We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Even more amazing than the movies”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Villa Curina Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Oregon
Level Contributor
152 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Even more amazing than the movies”
Reviewed 1 September 2011

We made an impromptu trip to Italy this May and had dreamed for years of seeing Sienna. With less than 2 weeks to plan, we knew we wanted to hit the Sienna region but didn't really know where to start. So, after scanning lots of reviews online, looking for a Villa close to Sienna with a pool and Tuscan style furnishings, we settled on Villa Curina. It was significantly less expensive than some of the really expensive famous ones, a little more than others, and it turned out to be PERFECT!

As we drove from Florence with two sets of directions and a GPS machine (all telling us slightly different directions), we began to worry a bit, as we wound through the hills. After driving the area, over a few days, we realized there were so many different routes, that any of those we had probably would've taken us there eventually.

Anyway, when we arrived, we were immediately taken into another world. It was not only beautiful but timeless with amazing details: rod iron mini tables setup overlooking the valley, opening windows and doors overlooking the pool and the valley, antique furnishings. And it was quiet, even though it sits next to the winding road. A 20 minute drive from Sienna, it was the perfect location.

I will also say that the food was amazing. I was expecting a continental style included breakfast, but it was a VERY complete and filing breakfast, typically filling us up until dinner, which was also amazing. We ate two nights at the on-site restaurant on covered patio overlooking the valley at sunset. The food was maybe the best we had in all of Italy, and the proprietor was so fun to chat with about food, Italy, etc. My mouth's watering as I type and think about it.

While the rooms were not "fancy" by Western hotel standards (super large beds and bathrooms), they were certainly comfortable and in keeping with the style of the Tuscan architecture. And, did I mention the views? You felt like it was your own villa. While I loved the site seeing, including some of the off the beaten towns the owner recommended, next time I'd make sure to have more down time to read by the beautifully landscaped garden and pool area. Villa Curina, we're sending all our friends, and hope to see you again!

Room Tip: Request the room that has doors opening from the bedroom over the pool and a bathroom overlooking th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travllovr521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

141 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    32
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
26
72
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2011

The Villa Curina was the perfect dream come true. We had a car and the Villa Curina was the center of all the action. Siena was 20 minutes, San Gimignano 1 hour, Montalcino 1 hour, Montelpulciano 1 hour, etc. The town of Castelnuovo Berardenga 6 minutes had great restaurants. We ate at the hotel restaurant one evening. Food was amazing, pricey, but worth it. Our room was incredible, it faced the hill side and when the women opened the shutters to show us the view all the way to Siena, tears came to my eyes, it was everything I dreamed it Tuscany would be. I can't say enough about this place except that we took more photos of the Villa Curina landscape and our room then some of the towns we visited. To find the resort which is really a Villa, the trick is to set your GPS for SP62, Curina and turn for signs for Curina. The Villa is NOT in Castelnuovo Berardenga exactly. Curina SP62 I believe it was mile marker 6. I fantasy dream come true at Villa Curina. The staff spoke english and were very helpful. I wish I was there right now!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendaeho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tucson
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2010

Beautiful old villa transports one to a quieter world. The countryside is beautiful as you gaze out the window. The service is outstanding and beyond. Great breakfast. Wonderful room, quiet, comfortable.
Great place to stay, away from the crowds of Siena, yet just a few minutes drive.

Do not miss the restaurant next door, Il Convito, it is AMAZING!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank desertjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2008

I booked two rooms for three nights at the Villa Curina, one single and one double occupancy room.

Rooms:
Both rooms overlooked the countryside and on a clear day you could see all the way to Siena. They were beautifully painted, rustic, nicely furnished and very clean. Both had an equally nice and clean bathroom as well as a mini bar (i.e. refrigerator for your own wine) and programmable safe. There were complimentary pool towels and slippers in the room and a very good TV with Italian, German and English channels.

Grounds/Pool: The grounds are very well maintained, very spacious. It is fun to just hang out at the pool or on terraces overlooking it or the countryside or to wander down into the olive grove and vineyards. The pool itself was nice and large but the water (in September) was too cold for me to get in also some guests did.

Staff: The staff of the resort was very nice and helpful and tried their best to make our stay enjoyable.

You can park the car outside the resort to unload it, then park it in the parking lot (free and owned by the resort) across the street.

Breakfast: There is a large breakfast bar with scrambled eggs (delicious), bacon, cereal, a selection of sweet rolls and breads, fruits, yogurt, juices, coffee, tea. Excellent.

Eating: There is a restaurant on the premises. It is owned by the son of the lady that owns the resort. It is a very nice restaurant and the food is good. However, I found the waiter (who happened to be the owner) overbearing and the prices too high for what was provided. It is all somewhat pretentious and I would not recommend this restaurant unless you have a lot of money to spend as the portions are small on huge plates at even huger prices. We did not enjoy this experience.

We asked for dining recommendations in Castelnuovo and they recommended a place called "La Vinsantaia". It was as unpleasant an experience as eating at their own restaurant as the waiter/owner? of that restaurant was overbearing and hovering, the food was good but the portions small and way overpriced. For example - A large dinner salad cost 12 euros (over $17).

We asked for a second recommendation the next day and were directed to the Bellegrino - a MUCH better choice - great place - head straight for it as you will not be disappointed.

Liked:
- Rooms and bathrooms are very comfortable, very clean, nice views, amenities
- Grounds (beautiful and relaxing)
- Breakfast was delicious
- Parking was easy and free
- Resort staff was very helpful and attentive

Disliked:
- The restaurant on the premises and the first restaurant recommendation (La Vinsentaia)
- The rooms are tiled and in September the floors can get quite cold (heating could not be turned on). Some of the lights were very dim.
- Kind of hard to find. There is a sign in Castelnovo pointing you in the right direction (if you see the sign) but it does not tell you that the resort is 6 KM outside of town.

Notes:
- Most of the rooms require climbing stairs (with high steps). If you have physical issues, that may be a problem.

  • Liked — Location in the countryside
  • Disliked — the resort's restaurant
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank augustleo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chadds Ford, PA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2008

Beautiful property. Fantastic views. Friendly, helpful staff. We have stayed at Villa Curina twice, and both stays were quite positive. The main building and grounds have an authentic, Tuscan quality to them. Villa Curina is essentially a small, country inn, with a nice pool and tennis court. The restaurant is a bit expensive, but worth the money. The menu includes a variety of Tuscan cuisine, the wine list is extensive, and the restaurant deck offers outstanding views of the countryside, with Sienna in the distance.

  • Liked — Scenery
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank GregSteph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castelnuovo Berardenga
9.3 km away
Borgo Scopeto Relais
Borgo Scopeto Relais
#1 of 1 in Vagliagli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
6.9 km away
Hotel Le Fontanelle
Hotel Le Fontanelle
#1 of 1 in Pianella
5.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
4.8 km away
Hotel Borgo San Felice
Hotel Borgo San Felice
#2 of 10 in Castelnuovo Berardenga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 km away
Castel Monastero
Castel Monastero
#4 of 10 in Castelnuovo Berardenga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
13.7 km away
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive ...
#1 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
5.0 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
20.8 km away
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort & Spa
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort &...
#1 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Curina Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Curina Resort

Property: Villa Curina Resort
Address: Localita Curina SNC, 53019, Castelnuovo Berardenga, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Castelnuovo Berardenga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Castelnuovo Berardenga
#6 Romantic Hotel in Castelnuovo Berardenga
Price range (per night): ₹ 13,016 - ₹ 30,877
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Curina Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Villa Curina Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Curina Hotel Castelnuovo Berardenga
Curina Hotel Castelnuovo Berardenga
Villa Curina Resort Castelnuovo Berardenga, Italy - Province Of Siena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing