We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad”
Review of Hotel Kaktus Albir

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Kaktus Albir
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in L'Alfas del Pi
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

First impressions on arriving at reception were that this was quite a nice hotel. The architecture was quite modern with an innovative design. Large reception and we were quickly given our room and key. One wall of the lift was glass so we could see the length of the hotel looking out to sea.
Large room and bathroom but like previous reports I thought they could do with a refresher. The room was very green! Pale green walls, green bedspreads, green curtains and green furniture. There was a kitchen sink unit with two hobs and a microwave on a shelf above. There is a fridge which cost min of 10 Euros to fill. But no tea or coffee facilities which was a disappointment as most people expect that these days. Luckily we took a small kettle and tea with us. There is a small supermarket at the end of the road for any needed supplies. The bathroom was large with two showers, one over the bath and a separate one with two glass doors that formed a cubicle or left open as a wet room. There was shower gel etc. provided but there was nowhere to put your own toiletries in the wet room except on the floor. There was also a hairdryer. Very clean all the time.
We were half board but we were allowed to eat at lunchtime if we didn't want to eat in the evening on notification to reception. Dinner in the evening is 8.00-10.00 which was a bit late for us. Food was very good with a lot of variation to suit everyone. Lovely lot of salad food and the desserts were rather nice too. We did find a bit of pushing and shoving around the hot food with people pushing in the queue that had formed and the only other downside in the dining room was the queue for the tea and coffee machine at breakfast as it was stuck in a corner and there was no room to move. Like other visitors we found the Spanish were favoured in the dining room as they had tables reserved just for them. Unfortunately the staff didn't always put the reserve sign on their table and other people sat there and were asked to move ... including us!!
Safety deposit boxes in the room cost 15 Euros per week plus 5 Euros for the key which is refunded when you take the key back to reception.
We took our own pool towels as well as we weren't sure if there was a charge for them.
We hired a car from reception which was delivered the next day as requested. There is a garage underneath chargeable at 12 Euros per day but there was a compound at the end of the street to park in and some space in the side road of the hotel so we didn't bother with that.
The beach is in front of the hotel across a small one way road (hardly any cars) and there was plenty of beds and parasols. (4 beds and 1 parasol = 28 Euros) The beach is pebbles so beach shoes are recommended. The hotel pool is fronted by grass with beds and there are showers and W.C.s under the bridge for convenience. The roof pool is quite nice and again there are beds but no parasols and it does get quite hot up there, but it is nice and quiet.
There are some good bars and restaurants all around the hotel if you wish to eat out and we can recommend Zero Zero on the front.
There is music in the evening and this hotel caters for ballroom dancers and line dancers if that interests you. There is a big bar and loads of tables, chairs and sofas to sit on inside and also on the outside terrace overlooking the beach.
Wifi leaves a lot to be desired. Free wifi or pay 10 Euros to get it in your room but only on one device. Cant say we noticed the difference at all!! Our door key had to be re-jigged three times in one week so we could get into our room. Our friends had to have theirs done once so I don't reckon much on their computer system.
So all in all not too bad ... just need to get rid of all the green colour rooms and add tea and coffee facilities in all rooms. Plus the air con could do with being a bit colder too.

Room Tip: higher the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank eimi48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (601)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2 - 6 of 601 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Great location, large rooms - some say dated, I thought classic with most space I have ever had, seating area and desk all within the room including spectacular view of the sea front. Bit dark in certain areas. Food ok! Fresh orange and cava at weekends (felt due to having more Spanish/French guests for weekend breaks). Staff lovely, cleaners very good - always ensuring the hotel/rooms clean and friendly. mixed nationalities and much older clientele than expected (Saga have holidays here) - did influence the type of holiday we had- very very quiet throughout the day and entertainment was always ballroom dancing. This did mean we travelled about a lot more, Benidorm on one side and beautiful Altea on the other side. Lighthouse in national park and church in Altea worth a visit.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank TBarry518
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Have just returned from a week at this hotel. Had never been to the hotel or indeed to Albir before. Pleased to say we enjoyed both. The hotels location is stunning and a perfect viewpoint of the whole of the bay and the beach. Staff were efficient and the cleaning staff in particular were hard working and pleasant.
Despite being in the centre of Albir the hotel was very quiet and it was wonderful to sleep undisturbed. The only downside was that we had to drop people off and pick people up at Benidorm so spent quite some time travelling around the resort. So pleased we chose Albir and Hotel Kaktus, the total opposite of Benidorm. Don't think I could have tolerated a holiday there.
Would certainly go back to Hotel Kaktus and the lovely Albir.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank jaykayLincoln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2017

Just home from a lovely week in the Kaktus. Food and accommodation first class. The downside was there are no sunshades at all and the pool is not deep enough to swim in. There is no access to pool area until 10 am, as the area is very small it does stop people reserving beds. Men are requested to wear long trousers in the evening, although not everyone did. All the staff were fantastic and very helpful especially Christina and Janet in the dinning room . All rooms very clean no body lotion in bathroom only toothbrush and shower cap. Shampoo and shower cream in dispensers.

Room Tip: Room 420 good sea view and sun all day
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Lennon132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2017

This hotel is in a lovely location over looking the beach close to bars and restaurants, I was pleasantly surprised with the standard of food as I know this hotel have had a lot of bad comments regarding food in the past.

Rooms very tired and badly need to be updated.

On the surface the hotel seems very clean but they really need to keep an eye on little things like mould on the soap dispensers.

The hotel has a really nice large bar area however the entertainment is so dated its not really used as it should be, bars just a few hundred meters away were packed with holiday makers having fun whilst the Kactus had a few dozen people ballroom or line dancing while other guests looked on expressionless.

I found most of the staff very unpleasant who didn't even take the time to pass the time of day with you, I would go as far to say it seemed like guests were tolerated rather than welcomed with open arms.

Roof top terrace nice but the hotel provide no parasols for guests to use, not the best in 30 degree heat.

Wifi terrible even if you pay its still very slow.

Looked to me like this hotel penny pinches, I will not return or recommend this hotel to family or friends.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank diane l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near L'Alfas del Pi
0.9 km away
Albir Playa Hotel & Spa
Albir Playa Hotel & Spa
#1 of 15 in L'Alfas del Pi
1,223 reviews
1.3 km away
Albir Garden Resort
Albir Garden Resort
#7 of 15 in L'Alfas del Pi
1,393 reviews
1.0 km away
Hotel Sun Palace Albir Lounge & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 km away
Hotel SH Villa Gadea
2.3 km away
Magic Robin Hood
Magic Robin Hood
#2 of 15 in L'Alfas del Pi
436 reviews
4.4 km away
Hotel Cap Negret
Hotel Cap Negret
#3 of 8 in Altea
628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kaktus Albir? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kaktus Albir

Address: Passeig de Les Estreles 11 | Playa del Albir, 03581, L'Alfas del Pi, Spain
Region: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > L'Alfas del Pi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in L'Alfas del Pi
Price Range: ₹ 5,954 - ₹ 17,344 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Kaktus Albir 4*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Kaktus Albir Kaktus Albir Hotel has been inaugurated in summer of 2003 and is situated just in front of the Albir Pebble Beach, in Alfaz del Pi, at only 8 kms of Benidorm, touristic capital of Costa Blanca, and 60 kms of the Airport of Alicante. It's only 10 meters from the beach, and in the old town you'll find a lot of shops, restaurants and bars. It's 10 kms from Benidorm bus station, which connects with Alicante, the airport and the rest of the coastal area, it's the perfect place for relaxing and exploring the area. We've an exterior pool for adults and children. In our roof terrace we have a second pool, that not only has wonderful views, in the winter season it is heated and covered. In the roof terrace you can also find sunbeds. The hotel has also bar service, four lifts, air conditioning, heating, and private parking. In our hotel you'll find a nice and helpful staff.Restaurant with Buffet all services: Breakfast , Lunch and Dinner . We have a Sailor's Buffet : Seafood and Fish, British Buffet and also a Special Spanish Tapas Buffet every Saturday evening. In our night Club we have Live Music 5 nights a week and several International shows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Kaktus Albir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing