We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Family Fun...Something for Everyone”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun
Ranked #13 of 37 Hotels in Playa Blanca
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 15 October 2017

Stayed here End of Aug/Beg of Sep...

Family of 4 (kids aged 7 and 4) - we thoroughly enjoyed our stay, something for all the family, lots of fun had, which the Animation Team played a big part – a super team who work so hard. Highly recommend if you want a well-priced fun holiday.

Positives
-Good food, lots of choices (both food and restaurant options) – some gluten and lactose free options available upon request. Alcohol choices were decent.
-Nice room (cleaned daily)
-Chill out areas
-Beach directly at the back of the hotel
-Many swimming pools, including 4 water slides for toddlers to teens – many options so does not need to be monotonous sitting at same place daily
-Well situated - 20 mins walk to Rubicon Marina, 15 mins walk to a beautiful must see beach, Papaygayo
-Friendly hotel staff
-Kids Club and Animation Team events for kids and adults daily (archery, water polo, football, table tennis plus much more)
-Evening entertainment – both Animation Team and external acts (acrobat act, parrot shows, kids mini disco with characters), held in the Castle Theatre, or on the outside courtyard
-Small Astro Turf pitch for football and basketball, plus Beach Volley ball pitch
-5D cinema showing approx. 5 mins shows (kids and adult)
-Gym (basic, could do with updating)
-Playground (small)
-Spa (kids and adult)
-Adult only restaurant overlooking the beach (7 course meal – not included in price)
-Professional photographer for family photo shoot (only pay for the photos you want)
-Hotel shop – beach toys, souvenirs
-Sports Bar in the hotel – screens inside and outside
-Shops directly outside the hotel (bike rental, supermarket, pharmacy, toys, clothes, ----Sports Bar showing most Premier League footy games even if not on UK TV)

Negatives
-The lifts need to be upgraded, one was faulty throughout our stay (did break down a few times, albeit not with us in it) – only 7 floors, stairs available. If you don’t like lifts then ask for a room on lower levels
-Like most hotels in Europe in high season (July/Aug) expect to have to get up early to put towels on beds if you want a decent spot (did this at approx. 7.45am) – no issues encountered, just set the alarm!
-Whilst there are quiet areas to sunbathe and dine, it is a busy hotel during peak times (not a negative as such, but have this in mind if you like quiet holidays)

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DeanoRLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CalidadDreamplace, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2017

Dear DeanoRLondon,

From the entire team of Gran Tagoro, we truly appreciate the time you took to share with us and the community of TripAdvisor your very detailed review about the recent stay in Lanzarote.

First of all, it is a pleasure for us to know that you had such a positive experience and that we could definitely exceed your expectations providing you some great days with your family.

We truly appreciate your kind and open words about our staff, as well as that you would highly recommend us. It means the world for all of us to know that we can meet our guests’ requests and make them leave without further wishes.

Furthermore, we are happy to know that you liked your room and our common areas. It is very important for us to make our guests feel like at home, or even better, making sure that nothing is missing. Therefore, we offer a wide range of rooms and 11 different pools (all of them heated, expect one), three international restaurants and one adult only, so that everyone will find something. Moreover, in our resort we offer the wonderful kids Castleland, a great area full of attractions for our youngest guests. As you said, there is something for all guests and all ages!

A very important part of our success is our animation team, and we feel very proud to read that you appreciated their work, as well as our professional photographer. We find it a great opportunity for our guests to spend some beautiful time with their families here with us and then bring back some memories to review together once home.

Regarding the problem with the sunbeds, please accept our deepest apologies if you had to face some unpleasant situations. Our staff always tries to avoid letting other guests take them until 10:00 am, when the pools open, and of course make them not reserved for a long time without being used. When this happens, sunbeds are released again.

Terminally, we would like to let you know that your comment is indeed a great motivation for us. We truly hope to see you soon at our Gran Tagoro, as we would be more than happy to provide you with another fantastic experience in Lanzarote.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (6,024)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

129 - 133 of 6,024 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2017

Myself and my partner stayed here in August for 7 nights. We really enjoyed ourselves. The staff were very friendly. Food was only ok but couldn't fault the place other than that. Would definitely stay again.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
3  Thank kathleen054812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CalidadDreamplace, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2017

Dear kathleen054812,

It is a pleasure to receive your review about your stay in our Gran Tagoro here on TripAdvisor. We feel very happy to read that you had a great experience with us and that you would definitely return.

We are sorry to read that our gastronomic offer could not exceed your expectation. Please feel sure that your opinion as a customer is for us of primary importance and, therefore, we can assure you that we will take it into consideration for further improvements.

We really look forward to seeing you soon at our Gran Tagoro. Our team will be more than happy to welcome you again!

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2017

Very good family hotel with plenty of facilities for kids but with also adult only area available. Food was good and varied, although could have been a bit hotter in the buffet area, and a very good selection of drinks and snacks available at the published times.
Would happily return and happily recommend to all.
Having said that, it is marketed as a 5 star, but this is a Spanish 5 star and not a GB, US or Dubai 5 star - but wasn't expecting that anyway.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank andypbentley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CalidadDreamplace, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2017

Dear Andypbentley,

Thank you for this fantastic review here on TripAdvisor regarding your recent stay in our Gran Tagoro hotel.

It is a pleasure to know that you liked our service and facilities and took delight of them! As you mentioned, one of our greatest strengths is to be the ideal place where to spend a vacation not only for families, but for all guests and all ages. We offer, indeed, a wide variety of different activities full of fun for the smallest ones and, of course, a relaxing and intimate atmosphere for our adult guests: at our resort we have taken into consideration all clients to ensure everyone an unforgettable stay.

We feel honoured to hear that you would recommend us and. above all, that you would definitely return to our Gran Tagoro. Our team would be overjoyed to see you again!

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2017 via mobile

I stayed for 7 nights at the Gran Tagoro in Lanzarote 15-22 September 2017.

Reception
The reception checked us in very quickly as we arrived late, and asked us quickly to follow her to the restaurant as if was to close @10pm. Following this back to reception who finished off the check in. We went through the welcome brochure, and was told about the pre bookable restaurants, which ones were free and included , and which were not and would be chargeable.

The Room
A lovely porter took us to our room 1113 and explained basic features, lights, AC etc.
The room was lovely and spacious, with a clear bedroom area and sitting area. The sofa that was also a sofa bed was comfortable to relax on. The Bathroom was of a high standard and thoughtfully laid out. There was a separate toilet and bidet, shower, and bath and sink. The bath was deep and the complimentary toiletries gave a luxury bubble bath. The shower had various massage heads and easily adjustable temperature gauges. The only difficulty with the shower was that the door was not well sealed so the mat and a number of towels had to be put down every time it was used. Another couple of problems occurred. One was the closet where the safe was . It had a very musty odour which just wouldn’t shift despite how much perfume I used trying to remove it. It is possible that it was from the blankets that were in there. I never got to the bottom of it but asked the chambermaid to remove them or change them.
The bed itself was quite comfy, but the pillows very uncomfortable. I ended up using the cushions to bolster my head.
Our room actually overlooked the pool which was beautiful in the night the looking at the water and lights. Surprisingly in the daytime when the pool was busy, the noise level was not noticeable to be an issue. The patio was spacious and shady to sit out all day, and cool enough to chill out in the evenings and night time.
Tea and Coffee facilities were available, along with water. This was topped up daily. Although there was a fridge in the room there was no mini bar and no sweets or biscuits. There was a never ending supply of nuts at all the bars as ‘finger snacks’ but little else. This is a shame especially as the hotel is billed as being 5*.

Dining
The food over the whole holiday was of very good quality, fresh and varied. As we were at the end of main season we didn't have to queue at any of the food stations. A massive mention to show Chef CHRISTIAN. So friendly, helpful and his grilling was second to none. Fish always cooked through but succulent and seasoned, the meats and poultry, tender and cooked to your order. CHRISTIAN was a very observant show Chef, he got to know his regulars whether breakfast, lunch, or dinner. When he was not on shift the fresh grill area did not have the same vibrancy. His colleague Chefs did not have that same vibe or confidence. CHRISTIAN is a very hard act to follow but for the purpose of impressions and ratings the hotel needs to train other chefs to have the same confident style. I am a non meat eater but the choices of fish and fish dishes was an absolute bonus.

The main dining area was always tidy even though it was buzzing, tables cleared so quickly, wine or drinks orders placed on the table at request. The waiters and waitresses all did a great job but an extra special mention for the friendliest, nimblest, efficient and always smiling waitress NANCY. What an absolute asset to Gran Tagoro dining experience. NANCY shone way above every other waiter and waitress. Uniform impeccable along with her big smile which never changed throughout the very long and busy shift. Nothing was too much for NANCY always polite, checking if everything was ok and keeping her area pristine. A few more restaurants could learn from having staff like NANCY.

Spa
A trip to the on-site Spa and meeting a very patient friendly and helpful PENELOPE. Although my Spanish was limited, PENELOPE's English was certainly not. A full explanation about the Spa circuit was so helpful. We enjoyed all the facilities in the spa except the steam room which unfortunately was not working. The plunge pool hot and cold pools was challenging. I was only able to manage 8 minutes in the Sauna! The main pool was a wonderful temperature and included jacuzzi, jet nozzles as well as a wonderful massaging water feature.
We treated ourself to massages the next day. It was slightly pricey but well worth the spend. I had a Cleopatra, my husband had the Zeus. Both included body scrubs, massages, chocolate body wraps, head massage as well as full facial. The ambience was relaxing and the music had you drifting into total relaxation. A great experience as the masseuses tailored the depth of massage to the request I made.

Adults Only Zone This was a wonderful chilling area. We were able to get our chairs and the mats as well as sun umbrellas everyday without any problem. The bar in this zone tender was very funny and friendly. In this area you found you were making friends at the bar, and exchanging, shopping and clubbing tips outside of the hotel. The pools and Jacuzzis were a comfortable temperature, and we chose to stay in this area. We did start off in the main pool area in the other side, but as we hadn’t gone with children we changed our hang out.

Bars
All the bars within the hotel were run by very friendly and efficient staff, always very busy. Drinks were fine, however they did struggle with cocktails and were not able to offer Any alcohol free cocktails when asked. That might be something that Hotel Management would like to consider training staff on and not having so much of the pre-packed/machine cocktails.

Overall
The gardens are well landscaped and very clean. All public areas were free of any litter, glasses etc. All the porters, chambermaids, grounds men, pool cleaners etc. greeted you cheerily, regardless of the time of day or night. The overall impression was that staff enjoyed working here, and prided themselves working in this beautiful environment.
I would highly recommend this hotel for their decor, welcoming, ambiance, and beautiful location.


Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
5  Thank CEE1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CalidadDreamplace, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2017

Dear CEE1962,

It is such a great honour for us to receive comments like yours. We really appreciate your kind words about the recent experience at our Gran Tagoro, an amazing 5* resort in Lanzarote, right in front of the fabulous beach promenade. Furthermore, thank you for taking part of your precious time to share this detailed review with us and the entire community of TripAdvisor and letting all readers know about your fantastic stay.

First of all, we are grate to know that you had a nice welcome at our hotel and that you were positively impressed by the fantastic service you received. On this matter, we would like to express how proud we feel knowing that our entire team has been able to meet your requests and exceed your expectation offering you the best: the quality and the professionalism of our team are indeed very important factors for us, at the reception desk, as well as in all other departments of our hotels.

We are happy to know that you liked your room and found it spacious and well-equipped. The design, layout and sheer space found in every one of our rooms makes them perfect for families, however, we also have adult-only options in specially designated quiet zones of the hotel if our guests are looking for an extra relaxing break as a couple.

Regarding this matter, please accept our deepest apologies for the unpleasant inconveniences and, most of all, for not being able to settle them during your stay. We feel very saddened about it and would like to ensure you that we will immediately share your comments with our direction in order to make sure these situations will not occur again.

Furthermore, it is a pleasure to hear that you took delight of our adult only area: an exclusive pool area for adult, which offers a space with jacuzzi, two massage beds and a lounge area, where you can receive treatments with your partner, and of course the Vitanova Spa, which you liked so much… the perfect opportunity to make you feel wonderful, both in mind and body!

Once again, thank you for this comment and for recommending us, but not less important thank you for all suggestions! We truly appreciate your willing to help us to get better.

We cannot wait to see you soon and provide you with another amazing vacation at our Gran Tagoro, in the beautiful Lanzarote.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2017 via mobile

Definitely not 5 star. Food was ok. Drinks good. Pools are good one for everyone. Rooms were nice. Very clean. Staff friendly. Beach horrible no sand. Lovely port amazing. Would go back no board tho. We went all inclusive and snack bar rubbish breakfast ok dinner never ate once as too many nice restaurants in the port

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
4  Thank 78tittenhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CalidadDreamplace, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2017

Dear 78tittenhan,

On behalf of Gran Tagoro team, would like to thank you for sharing your experience in our hotel with us on TripAdvisor.

First of all, we would like to express our sadness to read that we were not able to exceed your general expectations in our hotel. However, we hope that you could enjoy your well-deserved rest with us in Lanzarote.

It is a pleasure to know that our staff contributed into making your holiday better, as well as that you liked your spacious room and our common areas. Despite of this, we feel sorry to hear that we were not able to meet all your requests and, therefore, please accept our deepest apologies.

We warmly invite you to give us another opportunity to regain your confidence showing you our improvements and providing you with a fantastic stay with us at our Gran Tagoro once again.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Blanca
2.2 km away
Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort
1 km away
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
#7 of 37 in Playa Blanca
4,022 reviews
19 km away
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
#28 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
3,984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 km away
H10 Lanzarote Princess
H10 Lanzarote Princess
#14 of 37 in Playa Blanca
5,587 reviews
10.9 km away
Hesperia Lanzarote
Hesperia Lanzarote
#2 of 4 in Puerto Calero
5,240 reviews
2 km away
Hotel Hesperia Lanzarote Playa Dorada
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun

Address: Calle la Hoya de Afre 2, 35580 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain (Formerly Dream Gran Castillo Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Playa Blanca
#5 Green Hotel in Playa Blanca
#6 Spa Hotel in Playa Blanca
#6 Romantic Hotel in Playa Blanca
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Blanca
#11 Luxury Hotel in Playa Blanca
Price Range: ₹ 12,500 - ₹ 25,389 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun 5*
Number of rooms: 327
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Like a grand castle which majestically dominates the seascape of the AtlanticOcean and its islands, the magnificent GRAN CASTILLO TAGORO is erected in the charming area of Playa Blanca, in the south of the volcanic isle par excellence: Lanzarote. With the conviction that elegance and comfort should come naturally, this Hotel is a tribute to 16th century Canary history and colonial architecture, inspired by the "Castle of San José" and the typical landscape of the island, blending in with the environment. The building is divided into different zones which maintain their colonial style, where the white facades and volcanic stone contrast with the backdrop of the deep blue ocean. A charming interior courtyard of Arab inspiration bathes the reception area with light, and the contemporary décor and pale colours create a warm and very elegant atmosphere. GRAN CASTILLO TAGORO pampers every detail of the rooms and suites, which have breathtaking views of the sea and surrounding scenery. They are decorated in a contemporary style, with marine touches, light-coloured wood and pale colours, creating a pleasant atmosphere full of light. The discerning selection of restaurants and cuisines serve Canary, national and international specialities. There are conference rooms featuring spearhead technology, and various outdoor zones for events of different kinds. The "Vitanova SPA" thalassotherapy centre provides the benefits of thermal seawater, and specific treatments for the body and soul. The Hotel features a wide range of facilities and services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Dreamplace Hotels & Resorts SL so you can book your Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dream Gran Castillo Hotel Playa Blanca
Dream Castillo Papagayo Lanzarote
Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca, Lanzarote

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing