We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not good enough”
Review of Hotel Kaktus Albir

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Kaktus Albir
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in L'Alfas del Pi
Reviewed 29 August 2017

This hotel is in a lovely location over looking the beach close to bars and restaurants, I was pleasantly surprised with the standard of food as I know this hotel have had a lot of bad comments regarding food in the past.

Rooms very tired and badly need to be updated.

On the surface the hotel seems very clean but they really need to keep an eye on little things like mould on the soap dispensers.

The hotel has a really nice large bar area however the entertainment is so dated its not really used as it should be, bars just a few hundred meters away were packed with holiday makers having fun whilst the Kactus had a few dozen people ballroom or line dancing while other guests looked on expressionless.

I found most of the staff very unpleasant who didn't even take the time to pass the time of day with you, I would go as far to say it seemed like guests were tolerated rather than welcomed with open arms.

Roof top terrace nice but the hotel provide no parasols for guests to use, not the best in 30 degree heat.

Wifi terrible even if you pay its still very slow.

Looked to me like this hotel penny pinches, I will not return or recommend this hotel to family or friends.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank diane l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (601)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6 - 10 of 601 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2017

Brilliant location overlooking the beech and in the middle of bars and restaurants, although they tend to be low key and not noisy for those of you who like your sleep. Hotel rooms are large and the aircon worked well. The hotel is 14 years old and the rooms reflect this, however, they are clean and certainly the room we stayed in was well maintained. Food in the hotel was fine, not great, but you could always find something to eat. The Mariners Buffet held once a week was really lovely, lots of fresh fish and shell fish. For people with gluten and dairy allergies, you were catered for but not lots of choice. Bar areas are spacious but as mentioned by others the evening entertainment consists of ballroom dancing, this didn't bother us as we just loved walking up and down the beautiful promenade and visiting the bars and restaurants just a few streets back in the evenings. The Cuba bar is very lively with live Cuban music and dancing for those who want to let their hair down a bit. It has been mentioned that Spanish people were better catered for, but we didn't have this experience the reception staff were both courteous and funny in equal measure and we had some good banter with them and they provided good advice. Bar and restaurant staff could have been a little friendlier, but they are busy people and get the job done efficiently. Don't like pools personally but they looked well tended and clean and the beech is on your doorstep. You will definitely need beech shoes as the pebbles are really sharp and it drops down very quickly so you can be out of our depth within feet of the shore. Getting out of the sea takes some doing as the waves were quite rough whilst we were there, lifeguards stopped you going in on a couple of occasions. On the whole everyone seemed to have great fun, the kids especially loved the floating gym just off the shoreline. Best restaurant we visited was Leonardo's, great VIP menu 26 Euros for 3 courses plus a bottle of wine and cava to start. For a quiet drink the Samoa bar on the front heading out towards Altea set in it's own gardens was a really relaxing place to have a drink, we didn't try the food but it looked good and for a bit of dancing the Cuba Bar. If you like walking try going the lighthouse on the headland in Albir, The Cross in Benidorm with truly spectacular views over the town and a lovely beach front walk will take you to Altea and then through the little whitewashed Spanish streets up to the blue domed church at the top of the hill. Quadalest and Fonts d'Algar are fantastic places to visit if you want to go a little further afield, We had a great holiday, but we tend not to moan about the finer details we make the best of what we've got available. We've been to 5 Star hotels in Mexico and the USA so we know what luxury is and The Kaktus does not come into this category, but we weren't paying 5 star prices either so we were perfectly suited, a lovely place to visit. Enjoy.

Room Tip: High floor will give better views, all rooms are overlooked by their neighbours
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lucille B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2017

Travelled with Saga in January 2017. Cost a fortune. Over £1600 for 1 week. Rooms seemed a bit tired and in need of refurbishment. The food left a lot to be desired(i.e If spaghetti was served in the evening and not all used then it was spaghetti soup for lunch next day. We usually spend our winter holiday in a 3 star hotel in Benidorm where the food is much, much better than this supposed 4 star.It was ALL INCLUSIVE. Water came from a dispenser on the bar where you filled a jug up and poured it into your bottle. Extremely unhygienic so of course we didn't use it. Beer and house wine were included, but one person asked for a Bloody Mary and was told he had to pay for that as it was classed as a cocktail which was not part of all inclusive. My wife ordered a Gin and Tonic and got flat tonic that made it undrinkable. When she complained she got another on exactly the same.Coffee out of a machine only. Coffee from the bar was chargeable. All in all a poor holiday and will definitely will not be visited again by us.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2017 via mobile

So we arrived at kaktus with quite low expectations, as a family we always usually stay in a 4* plus usually a big complex with spa. But this holiday we wanted a cheaper holiday to sample Spain.
Reception area is big as are all public areas lacking in warmth and appeal if I'm honest. The bar area is lovely overlooking the beach, bar staff are nice. In the evening the entertainment is aimed at older people, ball room dancing and so on, that wasn't a problem for us although the hotel could do with somewhere you can relax and play cards or talk as the music is so very loud. It's no wonder it's empty in the evenings. Pool is ok. Not fantastic but clean and safe for kids as shallow. Ok for cooling off after sunbathing. The area around the pool for sunbathing could do with some sunshades as there's nowhere to get out of the sun. Rooms, ours was at the far end of the hotel on the corner so a good size as everyone has mentioned they really do need updating very tired and marked walls. But always very clean! I didn't have a kettle but after asking for one the cleaner brought one for me and when I realised the fridge was locked and they wanted €10 I went to reception who agreed to open the fridge free but remove the contents (which was fine) could have done with an iron in the room and some cups to drink my coffee but hey ho! It isn't a 4*. The gym! no aircon and nothing worked. We stayed on a half board basis but they are very flexible and on a few occasions we changed dinner for lunch. The restaurant in the evening had lovely food most nights, as with all hotels some nights were better than others but most of them good (if you have a fussy child don't bother) . I did have to complain about the restaurant manager as he was very VERY rude and ignorant but to be honest the area is not the friendliest unless you are Spanish. The location of the hotel is perfect, directly opposite the beautiful pebble beach, take scuba shoes with you as the pebble beach hurts your feet! , the strip into Altea is Lovely for a morning run, afternoon stroll into town or a longer walk into Altea, Altea is a must place to visit very very pretty. We did the jet2 jeep safari it was good and worth a go! the inflatable assault course in the sea was brilliant fun. And a lovely walk up to the lighthouse was a must the views are stunning, I would recommend going late afternoon wear sensible shoes and take a bottle of water. We loved eating in 'the grill' 'country ribs' (brilliant music) and the Argentina restaurant 'Melina' although more expensive was absolutely stunning food. Overall would I return? Yes I would, this hotel is by far the best location and although is lacking in some more modern comforts it's comfortable clean and good food and fantastic location on the beach front.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank Anthea J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2017

The hotel, I mean building is fine. Quiet, calm neighborhood. Rocky beach, you can not walk without safety shoes. The hotel service is generally nice, but the Poles are treated by bartenders and waiters worse than other hotel guests (various comments at our address and silly smiles, which should not happen). This is not the first opinion of this type, I am surprised that there is no reaction from the management (that's why I decided to write this opinion in English). All inclusive is the name only. There are 3 meals, no snacks, drinks are served from 13:00 until 22:00. Food good but only for people who like seafood. Hotel not for families with children and young couples. The average age is about 70 years old. No animation.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank kamilaf384
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near L'Alfas del Pi
0.9 km away
Albir Playa Hotel & Spa
Albir Playa Hotel & Spa
#1 of 15 in L'Alfas del Pi
1,228 reviews
1.3 km away
Albir Garden Resort
Albir Garden Resort
#7 of 15 in L'Alfas del Pi
1,395 reviews
1.0 km away
Hotel Sun Palace Albir Lounge & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 km away
Hotel SH Villa Gadea
2.3 km away
Magic Robin Hood
Magic Robin Hood
#2 of 15 in L'Alfas del Pi
444 reviews
4.4 km away
Hotel Cap Negret
Hotel Cap Negret
#3 of 8 in Altea
630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kaktus Albir? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kaktus Albir

Address: Passeig de Les Estreles 11 | Playa del Albir, 03581, L'Alfas del Pi, Spain
Region: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > L'Alfas del Pi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in L'Alfas del Pi
Price Range: ₹ 5,926 - ₹ 17,193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Kaktus Albir 4*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Kaktus Albir Kaktus Albir Hotel has been inaugurated in summer of 2003 and is situated just in front of the Albir Pebble Beach, in Alfaz del Pi, at only 8 kms of Benidorm, touristic capital of Costa Blanca, and 60 kms of the Airport of Alicante. It's only 10 meters from the beach, and in the old town you'll find a lot of shops, restaurants and bars. It's 10 kms from Benidorm bus station, which connects with Alicante, the airport and the rest of the coastal area, it's the perfect place for relaxing and exploring the area. We've an exterior pool for adults and children. In our roof terrace we have a second pool, that not only has wonderful views, in the winter season it is heated and covered. In the roof terrace you can also find sunbeds. The hotel has also bar service, four lifts, air conditioning, heating, and private parking. In our hotel you'll find a nice and helpful staff.Restaurant with Buffet all services: Breakfast , Lunch and Dinner . We have a Sailor's Buffet : Seafood and Fish, British Buffet and also a Special Spanish Tapas Buffet every Saturday evening. In our night Club we have Live Music 5 nights a week and several International shows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Kaktus Albir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing