 26 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The house is massive so brilliant for large groups, lovely area, great position and beautiful views. But the house was a bit of a let down. Although lots of equipment and clean bed linen, the house just lacked the finishing touches. Ridiculous to put the pool table and table football in a horrid, cold and damp portacabin! Couldn't find the games room to begin with, and then couldn't really play pool because the area wasn't big enough. Why not put the equipment in the second reception room! Also a selection of board games maybe would be cool. The disabled access is none existent, massive step up from the pavement outside then steps up to the actual property! There was a ramp but still steps at the end of it, so no disabled access. Plus no disabled facilities in the property, downstairs bedroom could not be used if in a wheel chair as the door was in the wrong position and the fire doors too heavy to push whilst in a wheelchair, downstairs bed could easily be adapted for disabled use but at present useless. The WIFI didn't work either for the three days we were there. And the other addition needed would be information about Brighton and some phone numbers of services such as taxis etc.
the house is great but needs some changes to bring it up to the standard which it strives to be. Parking could be achieved on site if that ridiculous portacabin was banished and a outside hot tub would be amazing. Having said all this we had a fantastic weekend and Brighton is great.

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sarahL271...
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A brilliant Christmas stay.”
Reviewed 1 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

All communication was prompt and professional. The house was very well equipped and enormous so plenty of room for our group of 17 people. Location was excellent, just a short walk to the beach. The house is very private and secure. The house was tastefully and beautifully decorated for Christmas which added to the overall feel of the house. We would recommend this house to large groups of all ages.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: size of property
Liked least: top floor was cold when doors were closed.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
meg2462
UK & USA
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Positive/Professional Booking Experience”
Reviewed 3 October 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Unfortunately, our group was extremely disappointed that we had to cancel our booking due to personal circumstances, but we were very impressed by the professionalism and helpfulness of the house owner, and would recommend working with her to other groups. She was incredibly helpful in all of the planning stages and answered the (many!) questions we had about the house and the area, and we certainly hope to be able to book The Beach House in future. Many thanks!

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guy h
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
1 review
“An Amazing holiday”
Reviewed 7 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

I hired the beach house out for 5 days for 12 of my friends and I to stay in for some chill out time after exams. The house was huge! much larger than I was expecting, with bedrooms situated on all of the 3 floors there was more than enough room to house us all comfortably. All the rooms where well and tastefully furnished, en-suite bathrooms with almost ever bedroom and some even had a kitchen! The area was great, even though there where lots of houses around us I never heard any noise and the size of the house was big enough to keep our noise in. A large tesco was only a 5 minute walk away so it was easy to get extra supplies and an even shorter walk to the beach. For evening entertainment there are two massive wide screen TVs, which we used for a movie nigh or for something a bit more exciting the clubs of Brighton, best I've been in, are only a 20-30 minute walk away. A great place to stay!

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucy M
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good rental for a large group in a great location”
Reviewed 20 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013
1
person found this review helpful

The Beach House is a good choice for large groups. We stayed as a party of 23 over New Year's Eve and there was ample space for everyone. The dining room and two living rooms are all a good size, with plenty of seating. There are three well equipped kitchens (as well as fridges in some of the bedrooms), which is great if you're planning a night in during your stay. The owner very generously left us several bottles of champagne for our new year's celebrations, which was a nice touch. Some of the bedrooms are lovely and big, others slightly smaller and one is pretty tiny, but you'll only need that room if you're filling the house to capacity. Most of the rooms have ensuite bathrooms (the couple of rooms that don't have to share the ensuite of another room or use the downstairs toilet - or you could just leave the tiny room empty and use its ensuite as a shared bathroom).

The house is right on the sea front and not far from Brighton city centre, so very easy to get around. There's a great choice of restaurants and a big Tescos within a 5-10minute walk. There is private parking at the property but you should speak to the owner about whether you will be able to use it during your stay (there was a problem with the gate when we were there so we were told we'd have to park in pay and displays outside, but the bays only allow parking for up to 2 hours at a time. Luckily, the owner sent a handy man round straight away and we were able to use the private parking in the end - but I'm not sure if it's available for all lets, so worth checking before you go).

All in all, it was great value for money.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing