We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Volcan”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
Ranked #6 of 37 Hotels in Playa Blanca
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Have also just returned from a week during half term at the Volcan.
Agree with everything said by LiverpoolKaz!
Our room was so cold we asked for a heater which only materialised after our rep got involved. It didnt help that the weather was quite chilly and we had been caught in the rain, but our clothes just wouldnt dry ! Not good for 5star.
We also found the staff unhelpful as if it was too much trouble, especially in the restaurant.
I think the guests staying Club Volcan had a very different experience, from swimming in the pool ( would have been nice if not ice cold) to having some sun on their rooms for a bit of warmth.
Nice large rooms, lovely choice of food !

Room Tip: High floor we were ground floor terrace next to a footpath
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank skintbint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (3,822)
There are newer reviews for Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,440 - 2,444 of 3,822 reviews

Reviewed 19 February 2012

Went for a weeks winter sun for half term break. The hotel was very quiet and lacking in atmosphere, the fun pub plays no music and the entertainment was boring . Some of the staff are very rude and never smile . On a high note breakfast was very good . The rooms were absolutely freezing at night . Kids club was ok but lacking in atmosphere too as the staff were not that motivating with them. The pool needs repainting as looks awful for a 5 star hotel. The hotel needs new sun bed covers and umbrellas very tatty and worn out . Enjoyed our week away in the resort of playa blanca , but would not return to this hotel .

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LiverpoolKaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelVolcanLanzarote, Adjunta a Dirección at Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2012

Good afternoon,
First of all, we would like to thank you for publishing your impressions about our Hotel. Opinions like yours help us to improve our day to day efforts to offer better service.
Regarding your comments about our entertainment and live music, we would like to inform you that we play music in our Fun Pub at least three evenings per week with a different offer depending on the season. Our entertainment program includes daily activities for adults and children.
Unluckily during your stay the weather has been a little bit cold, but we have provided blankets and heaters to all the rooms which requested them.
We would like to inform you that he pool is planned to be repainted this year.
We do hope that you will give us another opportunity to welcome you.
Receive our best regards.
The Management
Hotel Volcán Lanzarote

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2012

In celebration of my husband's 55th birthday, we wanted to stay at a special resort the last two days of our visit to Lanzarote. The location by Marina Rubicón area was perfect as it was close to beautiful Papagayo and a few good restaurants within walking distance. Our room was spacious and very nice, although the wall between the room was not very soundproof. The full breakfast was very good; you could even request a fresh omelet. We both had "relaxing" full-body massages by 2 separate ladies who were fantastic! All in all a great place to enjoy.

We love quality, tasty food and selected the half-board option which we haven't experienced before. We were highly disappointed in the quality of the dinner the first night. It was more like cafeteria-style food. Given the hotel is supposed to be a 5-star resort, we expected at least 4-star food. We bought up our concern with the management and was given first-class service by Manuela. She contacted Booking.com and explained we wanted to remove the half-board option the second night and it was taken care of with no problem. Manuela was very personable and willing to help us out. The hotel is lucky to have a great asset like her!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank TravelBug350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2012

I really liked this hotel. From the moment you arrive in the "church" reception with the sounds of chanting monks( softly) it is a very relaxing experience. We were unlucky in that the weather was not good but the hotel is so unique in design and the staff so friendly- in a nice way- not pushy friendly we left as two very relaxed people. Breakfasts were good - watch out for sparrows on the bread! Fresh fruit fabulous selection of breads, fruit juice and cava!
The gardens are beautifully maintained and the stroll through them to the Marina is delightful.
On a down note we did have dinner at the buffet one evening and it was very poor. That is all I will say. Would not recommend it in any way.
Lots of seating areas in the garden.
Our room was 601 which was super. Lovely balcony overlooking the gardens and beyond to the marina where we sipped our gins and watched the amazing sunsets each evening. It was kept beautifully clean during out stay.

Room Tip: 601 was lovely- balcony with views to the sea over gardens and marina. One warning is that there are...
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank malinmaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2012

This hotel is a 5 star but it has passed it Zenit. Some refresh of the interior and specially around the pool deck is needed (club section). Very nice breakfast and VERY nice staff. Due to bad weather the indoor temp was low, and no heating was available! burrr

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Apollo
2  Thank Strupo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Blanca
1.4 km away
Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort
11.8 km away
Hesperia Lanzarote
Hesperia Lanzarote
#2 of 4 in Puerto Calero
4,919 reviews
1.0 km away
Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Hotel Hesperia Lanzarote Playa Dorada
1.3 km away
SENTIDO H10 White Suites
SENTIDO H10 White Suites
#8 of 37 in Playa Blanca
2,726 reviews
35.6 km away
Melia Salinas - Adults recommended
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote

Address: C/ El Castillo 1, 35580 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Playa Blanca
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Blanca
#5 Romantic Hotel in Playa Blanca
#5 Family Hotel in Playa Blanca
#5 Luxury Hotel in Playa Blanca
Price Range: ₹ 9,385 - ₹ 25,135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote 5*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel THe Volcán Lanzarote is placed in the South of Lanzarote, the island of the volcanoes. This is a five-star-resort that is distinguished by its excellence and its privileged location. With the yachting port Marina Rubicón at its feet and facing the sea, you will find this spectacular hotel designed as a typical village of Lanzarote. At it you will admire the distinctive architecture of the island. But you will also discover true replicas of emblematic places of the island like the church of Nuestra Señora de Guadalupe in Teguise at its entrance, or La Geria at its solarium. Hotel THe Volcán Lanzarote disposes of 255 rooms, five pools, four restaurants, three bars, conference rooms, a spa center and a gym. In addition, in Hotel THe Volcán Lanzarote you can enjoy a new exclusivity concept at its Club Volcán, an area only for adults. Hotel THe Volcán Lanzarote features 255 rooms that are distributed over twenty typical houses and give magnificent views of Lanzarote, Fuerteventura and Lobos Island. Designed taking care of every detail and where the sea blue colour stands up, we put at your disposal three room categories: the comfortable Double Room (Garden View, Sea View, Pool View), the elegant Junior Suite (Garden View, Pool View) and the outstanding Suite (Garden View, Sea View, Pool View). Following a new concept of luxury and privacy, we dispose of 48 rooms that form the Club Volcán, exclusively for adults. In the categories Double, Junior Suite and Suite, every room enjoys spectacular sea views. Hotel THe Volcán Lanzarote puts at your disposal a wide range of entertainment, sports, leisure and relaxing offers, providing an exquisite treat and service. Moreover, from the hotel you can directly access Marina Rubicón, which disposes of an ample shopping and leisure area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Melia Playa Blanca
Sol Melia Playa Blanca
Gran Melia Volcan Lanzarote
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote Playa Blanca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing