We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
Ranked #6 of 37 Hotels in Playa Blanca
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 August 2012

We stayed at the hotel end of June to attend our friends' wedding party taking place in the hotel. We travelled with our four children and nanny and overall had a lovely stay. We stayed in the regular wing of the hotel with two interconnecting rooms. The rooms are very spacious and tastefully decorated and what amazed me was how little noise of the wedding party carried to the rooms (which had been a concern for me before arriving). The setting was beautiful for a wedding and overall we had great service at the hotel and the restaurants. The breakfast buffet is very good and ample choice. The kids' club was also well used by our kids and they had a nice arts and crafts program each day (although somewhat limited in terms of activities throughout the day). The pool area was very nice although the water was a touch cold. It is definitely a hotel I would judge as value for money and location is great. A big downside however is the beach access (especially unsuitable for young children). We also had great food at the restaurant called El Mirador which is about 10 minutes walk from the hotel. Overall I would recommend the hotel for its decor, service and hospitality.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Swisschilind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (3,825)
There are newer reviews for Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,368 - 2,372 of 3,826 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2012

We went on the last minute - UK weather!! (July 2012 for 11 nights with Jet2holidays) So not a hotel we would naturally have picked, but a hotel we would go back to time and again... Slightly nervous about previous comments on tripadvisor - so we wrote to the hotel to check out that the pool area was open etc. This was our first experience of brilliant service from the hotel and its staff. The hotel is fantastic - great facilities; brilliant staff and in a area of Playa Blanca which is amazing. To step out of the hotel gate and be 3 minutes from the outstanding Marina and all of the shops, bars and restaurants. Our favourites being Vino Blanco - great cocktails and Tapas and Aphrodite Little Italy - amazing food and great staff. Slightly further into Playa Blanca the Old Mill Pub has the best live music and atmosphere.

Would we go again - in a heart beat.. From the magistic entrance through the old Monastery to the beautiful restaurant built over the main pool this was truly a 5* experience. If I had 1 observations to make that would be the aminimation team and entertainment was poor. Not an issue for us but those with younger children may have found this lacking.

Room Tip: As the hotel is built as a mini village - they are in small blocks, with rooms facing over the pool...
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
19  Thank james r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2012

Spent 4 nights here with my wife and two kids after 10 nights in Puerto Del Carmen and thought the hotel was lovely especially the pool area (of which there are several) and the breakfast buffet in the restaurant,a very wide choice to choose from,with great tasting coffee as well as a nice glass of Cava! The entrance and lobby area was most impressive and the drink on arrival was a nice touch!! We stayed in a Junior Suite which had great views of the pool area,marina and the resort of Playa Blanca,my only problem was the size of the room which i assumed should have been larger as i have stayed in many other more sizeable standard double rooms.We did bring this to the managements attention but were assured it was indeed a Junior Suite-as we were only staying the four nights it wasn't a massive problem. A nice touch was the staff allowing us to stay in the room until almost 4 as checkout is usually 12, as our taxi was picking us up at 4.30 it was greatly appreciated.The hotel is right beside the marina rubicon with various shops/restaurants however we felt it was a poor imitation to the marina at Benalmadena.. All in all I would recommend this hotel to both families and couples alike although personally we thought the resort itself of Playa Blanca wasn't that impressive compared to the more scenic and lively Puerto Del Carmen.

Room Tip: Junior suite would be perfect for 2 but not for families
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank iand325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2012

Just returned from a great week at the volcan hotel. Travelled with my wife and 2 year old. Location is SUPERB. They have a gate from the pool leading you straight to the Marina Rubicon where a supermarket is literally a stones throw away and around 12 fantastic restaurants/bars. The Blue Note is a great spot for cocktails by the water at night.

The hotels pool side is quiet and peaceful with lots of space for kids to explore and a variety of pools to choose from. The hotel is sprawling but it never feels like it is packed with people. I know other people have complained of it being like a ghost town, but we loved it for this very reason! Even when the hotel is full it feels relaxed and peaceful. There are not groups of kids running around the place screaming, or rowdy groups of teenagers. There is a kids club on site but you wouldn't know they were even there as they are housed in their own club house. I completely agree that the hotel is lacking when it comes to pool service. It is non existent. If you want a drink by the pool you have to make your own way to the pool bar. But this didn't bother us.

The rooms are large, spacious, nicely decorated. The bathroom was large with separate toilet. The shower was AWESOME. Really powerful. Hate low water pressure. We had a view of the marina and it was beautiful. Air con was powerful too and individually controlled in each room. Maids cleaned the room every day. No problems with ants as other reviewers have said. Not a single ant in our room over the whole week. There is no doubt that the rooms could do with a refurb but the shabby chic feel adds to the charm of the resort. The mattresses on the bed are HARD. Be warned. We didn't sleep that well. But it didn't ruin our holiday, and mattress toppers are available from reception on request. We also had to request extra pillows as we onlly had one each!

The "Florida" restaurant is excellent for breakfast. For us, the breakfast was as good as any other 5 star we have stayed in. Great choice. Yes, no tea is served to the table, only coffee, but again this didn't bother us. There is a station for making your own tea, hot choc, bloody Mary, bucks fizz....whatever you fancy. We found the choice at dinner was ample as well. There isn't a separate section for kids therefore they just have to eat what the adults eat, which meant my wee boy didn't eat very much all week. The salads/meats etc were all too fancy for him. They definitely cater the dinner buffet to more continental tastes. If you didn't fancy this though, there are endless places to eat in the Marina.

Excellent stay all round. The hotel is beautiful. And if you're looking for a quiet family friendly hotel where you can disappear for a week then this is the place for you. We loved it and will definitely go back!

Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
14  Thank Mathmagic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

Ok here we go - the hotel is in a nice spot close to the marina. The hotel was very quiet I believe only 40% capacity and it only puts on entertainment, a duo only 3 times a week. and there is only one bar in the Marina with entertainment. The public areas of the hotel are nicely decorated and so was our room. I had paid for a sea view and emailed the hotel in advance asking for a nice view with balcony which they duly provided actually the balcony was larger than the room !!! 2 sunbeds 2 umbrellas 4 chairs and a table and that filled half the balcony !!! But the furniture was very tatty with rips and stuffing coming out of the chairs and the umbrella stands were very rusty - a let down to what was a very nicely decorated room . the pool area and gardens were nice. but glasses left on tables from the night before and smokers who had taken their breakfast outside for a fag break these pots were sometimes left until late afternoon before being removed again not 5 star attention to detail .

Reception : Well at best lacking and worst useless - The girls were ok but the bloke ?? I was waiting for my hire car to arrive for 30 mins I asked if they could ring the company they did but said it was no answer . I then went back to my room and came back to reception 30 mins later to be told by him that the hire car bloke had been back twice looking for me but I was not there . I said why did you not ring my room ? the reply ? I dont know which room you are in !! The car hire people had my name !!

Restaurant: Food repetitive and bland - not the worst I’ve had but very near and best suiting a 1 or 2 star establishment - took advantage of eating out at the marinas Italian restaurant which the hotel let us do 2 evenings as part of the package which felt like you were actually eating a meal v picking at scraps !!

Overall would I go back to this hotel - NO- we have previously stayed at the Natura Palace and found that hotel be as comfortable and clean but the food was far superior ( they just need an al a carte restaurant so you can get away from the every night buffet )

PS. This hotel is not for the infirm as there are lots of steps all over the place especially to the rooms and restaurant

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank EricDH13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Blanca
1.4 km away
Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort
11.8 km away
Hesperia Lanzarote
Hesperia Lanzarote
#2 of 4 in Puerto Calero
4,942 reviews
1.0 km away
Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Hotel Hesperia Lanzarote Playa Dorada
1.3 km away
SENTIDO H10 White Suites
SENTIDO H10 White Suites
#8 of 37 in Playa Blanca
2,736 reviews
35.6 km away
Melia Salinas - Adults recommended
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote

Address: C/ El Castillo 1, 35580 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Playa Blanca
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Blanca
#5 Family Hotel in Playa Blanca
#5 Romantic Hotel in Playa Blanca
#5 Luxury Hotel in Playa Blanca
Price Range: ₹ 9,567 - ₹ 25,511 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote 5*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel THe Volcán Lanzarote is placed in the South of Lanzarote, the island of the volcanoes. This is a five-star-resort that is distinguished by its excellence and its privileged location. With the yachting port Marina Rubicón at its feet and facing the sea, you will find this spectacular hotel designed as a typical village of Lanzarote. At it you will admire the distinctive architecture of the island. But you will also discover true replicas of emblematic places of the island like the church of Nuestra Señora de Guadalupe in Teguise at its entrance, or La Geria at its solarium. Hotel THe Volcán Lanzarote disposes of 255 rooms, five pools, four restaurants, three bars, conference rooms, a spa center and a gym. In addition, in Hotel THe Volcán Lanzarote you can enjoy a new exclusivity concept at its Club Volcán, an area only for adults. Hotel THe Volcán Lanzarote features 255 rooms that are distributed over twenty typical houses and give magnificent views of Lanzarote, Fuerteventura and Lobos Island. Designed taking care of every detail and where the sea blue colour stands up, we put at your disposal three room categories: the comfortable Double Room (Garden View, Sea View, Pool View), the elegant Junior Suite (Garden View, Pool View) and the outstanding Suite (Garden View, Sea View, Pool View). Following a new concept of luxury and privacy, we dispose of 48 rooms that form the Club Volcán, exclusively for adults. In the categories Double, Junior Suite and Suite, every room enjoys spectacular sea views. Hotel THe Volcán Lanzarote puts at your disposal a wide range of entertainment, sports, leisure and relaxing offers, providing an exquisite treat and service. Moreover, from the hotel you can directly access Marina Rubicón, which disposes of an ample shopping and leisure area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Melia Playa Blanca
Sol Melia Playa Blanca
Gran Melia Volcan Lanzarote
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote Playa Blanca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing