We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful Getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Fuerte Conil - Costa Luz
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Gibraltar
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Peaceful Getaway”
Reviewed 19 May 2012

We booked this hotel on the recommendation of a work colleague. Over the years we have stayed in various hotels of this category all over the Costa del Sol, where you felt as if they were doing you a favour by your staying there and didn't seem too bothered whether you came back or not. We were very pleasantly surprised at the level of courtesy and service we received, all the staff, without exception, went out of their way to be helpful and make us welcome. It was refreshing to receive some so-called old fashioned service, and with a smile too.
Although a modern hotel, we liked the traditional style of decor and the feeling of space and tranquility. At check-in, which was quick and efficient, we asked for and received a quiet room at the back overlooking the lawn. The room was spacious with a flatscreen TV with Sky & BBC channels and a mini bar, although was half empty on arrival; guess would have to request it being stocked if required. The bathroom was likewise spacious and impeccably clean as was the rest of the hotel including public areas and restrooms. The room safe was the best ever encountered, card operated, no need to punch in codes.
The hotel is arranged in two phases, the Fuerte Conil and the Fuerte Costa Luz, both interconnected with mature gardens and swimming pools. Guests have access to all the amenities of both hotels and both are equally attractive in their own way.
The swimming pools were particularly attractive in that there were not hundreds of sun loungers side by side as in other hotels, rather they were arranged on lawns on different levels, so you could find your own ideal quiet spot if you so desired. There were pools for little ones as well as for adults.
Night entertainment was excellent, with some very professional artists. Regarding the food, we take this very seriously and we found the quality and variety very impressive, freshly cooked in front of you as well as an extensive buffet to suit all tastes.
On the first evening at dinner we must have detained one of the waitresses a little too long with a question because we noticed the Maitre di’ subsequently speaking with her to find out if there was problem. Within ten minutes, a very pleasant young lady called Maria from Customer Relations was at our table to satisfy any queries we may have had. It was only out of interest we asked a question, but it gave us confidence that had we had a real problem or been unhappy with something, it would have been addressed immediately.
Our compliments to the hotel management for a very well run hotel. Will we return? Most definitely, yes!

Room Tip: Any special requests, such as double bed as opposed to twin beds, ask at time of booking. Hotel will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rockmonkeys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abasallote, Gerente at Hotel Fuerte Conil - Costa Luz, responded to this review, 24 May 2012
Dear Guest,

first of all thanks for your commentaries. I am glad to know you enjoyed your stay with us. Our main aim is our guest's satisfaction so words like those make us happy with our job.

I would also like to pass you our Manager's gratitud on.

¡We will congratulate our team!

Kind regards to Gibraltar and ¡see you soon!

María Echeveste

Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,622 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,044
    431
    103
    23
    21
See reviews for
843
553
11
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012

Just spent the May bank holiday at this hotel. The Hotel is a very clean and well kept. The gardens are beautiful and swimming pools clean. Located slightly off the beach a very short walk though the gardens leads you to the beach (nice fish restaurant there). The beach is 18km long and so no cramped sun bathing like the Costa del Sol.
All staff were especially attentive, i had a problem with the mini bar not cooling properly, the maintenance man arrived in under 15min (I was shocked so quickly), but I was more shocked when he came back to check it was still cooling an hour later!. The receptionist even sent me up a small birthday present as she had noticed my DOB when checking-in.!!!

The hotel was not busy - a plus not a negative. We eat midday at the Beach bar at their sister hotel within the same complex (20E for both of us, 20% discount for guests), the breakfast was good and service first class

I would point out that along this coastline the hotels are rarely busy apart from mid summer (as was brought up in another post), so if you want a relaxing sun soaked holiday with miles of untouched beaches and historic areas of interest (Bolonia, Cadiz etc) and wonderful food come here. If you want Fish and Chips, packed beaches and high rise hotels then go elsewhere.
I will be back for sure

Room Tip: get a room number around the _80's (external facing one) . sun in the afternoon with a wonderful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TheGull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniobasallote, Director General at Hotel Fuerte Conil - Costa Luz, responded to this review, 8 May 2012
Dear Guest,

first of all I would like to thank you for your commentaries.

I am glad to know that enjoyed your stay at the Hotel Fuerte Costaluz.

You wil always be wellcome

King regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2012 via mobile

I'll come back again for sure. I really enjoyed my stay in Hotel El Fuerte. It's very well located, just 10 minutos from the city centre. Cosy rooms, nice and helpful staff and beautiful surroundings, at a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank alchemis777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniobasallote, Director General at Hotel Fuerte Conil - Costa Luz, responded to this review, 7 May 2012
Dear Guest,

first of all I would like to thank you for your commentaries. I am glad to know that you found the nice the located, rooms and our staff .

Our Guest's Satisfaction is very important for us.

Looking forward to see you again,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2012

This place is a beautiful resort on the coast of Spain outside busy Cadiz. We booked a double room front sea view and our view was very nice from the balcony. The room was spacious and very clean and quiet. Our only complaint was the mattress pad on the bed was not comfortable. We ate at the dinner buffet and the breakfast buffet. The selection was amazing at both and the food and service were very good.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CaliforniaCurli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniobasallote, Director General at Hotel Fuerte Conil - Costa Luz, responded to this review, 24 April 2012
Dear Guest,


first of all I would like to thank you for your commentaries. Our aim is the constant improvement that is why it is so important to know our guests' opinion. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed the room facilities and service, specially the balcony and food in Hotel Fuerte Conil

We appreciate your suggestion, we will take into account for next investments.

Looking forward to see you again

Antonio Basallote
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2012

My husband used this hotel as a 2 night stop over on our tour around Andalucia. On first seeing the hotel I was quiet horrified as it was part of an enormous complex. Fortunately as it was still early in the season and there weren't many guests fewer blocks of rooms were let out. I think it could be really noisy in the high season as it was bad enough when we were there. The restaurant also seemed to be straining under this capacity!

Our room was basic and rather cramped and although we had booked a front seaview room we did struggle to see the sea. I did not like the fact that we couldn't sit on the balcony without inhaling everyones cigarette smoke and if you left the door open it permeated in.

The reception staff at this hotel do try to be helpful and friendly, although this is lacking in the restaurant where we had to go and find someone just to take our wine order.

There is plenty of choice in the restaurant, although it would appear that the same sorts of things appear each day. Not sure that I would enjoy this if I had to stay here for a week as it would become very monotonous.

The area around Conil is interesting if you want to get out and explore the many wide and endless beaches.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ValSDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abasallote, Gerente at Hotel Fuerte Conil - Costa Luz, responded to this review, 19 April 2012
Dear Guest,


first of all I would like to thank you for your commentaries. Our aim is the constant improvement that is why it is so important to know our guests' opinion. We will work to offer a better service.

Kind regards,

Antonio Basallote
The Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Conil de la Frontera
0.4 km away
Conil Park Hotel
Conil Park Hotel
#7 of 26 in Conil de la Frontera
332 reviews
0.3 km away
Hipotels Gran Conil & Spa
Hipotels Gran Conil & Spa
#1 of 26 in Conil de la Frontera
801 reviews
8.1 km away
ILUNION Tartessus Sancti Petri Hotels
ILUNION Tartessus Sancti Petri H...
#5 of 10 in Novo Sancti Petri
1,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Hotel Costa Conil
Hotel Costa Conil
#13 of 26 in Conil de la Frontera
128 reviews
8.2 km away
Royal Hideaway Sancti Petri, part of Barcelo Hotel Group
Royal Hideaway Sancti Petri, par...
#2 of 10 in Novo Sancti Petri
1,725 reviews
1.0 km away
Hotel Pradillo Conil
Hotel Pradillo Conil
#3 of 26 in Conil de la Frontera
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fuerte Conil - Costa Luz? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fuerte Conil - Costa Luz

Property: Hotel Fuerte Conil - Costa Luz
Address: Av. de la Fontanilla S/N, 11140 Conil de la Frontera, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Costa de la Luz > Conil de la Frontera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Conil de la Frontera
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Conil de la Frontera
#2 Family Hotel in Conil de la Frontera
#2 Luxury Hotel in Conil de la Frontera
#3 Romantic Hotel in Conil de la Frontera
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,939 - ₹ 28,656
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Fuerte Conil - Costa Luz 4*
Number of rooms: 469
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Conil-Costa Luz Fuerte Resort is a tourist complex comprised of two buildings managed in an environmentally responsible way. Located right on the beach front at Fontanilla beach, ten minutes' walk from Conil, a typical fishing village. The hotel has 24.442 M2 of gardens and its gorgeous terraces and swimming pools boast sun loungers where guests can relax completely whilst enjoying panoramic views of the Atlantic Ocean and the typical golden beaches of the area. It is the ideal place to have a family holiday, both due to its privileged geographic location and the openness and hospitality of its people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fuerte Hoteles, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Fuerte Conil - Costa Luz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fuerte Conil Hotel
Hotel Fuerte Conil - Costa Luz Conil De La Frontera, Costa De La Luz, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing