We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,825)
Filter reviews
1,825 results
Traveller rating
1,015
493
225
47
45
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,015
493
225
47
45
Show reviews that mention
All reviews piano bar privilege restaurant el volcan buffet restaurant a la carte restaurants salt water privilege desk privilege room privilege package privilege guest star hotel main building mikes coffee shop lovely hotel guest relations branded drinks half board
Filter
Updating list...
577 - 582 of 1,825 reviews
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

We arrived as a family of four for our Easter holiday for 10 nights with the inlaws joining us for 7 nights.

Positives

Both theme restaurants very good.
Rooms cleaned daily.
Excellent kids clubs.
Good evening entertainment.
I emailed the hotel to ask for the inlaws rooms to be close to ours which they accommodated.
All spirits are branded as were soft drinks on AI.
As the grounds are so big we never struggled to find sun beds.
The reception area and piano bar were luxurious in their decor.
The spa was glorious.

Negatives

Buffet restaurant is understaffed so left untidy and struggled to find clean tables.
Air conditioning didn’t work in room, asked for it to be fixed but never was (the mosquitoes are vicious so couldn’t leave the patio doors open).
Kids usually love the pools but as they were freezing cold and salty they didn’t really go in them.
We were in room 7068 and building work was still going on which started at 8am (we did complain and the hotel apologised and gave us a free day pass at the spa for both rooms).

This hotel has great potential and with the above being addressed it would truly be a 5 star hotel.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
5  Thank Krys S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H10_Rubicon_Palace, Director General at H10 Rubicon Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2018

Dear Krys S,

Thank you for choosing H10 Rubicón Palace as a destination to enjoy your holiday. We’re glad you liked the gardens, our spa or the variety of restaurants. It is a pleasure to know that you appreciated the human quality of our staff. For sure, your different comments and notifications will be taken into account carefully, in order to improve, since the main goal of the hotel is to offer better experiences each season, increasing the guests satisfaction and having even better quality standards. As you say, even the negatives our guests know they are isolated matters that don't change the overall experience. Every feedback is studied in addition of the weekly survey control we are doing at the hotel, giving us a very good result about where to put our efforts on.

We hope that, you will consider to come back in the future.

Best regards,
The Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

We found our stay to be an underwhelming experience. The common parts of the hotel are nice but bedroom was much more basic. We paid for a sea view, but as the hotel is elevated our room was actually furthest from the sea! There is still building work ongoing, some of the restaurants were fully booked for the entire duration of our stay, the spa uninspiring (steam room didn't seem to steam up!), and many facilities time restricted - eg minigolf only open 3-5pm, not much good when you arrive at 5!

I suppose if you have a family and are looking for a one stop shop hotel then it fits the bill, but its a hotel that 'will do' rather than anything special to write home about.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
4  Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H10_Rubicon_Palace, Director General at H10 Rubicon Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2018

Dear David F,

Thank you for the time you took to share an opinion with all of us through Tripadvisor. First of all, we are glad to know that you liked the common areas of the hotel. On the other hand, we are sorry to read that the service you have received was not as you expected. The hotel is improving its facilities, listening to the guests requests, in order to offer them the services they ask, and for sure, the services they deserve. All the main improvements are already finished and just delimited areas are under improvement. We really regret that we didn't hear about your concerns at Guests Relations, since we would have been more than pleased to find a very easy solution. Of course if you had made your comments rather to Guest Relations, rather to touroperator Reps, we would have been more than happy to take an active approach to help resolve the guests notifications. Your target is the same than ours: to ensure you enjoy your holidays. For sure, your different comments and notifications will be taken into account carefully, in order to improve, since the main goal of the hotel is to offer better experiences each season.


Best regards.
The Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

This is our first time here (3 adults 2 children) and overall I have been very disappointed. This used to be 4 star and although the infrastructure is being upgraded (builders still on site) and some parts are very nice, the service and feel is still very 4 star at best. There is nothing wrong with 4 star but I object to a hotel masquerading as a 5 star when it is clearly not.

Specifically, we received no help with baggage when we arrived, no bell staff to be seen. We had to wait for 25 mins when we were allocated a room to be shown to the room by the bell boy.

No pool towels in room, you need to go to reception and leave a deposit, also you need to go back to reception to change the towels.

All but one pool is cold and the loungers are clearly still the 4 star variety.

Breakfast in the buffet is like a bad day at Butlins. They are chronically understaffed - another 25% of staff would give them a hope of providing decent service.

The room keeping staff are slow if you are not ready when they are - again understaffed.

No turndown service.

Overall it’s not awful but again it really annoys me that they claim 5 stars when they are clearly not.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
8  Thank Gu34k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H10_Rubicon_Palace, Director General at H10 Rubicon Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2018

Dear Gu34k,

First of all, thank you for giving us your opinion and the opportunity to answer to your concerns. We regret to read that the bell boy service was not the best as possible, but we're sure our team were doing another service at the same time. We will pay attention to improve this. We really regret you didn’t contact our Guest Relations team in order to track your stay and to make it more enjoyable, since it is the department in charge of looking after any kind of non satisfactory notification. We have the feeling that many of your different comments could have been easily solved by our teams. Our main target is to make sure you enjoy your holidays, but if we don’t know about your non satisfaction, we cannot proceed properly and unfortunately there is nothing we can do right now. We will consider your notifications since the main goal of the hotel is to offer better experiences each season, increasing the guests’ satisfaction and having even better quality standards.

Best regards,
The Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018

It was miserable weather when we visited, so did not see at its best, public areas are built to keep cool, not warm! However we had an enjoyable week. Bedrooms are excellent, comfy and spacious. Speciality restaurants were also very good and available on all- inclusive although you need to book early. Very nice coffee shop and pool bar/cafe is lovely, set out into the main pool. Only reservation is the main buffet restaurant which we found understaffed so that chefs could not keep the full selection available all the time.
Entertainment was excellent, the main lounge is well set out.
Pools are large and clean, one heated section.
Drinks service was rather slow ( not uncommon for all- inclusive) but selection was excellent.
Reception staff very attentive.
Location quiet, on coastal path towards edge of resort, about 20 mins walk to main areas.

Room Tip: Upper floors give more privacy
Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank GeoffTorquay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H10_Rubicon_Palace, Director General at H10 Rubicon Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2018

Dear GeoffTorquay,

We are grateful that you shared your experience at the H10 Rubicón Palace in TripAdvisor. It is a pleasure for us to know that you enjoyed your room, pools, restaurants, and all the complementaries services we offer to our clients in order to satisfy them. We also want to thank you for your comment about the drinks service, it helps us a lot to continually improve our hotel. The mention to our reception staff is very valued since they make a great effort to be the most efficient as possible.

We are looking forward to seeing you soon in our hotel, with we hope a beautiful sun.

Best regards,
The Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

This was our 26th stay at this stunning hotel so this speaks volumes and the first time since it upgraded to 5 star.
We were so blown away with all the wonderful changes but pleased a lot of the fantastic staff that make the hotel even more special were still there. A big thank you to Diego in the piano bar as you are simply a super guy that deserves all the positive praise for working so hard but always smiling.Also Naomi in the piano bar who quickly remembered our favourite baileys coffees every day in the morning, you are such a lovely girl. Leticia and Perla in Mikies always looked after us and we watched in amazement at how hard they all work to serve everyone so promptly.
Thank you to Stephanie and Elizabeth in guest relations who always took time to make sure we were ok.
A big Thank you to the animation team and Anabelle and Maria gave such top class exercise classes, Angel and Xavier Pilates was superb too at 10.30 am every morning, highly recommend!
Every part of this hotel has improved and the food was so delicious and we ate in all the restaurants! The chefs deserve awards for giving such choice but also serving delicious food.
The whole hotel is kept spotlessly clean and the beautiful refurbished room was also perfect.
A big Thank you Paula for giving us our favourite room and know this is not always possible.
We loved listening to Pedro in the piano bar and also enjoyed the Il Divo tribute and Argentinian show in the main lounge on level 4.
The quality of drinks are also first class, love the pina colada especially. Of course the prices have increased now the Rubicon is 5 star but we highly recommend and this hotel should be No 1 on trip advisor in our eyes!

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Shirley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H10_Rubicon_Palace, Director General at H10 Rubicon Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2018

Dear Shirley C,

First of all, thank you for sharing your experience in the H10 Rubicon Palace on Tripadvisor. What can we say? The fact that you already came to the hotel so many times, says it all. We can also be proud to receive guests like you, since also the guests make the difference in a hotel, and that is the case with you two. Your comments about our different staff members throughout the hotel are very valued for them. It is the best motivation they can get to keep ensuring compliance with your expectations. We are grateful that you have appreciated the entertainments of our hotel in general. We are also honoured that you have liked your recently renovated room and its facilities. We would also like to thank you for your feedback about the food and the drinks we offer in our restaurants and bars, it is so valued for us.

The fact that you recommend our hotel is without doubt one of the best motivation we can get to keep improving each season. We hope to welcome you home again soon.

Best regards,
The Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews