We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
H10 Rubicon Palace
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Royal Monica(Playa Blanca)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Jardines del Sol by Diamond Resorts(Playa Blanca)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Lanzasur Club(Playa Blanca)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
HL Paradise Island(Playa Blanca)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (1,412)
Filter reviews
1,412 results
Traveller rating
786
379
179
37
31
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
786
379
179
37
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspiano barel volcanprivilege restaurantbuffet restauranta la carte restaurantsprivilege packageguest servicesprivilege roomprivilege guestlovely hotelmikes coffee shopmain buildingsalt waterbuilding workbranded drinksplenty of sunbedsself service
Filter
Updating list...
390 - 395 of 1,412 reviews
Reviewed 10 March 2018

From the moment you walk in this hotel impresses. An arch of dolphin and an entrance of black, white and chrome. We had booked Privilege and had a wonderful room with a sea view and balcony. We made full use of the Privilege bar and terrace, loved having breakfast in the El Volcan restaurant, ate at 3 of the alternative restaurants. In each one the food was excellent, and service very good.

Unfortunately when it rained (overnight mostly) the area outside our room (and we were on an upper floor) was very wet and towels had to be put on the floor outside.

The gardens were immaculate the pools well kept.

We enjoyed walking along the promenade to Playa Blanca and even made it to the 'castle'. We also climbed the volcano.

Just a wonderful spot to be in. Cannot find much to fault.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Vanya C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H10_Rubicon_Palace, Director General at H10 Rubicon Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2018

Dear Vanya C.,

Thank you for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor. We’re glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you’ve been satisfied with the Privilege service we offer at the hotel. The hotel provide services and facilities of quality in order to please the customers and satisfy them as much as possible, so it is an honor for us to read that we have managed to meet your expectations as a customer. About the weather and the inconvenience caused, we apologize,since there was a weather alert and the facilities all over the island, including the hotel, are prepared for the sun and the hot temperatures we use to have during the whole year. We're glad you rated the gardens and pool areas because we have worked very hard on this: customer satisfaction is our main purpose.

Thank you for the kind words, it would be a great pleasure to welcome you again in the future.

Best regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2018

This was our seventh stay at this beautiful hotel so as we have seen it in all it’s different styles we feel we can give an honest review. The hotel has undergone a recent refurbishment which is still not yet complete but has transformed it to it’s five star status.
The reception area is stunning however although most of the reception staff are very efficient and pleasant there are one or two who let the side down this is our only criticism. We always stay All Inclusive and have never found the need to upgrade to Privelege but it depends on the individual if they want to pay extra for an expresso machine, gowns & slippers and a sea view with their room, you also get to eat in the a la Carte restaurant for breakfast/ evening meal and have an exclusive lounge. We prefer the buffet restaurant as it has lots of choice, it can be busy but if you eat slightly later the hustle & bustle has usually died down. The piano bar is superb an artist on each night with our particular favourite Pedro on the piano. The bar can get really busy but the staff are excellent and at all times professional even when people’s insatiable appetite for alcohol makes them very rude!! Alberto and his team are brilliant!
On the middle floor is the entertainment lounge where they hold the mini disco and shows, the animation team work very hard and are very enthusiastic - all the children love ‘Daisy’.
The complex is quite large which can be daunting at first but you are provided with a map and the little train can take you round to help get your bearings. The gardens and pools are looked after and are immaculate.
There is a lovely promenade along the seafront that will take you about 40 mins to walk into Playa Blanca where will you find lots of shops and restaurants, a quick taxi ride back will cost about 5 euros but the bus does stop right outside the hotel as well.
There are 3 themed restaurants on site which you are entitled to eat at one night each during your stay we feel La Dolce Vita Italian is the best.
There are Spa facilities on site but we have never used them so can’t review them.
I returned home yesterday and have just booked to return to The Rubicon in July such is my love for this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room close to the main complex if you have mobility issues
Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Kath S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H10_Rubicon_Palace, Director General at H10 Rubicon Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2018

Dear Kath S,

First of all, thank you for trusting H10 Rubicón Palace to spend your holidays and thank you for the time you took to share an opinion with all of us through Tripadvisor. We are glad you have been satisfied with the hotel and the different services and facilities that it provides.
The fact that you will return in the future, is the best proof to know we are doing a good job to maintain a quality service focused on our clients.

It will be a pleasure to welcome you again in the future.

Best regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2018 via mobile

A great hotel that has a few areas for improvement that can make the Rubicon Palace an even better hotel.
The facilities are first class and we were pleased with our Privilege facilities and all inclusive option. The hotel is a sprawling complex similar to a Canarian Village. We had a sea view room 9623 in a block perhaps furthest away from Reception but access to all areas is simple once you find the short cuts. We ate in the El Volcan restaurant and we also tried the Italian, the American Steakhouse and we attended the Dinner Show OH!
Without doubt the best restaurant is El Volcan made special by Iker, the Maitre D’ Iker is a real credit to H10; he was always so calm, welcoming and professional. The food here is excellent with a wide choice and breakfast is a delight. Privilege Guests are allocated their own specific dining table for the duration of their stay and you simply turn up when you are ready to eat.
The other speciality restaurants were a disappointment mainly due to the lack of real interest shown to the guests by the staff. It seemed a hassle to be served and they wanted to process people too quickly. The food we had was over cooked and a not particularly authentic. On the plus side the choices offered in the Pool Bar at lunchtime on a grab and go basis were excellent. We also tried the main Buffet restaurant one lunchtime and the choices here were good.
We also like Mike’s Coffee Shop.
The major area for improvement in our view is the “Privilege Lounge”. I accept that it is a place of solitude but it is sole less. I have seen this mentioned in other Reviews. Worse still we often found , no glasses for drinks or at times hot glasses, no Tonics, no lemon slices and at times no Cava. Sweet canapés were provided but they were basically chocolate sweets. Savoury canapés at 6pm would be much better. Plus, no small dishes were available for the peanuts which were in a big jar so we had to use a coffee saucer, yet the Piano Bar serve peanuts in small dishes!
Basically, H10 there is an urgent need for a Host with personality in the Privilege Lounge, say between 4pm and 8pm. These are your top guests so look after them. These minor niggles are easily sorted but we did hear a lot of comment from other guests echoing my views.
A lot of people return to th Rubicon Palace so you are doing a good job. Please just try that little bit harderHaving said that, we will be back too. I nominate Iker for Employee of the Month. Thanks Iker.


Alan F
Bolton UK

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Alan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H10_Rubicon_Palace, Director General at H10 Rubicon Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2018

Dear Alan F,

First of all thank you for sharing your opinion with all of us through Tripadvisor.
We’re pleased to know that you liked our facilities and the Privilege service that we offer in the hotel. Regarding the restaurants, we are glad you enjoyed El Volcán since it’s our gourmet restaurant and that you found all what is needed at the Pool Bar, however we regret that the quality of the food on the other restaurants did not live up to your expectations. Without a doubt, we try to offer a great variety on our different “a la carte” restaurants and in our buffet where there’s a live food section available where the customer directly requests the cooking point of the food. Still, our staff is always glad to listen to you and try to offer you a more pleasant stay. Concerning the Privilege lounge we will take your concerns into account and improve our attentiveness in order to offer the service that our guests deserve since the main goal of the hotel is to offer better experiences and having even better quality standards.

It will be a great pleasure to welcome you again in the future! We would like to see if we deserve an even higher rating next time with all the improvements done at the hotel.

Best regards,
The Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2018 via mobile

This is the first time we have ventured outside of Puerto Del Carmen and we chose Playa Blanca. What a fantastic choice and I have to say we will probably never visit Puerto Del Carmen again.

We picked this hotel as it had a good location and we wanted somewhere had restaurants that just didn’t serve buffet food. H10 seem to have done a great job in providing a selection of hotels with great facilities.

We had a great stay and there are excellent facilities. We booked a Priveledge Superior Room with with a Sea View and booked Half Board. With Priveledge you get access to a room from 10am - 11pm with drinks and nibbles. They provide nearly every type of spirit and it has a lovely view over the ocean. It also gives you access and a reserved table at a dedicated restaurant that is waiter service. If you want you can also swap for any other restaurant or buffet service. This is what we really liked, it was the best part of the holiday. I usually hate going half board as I feel the buffet always makes you feel like you are not going out for dinner but this was perfect. The food in the restaurant was amazing and every night they had a number of specials on the menu so it didn’t get boring.

The hotel has a lovely spa and you get free access for one visit as part of Priveledge.

The service in the hotel was great and the staff helpful.

The location is good although it is a long walk (around 30 mins) to the main marina at Playa Blanca.

The complex is nicely spread out with small blocks around the sea front and then the main hotel itself.

The pool is huge and there was plenty of activities to take part in if you wanted, we didn’t as we wanted to rest!

They have evening entertainment in the main Disco room which I have to say when we were there wasn’t that great so we never went in. They did have singers in the main bar and they were good and we enjoyed the different selections.

I have two negative comments on our stay and these are around our check-in and room they provided us. We drove up in our hired car and there was nobody outside to help with luggage or help. We went to the main reception and after 5 mins was guided to the Priveledge reception. We were not offered a welcome drink or again when I asked for help with the luggage they said that it would be around 20 mins, which for a 5* Hotel I find strange.

The biggest issue we had was the initial room they gave us was in the main hotel. It was a nice room with a Sea View, but it definitely wasn’t a Priveledge Room. It didn’t have all the facilities and it wasn’t large enough and didn’t look like the hotel photos. It also stank of bleach and was not very modern. The bathroom was very old. You can see they have all been renovated but not to a high standard. The biggest issue was there was nowhere to put any clothing, there were two small draws and 5 hangers, now for a 10 day or even week stay it’s not enough.

We returned to reception and said we wanted a new room as this wasn’t what we paid for and there were other people complaining too. They were very good and gave us a larger room in one of the smaller blocks on the seafront. The room was fantastic and had everything you wanted.

We couldn’t have timed it better as just as we left reception a huge coach load of people arrived!

We went and packed our cases and the hotel sorted moving everything for us.

What my issue is that I booked the hotel directly, it was my first time staying and we had booked Priveledge so why try and fob us off with an inferior room, it started the holiday off with a sour taste. It made me wonder just how many English people wouldn’t complain and would have stayed in the room!

Once thus was sorted it was a great holiday and I would highly recommend the hotel and H10.

It’s a great hotel and we would definitely return again. Treat yourself to Priveledge, it’s worth it and adds that extra something special to your holiday.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Gary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H10_Rubicon_Palace, Director General at H10 Rubicon Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2018

Dear Gary F,

Thank you for sharing your opinion about us on Tripadvisor. We are glad you have been satisfied with the services of the hotel, especially with the Privilege service that we offer, undoubtedly it is a service that can give you an enriching experience. Thank you for rating our facilities such as the pool areas, our spa (since with no doubt, it is well worth a visit) and the variety of restaurants. It is also a pleasure to know that you appreciated the human quality of our staff. Regarding your concerns about the check-in and the room, your opinion is very valued and we’re going to take it into account carefully in order to improve, since that’s the main goal of our hotel.
The fact that you would come back at the hotel in the future and that you recommend it is the best proof that we are doing a good job.

We will be pleased to welcome you again in the H10 Rubicon Palace.

Best regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2018

Although there are still some works going on to upgrade some of the rooms which did not effect us at all now with the reception area and pool area all completed I can understand why they are pushing for 5 star status. The new piano bar in the reception area is brilliant and plenty large enough to cater for all the residents. There are plenty of beds around the pool area so no need to rush and get your towels on the beds. Again the food was good but we had upgraded to privilege, so not only did we dine in the El Volcan but also could lunch in the Dolce Vita which was a bonus. Again the staff were brilliant and it was very nice to be remembered from our visit last year

Room Tip: privilege customers get the best rooms
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank michael f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H10_Rubicon_Palace, Director General at H10 Rubicon Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2018

Dear Michael F,

First of all, thank you for trusting H10 Rubicón Palace to spend your holidays and thank you for the time you took to share an opinion with all of us through Tripadvisor.
The fact that our improvements didn't affect your stay means that you're a guest wishing to really enjoy your holidays and all the facilities we provide. We always keep in mind that every improvement done is for giving the guest better facilities for the future.
Thank you for mentioning our staff team, they make a great effort and with no doubt the hotel wouldn't be the same without them.

We will be pleased to welcome you again in the H10 Rubicon Palace.

Best regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews