We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Probably the best pasta place in the UK”
Review of Semola

Semola
Ranked #3 of 343 Restaurants in Hove
Price range: US$ 5 - US$ 23
Description: Semola is an authentic Italian restaurant offering fresh homemade pasta with a specific pasta machine and all homemade desserts. The management of the restaurant is organized by an Italian family.
Restaurant details
Description: Semola is an authentic Italian restaurant offering fresh homemade pasta with a specific pasta machine and all homemade desserts. The management of the restaurant is organized by an Italian family.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

My partner and I visited twice.
The staff is always super friendly.
There is a range of dishes to choose from, without being overwhelming. They also have special dishes on the day, if you fancy something different.
The portions are good sizes, but most importantly the pasta is to die for!! They make various types of pasta in the shop on the day and you can even buy fresh pasta to take away!
It's a traditional Italian place with a refreshing menu and wine list!

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank Nayia-X-
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (126)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 126 reviews

Reviewed 4 February 2019

Popped into Semola, it is a small restaurant so it took a while to be seated as they were busy which is a good sign although we would have preferred to have been seated sooner.

However, that aside we were able to try their home made pasta which was very nice, but their margarita pizza with ham was not as authentic as we would have liked.

Date of visit: January 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank petethedragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2019 via mobile

Went at 9pm on a Saturday because they were fully booked. Greeted like we were the first customers of the day.

Ordered a pasta dish each, a salad to share, and white bread.

Subtle, delicate flavours. Everything was perfect. I'm so happy that I'm writing this at the table.

"We'll be back"

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank TheSleeperxx99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2019 via mobile

This place is a gem and we couldn’t understand why it was not packed. It’s almost impossible to find a restaurant where the hospitality equally matches the superb food! The host was fantastic and the freshly made pasta, was the best we’ve both eaten. So don’t fly to Italy for your pasta fix, get down to Hove, only a 10 minute ride from Brighton. I hope they can fit us in, the next time we travel down here!

Date of visit: January 2019
2  Thank Gosmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2019 via mobile

This has to be the nicest Italian restaurant in Hove! The managers are fantastic and care so much about customer service and the food is fresh , authentic, delicious and very generous . The restaurant is small but has a lovely feel about it and is beautifully decorated. Will continue to eat in and order takeaways in the future !

Date of visit: January 2019
1  Thank sarah h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Semola also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Hove, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Hove, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to Semola? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing