We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still as good as the first time we stayed here”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun
Ranked #13 of 37 Hotels in Playa Blanca
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 11 October 2017

This is the 4th time we have stayed here. We had a sea view room in the castle. It was easy to get to everywhere from here, the adult chill out zone, the swimming pools, dining and bar. Everywhere was very clean and the staff were very friendly and helpfull. There was a good variety of food for all meals. The grounds were very neat and tidy. The room was very, omfortable and spacious.

Room Tip: We like a sea view, high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CalidadDreamplace, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2017

Dear Jean B,

From the entire team of Gran Tagoro, thank you for choosing us once again and for sharing this wonderful review about your recent stay with us on TripAdvisor.

We feel very proud to know that we could exceed your expectations once again and provide you with a fantastic experience meeting all your requests and desires. On this matter, we would like to point that our staff does their very best to make everything great during our guests’ stay: therefore, we truly appreciate your kind compliments about them.

Furthermore, it is a pleasure to know that you still love our facilities and could take delight of them. We offer, indeed, 11 different pools, all of them heated (except one) and of course many areas for our little guests, as well as adults only zones.

We would like to have the opportunity to welcome you once again at Gran Tagoro and continue providing the most memorable vacations.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (6,026)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

135 - 139 of 6,026 reviews

Reviewed 11 October 2017 via mobile

We have just returned from a ten day family holiday and couldn't have asked for anything better. The hotel, the room, the food, the service, the pools, absolutely everything was fantastic and couldn't be faulted. We had such a fantastic time and would recommend to anyone wanting a family holiday in a top location in a top hotel.
From the moment we arrived to the moment we left, we were made to feel very welcome, the staff are fabulous and are on hand whenever and wherever you need them.
Highly recommended and well worthy of its five stars.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Amber M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CalidadDreamplace, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2017

Dear Amber M,

On behalf of Gran Tagoro, feel very honoured to receive here on TripAdvisor such an amazing comment about your recent stay at our resort.

We truly appreciate your open and kind words about our hotel and feel overjoyed to know that you had a great family holiday with us in Lanzarote.

Thank you for mentioning all our facilities such as pools areas and spacious rooms. Most of all, thank you for the wonderful compliments about our staff. They will feel very proud to know that they succeeded in their aim, which is to make our guests feel very special, from their arrival until the end of their vacation.

Finally, from the entire team of Gran Tagoro, thank you for your recommendation; it would be of a great satisfaction to provide you with another superb holiday.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2017

We loved the room, really big, one of the biggest we have been in and really lovely, also beautiful sea views. The staff were very attentive and polite, always willing to help in all the bars 4 in total and also in the restaurant. Food - Plenty of choice and food was excellent. There were some lovely walks nearby. There was an adults bar and pool area but only stayed open until 18.00 hours. The hotel does need an adult bar for the evening as there was a lot of couples who have made the same comments regarding a separate area with no children being around them and for them to be able to relax on an evening; there were a lot of children on this stay. We saw there was an area on the top part of the castle within the hotel which would make an excellent area for couples or just one of the many bars which are there to be changed to an adult bar only. This was an excellent hotel in every way and one of the best we have stayed in. We would love to return to this hotel however until there is a separate bar area for adults only sadly we will not be returning......

Room Tip: Sea views are a must; always best to book
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CalidadDreamplace, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2017

Dear Lisa S,

It is a great pleasure for all of us at Gran Tagoro to receive wonderful comments like yours. Thank you for your willing to take part of your precious time to share your recent stay with us and the community of TripAdvisor.

We feel very proud to read that we could meet all your requests and that we could contribute to your fantastic holiday in the beautiful Lanzarote. As you already mentioned, our hotel has a beautiful location: it is situated in the area of Playa Blanca, which is indeed an ideal place for those who like going for an excursion or discovering the island's attractions and still have some nice shops, cafés and restaurants in the area nearby.

Furthermore, we are glad to read that you appreciated our installations and, for sure, took delight of our several attractions and pools, as well as of our four different restaurants and bars.

We feel overjoyed to read that you consider our hotel one of the best you have ever stayed in and would, therefore, beg you to feel sure that we truly appreciate your suggestion and will take it in consideration for future improvements.

We really hope to have the opportunity to see you soon at our Gran Tagoro for another excellent experience in Lanzarote.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2017 via mobile

So, here again, right now, as we speak. While I remember. Cool evenings, late 20s for temperature during the day.

Hotel have added an extension to the restaurant. But that’s all it is. Nice looking new eatery, but no food area to tickle those taste buds. In essence, unless really busy, then you probably wouldn’t sit there, as bit of a walk with a plate of food to sit and eat at table. Less if a selection of food this year due to revamp if restaurant.

As this is our 4th time, like last time, we were given an accommodation upgrade. Nice touch. A much bigger room and appears to hold the section to the accommodation WIFi, needless to say, excellent WiFi in our room.

Having been here before, in a similarly upgraded room, in this suit, the TV ‘s are fairly small for the size of room, unlike last time. I know it could be argued, “YOUR ON HOLLIDAY, IN THE SUN. WHY DO YOU NEED A TV? Shower time or night in, cause little ones not well, a bigger TV would be bettor. Basically, all I’m saying is, the bigger the accommodation, the bigger the TV needs to be.

Pool closure, a major incident as some someone’s child did a number 2 in the pool. Funny really, a slight inconvenience for some, the end of the world for others. I’d rather not be swallowing a poo, close it all you like.

As always staff are very happy to please, nothing is too much trouble. Our fridge wasn’t working, so at 2 pm mentioned it to reception, by 6pm, new fridge installed.

So some slight differences from over the years, all in all. The ultimate question being? Would I recommend. Absolutely. For me and my wife it’s like a second home. Things change and usually for good reason. We live it here, come visit. I doubt you’ll be disappointed.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank DannyBlah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CalidadDreamplace, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2017

Dear DannyBlah,

From the entire team of Gran Tagoro, thank you for choosing us as your holiday destination once again. We truly appreciate your willing to share your wonderful experience with us and the community of TripAdvisor.

We feel very happy to know that we could exceed your expectation and meet all your requests once again. Most of all, it is a pleasure to know that you appreciated your upgraded room: we really love to pamper our guests and make them feel like royalty during their stay, from the beginning until the end.

Furthermore, thank you for recognizing our staff’s work! They all do their best in order to offer a very high standard service. We will share your nice words with them and can assure you that they will feel more than happy to know that their efforts have been produtive.

Last but not least, we would like to let you know that we truly appreciate your suggestion and will share it with the direction of our hotel in order to take it into consideration for future improvements.

Thank you for stating that you would absolutely recommend us. We truly hope to see you soon and provide you with a 5th wonderful experience at our Gran Tagoro.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2017 via mobile

This is easily one of the best hotels I’ve visited in Europe!
The hotel rooms are huge, very clean, amazing bathrooms.
Lovely grounds, good big pools.
Food and drinks are good. Right next to the beach!
Would definitely go back.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank thedans8790
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CalidadDreamplace, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2017

Dear thedans8790,

Thank you for sharing your lovely feedback about our Gran Tagoro on TripAdvisor and for stating that our hotel is one of the best you have ever experienced; your affirmation is indeed a great motivation!

We feel overjoyed to know that you had such a brilliant experience from the beginning to the end, as we all work very hard in order to provide our guests the very best services.

Thank you for recognizing our efforts. We are happy to know that you would definitely return and, therefore, we assure you that we will do our best to make you spend a beautiful time at our Gran Tagoro once again.

Kindest regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Blanca
2.2 km away
Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort
1 km away
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
#7 of 37 in Playa Blanca
4,025 reviews
19 km away
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
#28 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
3,991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 km away
H10 Lanzarote Princess
H10 Lanzarote Princess
#14 of 37 in Playa Blanca
5,588 reviews
10.9 km away
Hesperia Lanzarote
Hesperia Lanzarote
#2 of 4 in Puerto Calero
5,243 reviews
2 km away
Hotel Hesperia Lanzarote Playa Dorada
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun

Address: Calle la Hoya de Afre 2, 35580 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain (Formerly Dream Gran Castillo Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Playa Blanca
#5 Family Hotel in Playa Blanca
#6 Spa Hotel in Playa Blanca
#6 Romantic Hotel in Playa Blanca
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Blanca
#11 Luxury Hotel in Playa Blanca
Price Range: ₹ 12,767 - ₹ 25,470 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun 5*
Number of rooms: 327
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Like a grand castle which majestically dominates the seascape of the AtlanticOcean and its islands, the magnificent GRAN CASTILLO TAGORO is erected in the charming area of Playa Blanca, in the south of the volcanic isle par excellence: Lanzarote. With the conviction that elegance and comfort should come naturally, this Hotel is a tribute to 16th century Canary history and colonial architecture, inspired by the "Castle of San José" and the typical landscape of the island, blending in with the environment. The building is divided into different zones which maintain their colonial style, where the white facades and volcanic stone contrast with the backdrop of the deep blue ocean. A charming interior courtyard of Arab inspiration bathes the reception area with light, and the contemporary décor and pale colours create a warm and very elegant atmosphere. GRAN CASTILLO TAGORO pampers every detail of the rooms and suites, which have breathtaking views of the sea and surrounding scenery. They are decorated in a contemporary style, with marine touches, light-coloured wood and pale colours, creating a pleasant atmosphere full of light. The discerning selection of restaurants and cuisines serve Canary, national and international specialities. There are conference rooms featuring spearhead technology, and various outdoor zones for events of different kinds. The "Vitanova SPA" thalassotherapy centre provides the benefits of thermal seawater, and specific treatments for the body and soul. The Hotel features a wide range of facilities and services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Dreamplace Hotels & Resorts SL so you can book your Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dream Gran Castillo Hotel Playa Blanca
Dream Castillo Papagayo Lanzarote
Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca, Lanzarote

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing