We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and spacious hotel”
Review of Grand Hotel Sofia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Hotel Sofia
Ranked #12 of 33 Hotels in Noto
Reviewed 13 September 2017

This hotel is situated on the outskirts of Noto centre but with a 20 minutes walk one can go the cathedral of Noto. Closeby is a supermarket, within a walking distance. The rooms are very spacious, clean and all with a balcony where one can sit and have a drink. The pool is beautiful, we used it twice. The rooms are equipped with a minibar, and nice shower rooms. The beds are sooo comfortable. Another plus, is the delicious buffet breakfast, with lots of sicilian pastries. There is parking right in front of the hotel. It's extremely recommendable. We were a group of 19 people, my extended family and they were all of the same opinion. Its environment is very quiet.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ruth A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (533)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 533 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2017 via mobile

Don't get me wrong. I think we paid for a 3 star hotel and that's what we got.
But the furniture, the lack of a minibar, the bathroom fittings etc etc.........
3 stars ok but sorry can't say it is a 4 star location even though it is pretty new which seems to be a rarity in Sicily

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Rusty1402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2017

The hotel itself is nice, but could be anywhere in the world: there is nothing 'Italian' in it.

Positives: spacious, clean, and nice rooms. Nice staff at the reception.

Negatives: I would mention the restaurnt here. The food was quite featureless: no spices (not so much taste), no local specialities. The waiters could be characterised somewhere between neutral and unfriendly. There was a scent of snobbery in their attitude (however they have no reason for it: it is a medium class restaurant).

Nevertheless, the hotel can be a good choice if you would like to spend some time in Noto.

Room Tip: Have dinner in the town (not in the restaurant of the hotel).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Balazs D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2017

We stayed for three nights as part of a Saga tour of forty people. Our room was very clean and comfortable with a lovely balcony. The highlight was the genuine Sicilian food, this has apparently changed according to our guide and is not "international" food but local food, well prepared. As is often the case in Italy we had to order in advance from a limited menu for a big group but nevertheless the waiter service was good and the food was tasty and interesting. The bar service was excellent with two very cheerful friendly young ladies in charge.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Elizabeth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2017

I was part of a group of 40 & we stayed 3 nights. The hotel was quiet & the food good. The only bad part about the breakfast was the coffee, it comes in huge urns & is disgusting. I had to go to a cafe nearby each morning for a decent cup. Apart from that I enjoyed my stay. The hotel is very clean, the staff are helpful & there is a lovely girl who works in the bar, we always had drinks before dinner sitting outside the bar & the young girl could not do enough for you & also brought tasty snacks with the drinks.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sue f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Noto hotels
0.8 km away
Hotel Flora
Hotel Flora
#11 of 33 in Noto
348 reviews
1 km away
Gagliardi Boutique Hotel
0.9 km away
Hotel Porta Reale
Hotel Porta Reale
#1 of 33 in Noto
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 km away
AgriResidence Valle Degli Dei
4.5 km away
Jonio Hotel
Jonio Hotel
#14 of 33 in Noto
186 reviews
4.4 km away
Hotel La Corte del Sole
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Sofia? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Sofia

Address: Via Confalonieri s/n, 96017, Noto, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Syracuse > Noto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Noto
#6 Family Hotel in Noto
#8 Luxury Hotel in Noto
Price Range: ₹ 5,665 - ₹ 11,252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Sofia 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The charming and well designed Grand Hotel Sofia, at the entrance of Noto, is set amidst green, wonderful gardens, among the baroque symphony of Noto's world heritage town and the particular light blue sea with its golden beaches, which go far along the Oasis of Vendicari, Marina di Noto, Eloro, Marzamemi. Ortigia and the Greek theater of Siracusa are just a few minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Sofia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sofia Noto, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing