We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Pentillie Castle
Nearby Hotels
US$ 91
US$ 86
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savings alert! 21% below average rates

The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 109/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Crooked Inn(Saltash)
US$ 119
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 62
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Free Parking
US$ 133
US$ 119
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Horn Of Plenty(Gulworthy)
US$ 206
US$ 193
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
White Hart Hotel(Menheniot)
US$ 86
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 97/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Sportsmans Arms(Menheniot)
US$ 100
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 93
US$ 90
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 78
US$ 76
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 32% below average rates

The price you found is 32% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 112/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Whitsand Bay Hotel(Portwrinkle)(Great Value!)
US$ 113
US$ 108
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (358)
Filter reviews
358 results
Traveller rating
347
10
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
347
10
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstamar riververy special placeextensive groundsown homemagical placesitting roomfelt totallycream teabreakfast was delicioushonesty barfour poster bedlovely bathroomlog firepeace and quietdown to earthb and bevening meal
Filter
Updating list...
82 - 87 of 358 reviews
Reviewed 26 July 2016

What stands out for me the most after my stay at Pentillie Castle, is the perfect balance they have achieved between feeling you are in a stately home yet without any pretension. There is a real feeling of grandeur, yet you are made to feel so at home, mainly due to the amazing staff. We stayed at Pentillie for 1 night to celebrate out 10th wedding anniversary. We were looking for somewhere special and memorable, our stay Pentillie certainly fit this criteria! You are made to feel welcome from the moment you arrive. The house is beautifully decorated, each room is designed and furnished elegantly yet comfortable. The gardens are magnificent and in a short walk you are by the river with stunning views over the Tamar. We loved our evening dip in the 'walled garden swimming pool' listening to the peacocks. At night the place is so quiet and peaceful. One night away and we both feel so refreshed and relaxed. Thank you for the surprise bottle of champagne, such a treat. We will definitely be back, ASAP!!!

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Oldminehouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PentillieEvents, Front Office Manager at Pentillie Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2016

Dear Oldminehouse,

Thank you very much for sharing your lovely review - we couldn't have put it better ourselves... We're delighted that you chose Pentillie to celebrate such a special occasion and equally delighted to hear that you'll be back!

We look forward to welcoming you back soon,

Kind regards,

The Pentillie Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2016 via mobile

Pentilley Castle is gorgeous, don't just take my word for it, stay in one of the gorgeous rooms, wonder around the stunning grounds, devour the amazing local food and drink.

This privately owned estate is gorgeous, despite its grandure, you are still made to feel at home.

We were lucky enough to come here to celebrate our friends 70th birthday and from start to finish it was perfect. The attention to detail and friendly service is second to none.

There were 25 of us, a fairly large group but the staff were excellent and helped make the day so memorable!

I will be back...

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Vaugany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PentillieEvents, Front Office Manager at Pentillie Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2016

Dear Vaugany,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your lovely review.

We like to think that we have the perfect balance between grandeur and proper Cornish hospitality and are delighted to hear that you feel the same.

Please do join our mailing list for special offers and details of upcoming events. We'd love to have you back to stay soon!

Thanks again,

The Pentillie Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2016

This place is really one of the best places I have been - and I like to travel a lot. Great service, very nice location. We have had a suite and it was really brilliant. We will come back to this place.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PentillieEvents, Front Office Manager at Pentillie Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2016

Dear Christian,

Thank you for sharing your lovely review.

I'm very happy to hear that we can still delight and surprise even the most seasoned travellers!

We look forward to welcoming you back soon,

Kind regards,

The Pentillie Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2016

We were part of a classic car tour which stayed here in early July. The Castle experience is not like a hotel, but being a house guest. The house and grounds are superb, with a lot of walks you can do without leaving the estate, including mid 17th century buildings and the river Tamar. This is not your usual hotel, but an experience!

The bedroom was very well appointed with all that we needed for the 3 nights that we were there, although our room was one of the smallest and overlooked the entrance shown in the picture rather than the much better rear views which over looked the river Tamar to the far bank in Devon. We had three comfortable and quiet nights sleep, although one other couple said they were disturbed by the local peacocks. Nothing that ear plugs would not solve, we carry them as we are both seasoned travellers, but some were available in the bedside draws.

The staff were super and obviously well trained, nothing was too much trouble for them, and mine hosts appeared from time to time making sure that all was well.

The food was freshly prepared and tasty together with a reasonably priced wine list. What was not to like. We were served dinner, but I'm not sure if this is available to single bookings, which may only be B&B. You need to check this out before booking as other eating places are a car or taxi drive away, as are the front gates to the estate.

The only niggle we had was the fact that the hosts required that you remove outdoor shoes when going upstairs to save the light coloured carpet. This was amusing to start with, but became a pain after a while, especially as I use a walking stick and there was no chair near the bottom of the stairs. We could have understood walking boots or wellingtons, but normal day shoes?

We would return as a couple, if we could be sure we could get an evening meal, and a river facing room.

We had a great time!

Room Tip: Overlooking the back have the best views, but even the front is overlooking the grounds with no other house in sight.
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PentillieEvents, Front Office Manager at Pentillie Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2016

Dear Peter,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a comprehensive review.

We have taken immediate action thanks to your suggestion and a chair now lives at the bottom of the stairs. I'm sorry that you had to struggle during your stay.

Please join our mailing list or check our website for dinner offers - we have a fantastic chef in house and are offering dinner on a much more regular basis.

For the benefit of other readers I will point out that the Peacocks are a good distance away from the house in our walled garden, and certainly not loud enough to wake me up. For exceptionally light sleepers, as you pointed out, we provide ear plugs in the bedrooms. However we would rate ourselves expecitonally highly on the peace and tranquility scale!

Please get in touch if you are planning a return trip, I would be happy to make sure we have a river view and dinner for your return.

Thanks again,

Kind regards,

The Pentillie Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2016

My Husband and I got married here a week ago today and I have to say the staff at Pentillie were amazing in every way.
Their dedication to making sure our day went well was above and beyond the call of duty.
We both offer our sincere thanks to Lisa, Regan, Jack and the team for making our day so special.

Kind Regards

Jamie and Mike Lindsay

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jwhbrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PentillieEvents, Front Office Manager at Pentillie Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2016

Dear Jamie,

Thank you for your lovely review - it was a great day all round and we feel priveleged to have shared it with you! I hope you're enjoying married life as much as the wedding day...

We look forward to welcoming you back soon so we can see the pictures!

Kind regards,

The Pentillie Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews