We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely set up but not really 4 *”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
TUI Family Life Flamingo Beach Resort
Ranked #19 of 37 Hotels in Playa Blanca
Reviewed 29 February 2012

Spent half term in this resort. It has a lovely set up spread out over a good sized area with immaculate gardens and various pools, walking distance from a lovely beach and not far from shops harbour etc. The rooms are very spacious and very well cleaned by the maids but they are a little dated and a little damp - the first half of the week was a little cool and there was no heating.
We arrived around 9pm and after finding our room we had difficulty in opening the door - they had neglected to tell us that the room card had an electronic tag that when waved in front of the lock it opened the door(please note this newcomers)it was also dark and we fiddled around for quite a while till we nabbed a passerby who quickly showed us how it worked.
Good points were the cleanliness of the whole place and the friendliness of the staff. What let it down as a 4* hotel was the fact that towels were only changed 3 times a week, this is understandable as it is environmentally friendly and i am all for that but the rooms were not cleaned on a saturday or tuesday and nowhere did it state that in their literature! This is the first time ive seen this in a 4* hotel? I would also say that the food although adequate (couldnt fault the breakfasts) was not 4* as it was frequently dry and as previously mentioned on here not really enough vegetable options.
We enjoyed the upstairs restaurant as there were no small children,( nothing against them but ours are all grown up now and we just wanted to relax) and also the set up was more of a restaurant, downstairs reminded me a little of butlins lol. A must see is the sunset from this restaurant with the view of Fuerta Ventura in the background.
We had most of our lunches from the small bar by the pool and the staff there were lovely, very friendly and eager to please, nothing was too much trouble.
That said, myself and my boyfriend (who became my fiance when he proposed to me down on the beach during our stay!) both had a thoroughly relaxed time and we would go there again.
*Can i just add that I was disappointed in the flight, thomsons has joined the bandwagon and has reduced their baggage allowance, cut out meals on board (both the latter can be had by paying extra)and cut the inflight entertainment!!! Thought i was flying with Ryanair!!! Not good as i read 3 magazines on the way there and there were lots of fidgety bored children too!

Room Tip: Ask for a room high up, the views are lovely and its more private - you still only have to go up abo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank boogieshoes08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (2,945)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,957 - 1,961 of 2,945 reviews

Reviewed 28 February 2012

I wento to the flamingo beach resort with my boyfriend in feb 2012. The weather was lovely even though it was february, not scorching but still hot. The staff were helpful and friendly, one of the maids had a laugh when we locked ourselves out of our room and then she let us in. The bar staff knew what we were going to order and were always really friendly and nice. The entire hotel was really clean, the maids would clean top to bottom in the room and there would be people cleaning outside of the hotel too to keep the surroundings clean. We went with First Choice so we had some trips to choose from, we went to see fire mountain in timanfaya national park and also went to the Oasis park in Fuertaventura, both the trips were really cheap and good value for money. The food at the hotel was lovely, even though there wasn't a lot of veggie choice for me, what i could have was lovely. We preferred to go to the restaurant above the reception as it was nice and quiet and more of a 'restaurant atmosphere' as opposed to the cafeteria style restaurant underneath the reception. The only downside was that we were above the bar and entertainment centre, which woke me up the first day as we fell asleep quite early, but all the other days we were in the bar so it wasn't a problem for us, though it would be for families with children. All in all it was an amazing holiday and we have already decided to go back :)

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lauren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Just returned from a week at Flamingo beach resort.
staff were excellent, friendly and excellent with children.
The food, in our opinion, was excellent. We had a baby so could only eat in El Chef so the night in la bombola was a nice change.
I felt happy eating in El Chef as people with older kids can eat in the other restaurante so if baby was noisy i didnt feel uneasy and panicky as there were loads of babies in high chairs. We were very impressed with the variety of food and the fresh fish was excellent every day.

The whole resort was clean and well kept. the apartment was clean and a great size for the 3 of us. Terrace was great to sunbathe on if you wanted to get away from the pool area.

We didnt watch much of the evening entertainment in the blue moon bar as we like to walk in the evening and were in bed early, but the bits we saw we were really impressed with.

This is a large complex and excellent for children, but i can imagine when its height of season its packed. We went 19th feb and it was just busy enough.

The only complaint I have is that I was told on cooler days the indoor pool would be open for children just for an hour or so.
We had several cool days and were told children could go in from 10am-noon. We were so glad of this as our 10month old loves swimming and meant we could enjoy a swim as a family everyday as the other pools were too cold, we had read reviews that the pools were cold and thought it showed good management that they opened the heated indoor pool for this time everyday.
But on the second day we were told we could not take him in as its only open to children not in swim nappies!! Luckily the weather picked up towards the end of the week (still the larger pools were too cold for him) but he could happily play in the baby pool. Shame we couldnt swim as a family for a few minutes a day. I have no idea why this rule is in place and had the weather not picked up this rule may have ruined the holiday as we'd have had no pools for him. BEWARE of this if taking children in nappies.
Once this is sorted though it will be an ideal family holiday destination.

Room Tip: rooms directly above blue moon bar must be very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NatalieManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2012

I went with my 8 year old daughter,and friends with thier 2 boys ages, 12 & 8. We used Last minute travel for our private transfer from the airport to the hotel. The driver was waiting for us when we arrived at the airport, it cost 70 Euros return, and in half an hour we arrived at the Hotel. We got there at 2.30pm, and our rooms were ready, and next to each other as requested. The room was clean, a really good size for 2 people, and adequate for 4 people. It was well equioped with kitchen utensils, and plenty of cupbord space, but not many coat hangers!. In the fridge there was a bottle of water.
The buffett restaurant serves lunch until 3pm, and we got there in time, and was very pleased with the choices available. You can continue to use the salad bar & make toasties, even atfer the other food finishes. Also the pool bar sevres sandwiches, baguettes and chips all day from 10am to 6pm. The white wine was not to my taste, or anyone else I spoke to!., but the sangria, and sparking wine were fine. The evening buffets were ok, but not the best I have encountered. Breakfast was really good. There are 2 restaurants, downstairs you can take young children but it is like a cafe style, upstairs is more like a restaurant atmostphere, and only children over 6 yrs are allowed. We liked this better. There was always plenty of food,but as we went in quite late, some food was not very hot, also not much in the evening for my daughter who is a bit fussy. One night she wouldn't eat anything!. The rerstaurant is quite full even in feb, and tables were not cleared very quickly, we needed to ask them to clear tables so we could sit down, sometimes no spoons, and sometimes no cups / glasses, If you ask the staff are helpful though.
The pool was clean, and warm enough to use even in feb. The high rope course is great, and there is kids clubs & football every day. The bar in the evening and restaurants are not that big, and i imagine will be chaos in the summer months.It was almost full in february! would return but not in july or Aug. Staff were all really friendly especially Eva, and Jesica at the pool bar, and service everywhere was excellent. Beach is lovely, complex is in a great location, can easily walk in centre of Playa Blanca. It is worth going out for a meal, as lovley restaurants, eg. Galleon in harbour car park, Doesn't look much, but great food, and really cheap. Some nice pubs only a few minutes away along coast path, with live music, and a better atmostphere than staying on the complex every day. Market in Playa Blanca on weds, was expensive and not much there, cost 6 euro in a taxi to go. The marina area has some nice restaurants too.

Room Tip: quiet rooms away from Blue moon bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank julie a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Stayed here in February 2012 and the weather was as grey there as it is over here so I really would not recommend Lanzarote in February! Travelled with partner and our 2 children aged 7 & 2. Due to the weather the pools were too cold for them to go in which was disappointing but despite the weather the kids really enjoyed themselves. There were plenty of activities for them to get involved with. The food was excellent - better than some of the 5* hotels we have stayed in! Yes occasionally it was recycled such as the veg from lunch would be a soup in the evening...but I dont have a problem with that. The choice and quality was lovely and the both the kitchen and waiting staff were brilliant, worked very hard and could not do enough for you. Snacks were available throughout the day as was the ice cream (carte dor). The wine was nice along with the cocktails and the Sangria was delish! The rooms were perhaps a 3*, very basic but very clean with cooking facilities however the rest of the hotel and food makes it a 4*. The hotel grounds and pool are also clean and well kempt. Plenty of staff around including the Thompsons reps who are seen frequently throughout the day which is far better than a designated hour of the day should you need to help or advice. On the whole had the weather been nice it would have been a perfect holiday!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Halleboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Blanca
1.9 km away
Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort
4.0 km away
Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun
1.7 km away
H10 Lanzarote Princess
H10 Lanzarote Princess
#15 of 37 in Playa Blanca
5,424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
Hotel Hesperia Lanzarote Playa Dorada
38.2 km away
Los Zocos Club Resort
Los Zocos Club Resort
#8 of 38 in Costa Teguise
1,545 reviews
3.0 km away
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
#7 of 37 in Playa Blanca
3,921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TUI Family Life Flamingo Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TUI Family Life Flamingo Beach Resort

Address: Avenida de Canarias S/N | Playa Flamingo, 30540 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Blanca
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Blanca
#13 Family Hotel in Playa Blanca
Price Range: ₹ 9,370 - ₹ 22,124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — TUI Family Life Flamingo Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family Club Gold medal in 2007 and 2008 with Thomson.Flamingo beach just some steps away.Great offer of Restaurants, bars and entertainment.Football pitch and tennis court. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your TUI Family Life Flamingo Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flamingo Beach Hotel Playa Blanca
Hotel Flamingo Beach
Playa Flamingo Apartments
Playa Flamingo Lanzarote
TUI Family Life Flamingo Beach Resort Playa Blanca, Lanzarote

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing