We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun
Ranked #15 of 37 Hotels in Playa Blanca
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 9 October 2017

I have to write a quick review about this fantastic hotel . We have stayed here seven times now but I must say we have just had a weeks break and the food as improved so much , the choice is unbelievable . The cleaning crue do a wonderful job , I can not fault anything , the recepeption staff were more than helpful on arrival brill !! . All the staff in the sports bar remembered us which made the difference and to top it off the weather was pleasant , see you next year the joiners

Room Tip: Sea view is so nice to have
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank david j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CalidadDreamplace, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2017

Dear david j,

We are very happy to receive your wonderful review about your recent stay at our Gran Tagoro here on TripAdvisor. Most of all, we feel very proud to know that you chose us as your holiday destination once again. Thank you!

Furthermore, we are very glad to hear that you liked our culinary offer and noticed some differences. We always take our guests’ opinions into consideration and share them with our direction so that the necessary improvements can be made. We appreciate that you mentioned it.

From the entire team of Gran Tagoro, we already look forward to seeing you next year and provide you with another superb experience with us.

Kindest regards and see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (6,063)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More languages

171 - 175 of 6,063 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2017

We arrived back 6/10/17 it was a short break last minute booking myself and my husband,we travelled early hours so had no real sleep the night before! Got to the hotel before 2.00pm so our room wasn't ready so they half checked us in took our details and was offered drinks We sat and waiting then was called to the desk and given the wristbands told we could go and eat and look round the hotel and we would be called when the room was ready! When we did get into our room we were pleasantly surprised the room was spacious walk in wardrobe huge bathroom, lovely room the food was great with good choice of salads and fish,meat was cooked fresh drinks service was excellent to. The whole staff throughout the Hotel were very friendly and welcoming that although my husband and I never usually visit the same place twice I would definitely like to return and take the grandchildren! Thank you Gran Castillo Tagoro Brilliant Stay

Stayed: October 2017
2  Thank sharon d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CalidadDreamplace, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2017

Dear sharon d,

It is wonderful for us to read here on TripAdvisor such a fantastic comment about your recent stay at our Gran Tagoro.

It makes us very happy to know that you had a nice arrival and that you liked your room so much. We offer indeed many different rooms and they are all very spacious and provide everything our guests could need during their stay.

Furthermore, thank you for mentioning our culinary offer: we will share you nice compliments with our kitchen department. Feel sure that they will be more than proud to know that their efforts have been productive.

Once again, thank you for these kind and open words. We are glad to know that you would definitely like to come back again at our Gran Tagoro. We look forward to seeing you soon!

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2017 via mobile

Let’s get this right, this hotel is not 5 star. Just because it has a spa amongst other amenities might make it 5 but if you compare this hotel to Ikos Olivia for example, then Ikos should be 8 star.

Starting with the food. Before I came I was informed that the food wasn’t great, I’d hoped that maybe this person was wrong or it had improved? The buffet was below standard. There are only about 6 areas that have few choices of food. If you ask for tea the waiters bring you hot milk, if you want cold, they tell you to find where the cold milk is and fill the jug yourself.

Lunch and dinner, again, nothing special and meats are chewy. If you want to eat at the Chinese or Italian then you can’t go more than once? Strange.

We went with 2 children, ages 1 and 4. I’ve left my children in other hotel clubs before for 2 hours in the morning. I did the same here but the baby club has only one member of staff and at one time there were 5 children in there aged under 3. If one was crying the lady would attend to that child but leave the others and then they would cry too. Toys were old or not working. I’m pretty sure it would be illegal in England. Therefore my child never went back after one visit. The photos on the website of the kids club for ages 4 and up show tables, chairs, lots going on. There is only 2 or 3 staff members in that area, it’s not their fault, they do a grand job but there were no chairs or tables set out. Kids did artwork every day, nothing else. There is a mini disco at night and I think this is the best thing the hotel do, for kids and adults both, it’s thoroughly entertaining.

We stayed in a family room, can’t fault how spacious it was, plenty of room to put your suitcases and not get in the way.

Entertainment around the pool was non existent. Some music, table tennis tables are a good idea. No waiters/waitresses coming round to to take a drink’s order, you have to get that yourself.

Whole complex needs a paint job. Owners need to rethink their entertainment plans, if people have complained constantly about food then maybe it needs to change?

I certainly won’t be coming back here again. I would have gone to the Ikos Olivia or Sensatori Crete but their prices have now gone astronomically high, so where next?

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
7  Thank mike11798
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CalidadDreamplace, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2017

Dear mike11798,

Thank you for your detailed review about your family holiday in our Gran Tagoro that you shared with us on TripAdvisor. It is very important for us to interact with our guests and to take note about their comments and suggestions in order to improve our services. Therefore, we really appreciate your willing to share with us your opinion and help us to get better.

First of all, we would like to express how saddened we feel to read that our culinary offer was not your for your taste and we do truly apologize for this reason. It is difficult to satisfy every taste but, as you already mentioned, we do try by offering three types of restaurants (Italian, Oriental and International Buffet). On this matter, we would like to point out that they are always available to our guests, with no limits of visits, provided that you reserve a place on time.

Furthermore, we are sorry to know that you could not take advantage of our baby and kids club because they were not as expected. Moreover, please accept our deepest apologies if you had the impression that there was a shortage of staff. We appreciate your opinion and will share it with the direction of the hotel to check the situation and take the necessary measures, such as recruiting new staff.

We beg for your pardon for not being able to satisfy your requests and exceed your expectation once again. We can assure you that we really would not like to keep you with this feeling about us, so we warmly invite you to give us another chance and come back to our Gran Tagoro soon. We will be more than happy to show you all our improvements.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2017 via mobile

We have visited the Gran Castillo every year since 2013 and we always found all the staff very friendly, the rooms comfortable and the food of a good quality and variety. Our last stay was no exception and we will plan to visit again soon.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank tr1mark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CalidadDreamplace, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2017

Dear tr1mark,

We all feel very honoured reading that you had such a great stay at our Gran Tagoro once again! Thank you for chosing us year after year and for sharing your wonderful experience with us on TripAdvisor.

It is always a pleasure to have the opportunity to welcome back loyal guests like you and, most of all, to exceed always their expectations of the hotel, providing them a fantastic vacation, even better then the previous ones.

So thank you for trusting us! We feel overjoyed to read that you will visit our Gran Tagoro again soon!

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2017 via mobile

This hotel has a 4 plus/5 star rating, because they have a spa,
Take the spa away and it’s barely a
3 star. On the subject of the “spa” it wasn’t 5 star quality more like you’re local authority leisure centre.
With the exception of a handful of staff we came in contact with, ( Grit, Valentino, adult pool staff & porters.
The staff were disengaged or just unhelpful. One blonde female member of bar staff in the sports bar blanked my husband & wouldn’t acknowledge him. But fell over the Spanish guests! Overall this hotel may have been nice once & warranted their star rating, but now it needs a lot of work if they want to keep it going forward!
It’s tired, worn, badly managed!!
We actually upgraded our AI package to the premium which wasn’t cheap. However what it actually gave you wasn’t really worth it as all the AI hotels in the Caribbean & Rest of the world I’ve been too offer this as standard AI.
They seem to be desperate to cutting corners & costs wherever they can!!

Room on the fourth floor of the castle part of the hotel. Overlooking the sea.
Large spacious, almost a suite, clean on arrival. Even though it’s a novelty & had a sea view, the balcony felt like a dark cave. So if you like sitting & getting the last dregs of the sun then you’ll be disappointed!
Bedroom Decor was shabby, large scuff marks on the walls, bed linen dated & minimal. Actual bed was uncomfortable, but pillows helped to combat that, you can pick from a choice of fillings.
Bedroom house keeping poor! Had the same Bed linen on for three days, I noticed as I had fell asleep with my makeup on one night and it was still there 2 days later! Floor wasn’t cleaned properly very dusty and grimy! Went to tell reception, however all they said was they would log the complaint with housekeeping!! No-one came to rectify it either! That was the general impression we got from the staff if you mentioned or queried something then they didn’t seem bothered!

Buffet restaurant at most 3 star.
Lots of food but, almost everything had fish in!! It was the same dishes everyday with the exception of adding 1 new dish a day. Really needs to be balanced, maybe theme nights it just wasn’t great & what you’d expect! I’m a vegetarian & I struggled to eat here as even the salads had meat or fish in!!!!

Ok but a bit of lame attempt, you could only order your main dish as everything else was buffet soup or meat salad.

Very accommodating, would tweak the dish, staff were lovely in there. Food tasted great although we were poorly that night vomiting etc! I hope it wasn’t the meal, as we really enjoyed it.

Lots of choice, adults only pool was private, nice and peaceful.
All seemed to be salt water which is fine but needed to be slightly heated just to take the edge off how cold they were. Jacuzzi’s were lush, like taking a warm Bath.
The pools were kept immaculately clean.
Pool towels are supplied & are nice & big, but trying to change them was a pain as they were only open an hour in AM & PM. Life guards were visible but not really doing the role, we saw one guy serving behind the bar his whole shift & another painting the lights around the pool!

Was actually quite decent! There were pool activities, lots for the kids throughout the day & night.
Adult entertainment was mainly singers from out side but were decent acts.

Be warned!...... we asked to extend our room 48 hours before at a cost of €50, they kept Telling us to come back and check! In the end it was the evening before we were due to leave when they told us we couldn’t. However we could have a complimentary ROOM for an hour to freshen up and shower.
So we booked 4-5pm. We checked again in the morning and they hadn’t booked it at all!! so Grit kindly rebooked it in the same time slot.
Come 4pm we get told the room is at the spa! So off we trot in searing heat with our case over to the other side of the hotel, to find out the Complimentary ROOM we had, was actually the locker room in the spa!!! Which was dirty, the door to the pool wouldn’t stay shut so men could see straight in to women’s changing room, which by the way was hotter that it was outside by the pool! If we had known this we would have showered etc before our 12 noon checkout!!! Really not acceptable!
We complained at the reception but they really weren’t interested as they said it was complimentary!!!! The fact was, they misrepresented what they were offering! Again so unhelpful & really poor customer service! Not what you’d want just before your trip home!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Peanutz2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CalidadDreamplace, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2017

Dear Peanutz2015,

From the entire team of Gran Tagoro, we would like to express our thankfulness for sharing this detailed review about your recent stay at our hotel with us on TripAdvisor, even if it was not as expected.

We are extremely concerned to know about your disappointing experience and, therefore, we would like to apologize for any inconveniences that you may have had. Please feel sure that your opinion as a customer is very important for us and we will take it seriously into consideration. Comments like yours help us indeed to improve our standards of quality.

Please accept our deepest apologies for not being able to satisfy you with the quality and variety of food. Nevertheless, we can assure you that in all our restaurants, our chefs are working with the highest quality and the most freshly ingredients to offer the best to our guests. As the well-being of our guests is of great importance to us, we want to make sure that everyone is provided with the best service all the time. Therefore, we sincerely apologize if this was not the case.

On this matter, we are sorry to hear that our exclusive all-inclusive board was not for your liking, despite this option actually includes a lot of extras, like best brands of alcoholic beverages, premium wine card available with all the meals, free daily access to Spa Vitanova, free 20 minute massage per person for a 7 night stay, access to the exclusive area for only adults with Bali beds and so much more.

Furthermore, we feel saddened to know that you did not enjoy your room because of the impression that it was not cleaned properly, but we can assure you our staff is working really hard to keep the hotel very clean, not only the rooms, but also our common areas. However, thank you for informing us about the unpleasant situation you had to face, we will immediately contact our direction and let them personally inspect the circumstances.

Please accept our deepest apologies for all small inconveniences you had and, most of all, for having had a negative impression of us during your check out. There are no words to express our disappointment in reading the details about the behavior of our staff in all occasions you mentioned. We can ensure you that our main aim is to satisfy our guests meeting all their requests, since their delight is for us a great motivation. We feel very saddened about it and assure you that we will take the necessary measures to make situations like this not happen again.

Once again, please accept our apologies for all these unpleasant situations. We truly appreciate your willing to share with us your opinion and suggestions and consider them as a great opportunity to improve the service we offer in our Gran Tagoro. We will share them with our direction, as well as with the departments involved and do our best in order to make you change your mind about us in a future stay.

Yours sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Blanca
2.2 km away
Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort
19 km away
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
#37 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
4,048 reviews
1 km away
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
#9 of 37 in Playa Blanca
4,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 km away
H10 Lanzarote Princess
H10 Lanzarote Princess
#16 of 37 in Playa Blanca
5,645 reviews
10.9 km away
Hesperia Lanzarote
Hesperia Lanzarote
#2 of 4 in Puerto Calero
5,299 reviews
2 km away
Hotel Hesperia Lanzarote Playa Dorada
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun

Address: Calle la Hoya de Afre 2, 35580 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain (Formerly Dream Gran Castillo Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Playa Blanca
#5 Family Hotel in Playa Blanca
#6 Romantic Hotel in Playa Blanca
#6 Spa Hotel in Playa Blanca
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Blanca
#13 Luxury Hotel in Playa Blanca
Price Range: ₹ 12,013 - ₹ 25,455 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun 5*
Number of rooms: 327
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Like a grand castle which majestically dominates the seascape of the AtlanticOcean and its islands, the magnificent GRAN CASTILLO TAGORO is erected in the charming area of Playa Blanca, in the south of the volcanic isle par excellence: Lanzarote. With the conviction that elegance and comfort should come naturally, this Hotel is a tribute to 16th century Canary history and colonial architecture, inspired by the "Castle of San José" and the typical landscape of the island, blending in with the environment. The building is divided into different zones which maintain their colonial style, where the white facades and volcanic stone contrast with the backdrop of the deep blue ocean. A charming interior courtyard of Arab inspiration bathes the reception area with light, and the contemporary décor and pale colours create a warm and very elegant atmosphere. GRAN CASTILLO TAGORO pampers every detail of the rooms and suites, which have breathtaking views of the sea and surrounding scenery. They are decorated in a contemporary style, with marine touches, light-coloured wood and pale colours, creating a pleasant atmosphere full of light. The discerning selection of restaurants and cuisines serve Canary, national and international specialities. There are conference rooms featuring spearhead technology, and various outdoor zones for events of different kinds. The "Vitanova SPA" thalassotherapy centre provides the benefits of thermal seawater, and specific treatments for the body and soul. The Hotel features a wide range of facilities and services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Dreamplace Hotels & Resorts SL so you can book your Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dream Gran Castillo Hotel Playa Blanca
Dream Castillo Papagayo Lanzarote
Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca, Lanzarote

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing