We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the least authentic accomodation of the roundtrip”
Review of Grand Hotel Sofia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel Sofia
Ranked #11 of 33 Hotels in Noto
Reviewed 16 July 2017

The hotel itself is nice, but could be anywhere in the world: there is nothing 'Italian' in it.

Positives: spacious, clean, and nice rooms. Nice staff at the reception.

Negatives: I would mention the restaurnt here. The food was quite featureless: no spices (not so much taste), no local specialities. The waiters could be characterised somewhere between neutral and unfriendly. There was a scent of snobbery in their attitude (however they have no reason for it: it is a medium class restaurant).

Nevertheless, the hotel can be a good choice if you would like to spend some time in Noto.

Room Tip: Have dinner in the town (not in the restaurant of the hotel).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Balazs D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (519)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 519 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2017

We stayed for three nights as part of a Saga tour of forty people. Our room was very clean and comfortable with a lovely balcony. The highlight was the genuine Sicilian food, this has apparently changed according to our guide and is not "international" food but local food, well prepared. As is often the case in Italy we had to order in advance from a limited menu for a big group but nevertheless the waiter service was good and the food was tasty and interesting. The bar service was excellent with two very cheerful friendly young ladies in charge.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Elizabeth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2017

I was part of a group of 40 & we stayed 3 nights. The hotel was quiet & the food good. The only bad part about the breakfast was the coffee, it comes in huge urns & is disgusting. I had to go to a cafe nearby each morning for a decent cup. Apart from that I enjoyed my stay. The hotel is very clean, the staff are helpful & there is a lovely girl who works in the bar, we always had drinks before dinner sitting outside the bar & the young girl could not do enough for you & also brought tasty snacks with the drinks.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sue f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2017

We stayed at this hotel for three nights while touring the whole of Sicily. The location was an easy walk to the town of Noto, the rooms were very clean and comfortable, but the most memorable of our stay was the food. Seriously, it almost brought tears to my eyes because it was so reminiscent of my mother's cooking. Both of my parents are from Sicily; mother from Messina, father from Giardini Naxos. I ordered the "roasted meats" on the menu and asked for just a side of pasta with olive oil (which is not on the menu). The second I sampled the chicken, sausage, and beef, it immediately took me back to my mother's table. My sister ordered the sea bass, which she said melted in her mouth, as it was cooked to perfection. The grilled vegetables were just as delicious. The presentation and service was outstanding. When I come back to Noto, I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2017

We stayed one night in this hotel while on a cycling tour. First impressions were good. Efficient receptionist, large comfortable room, beautiful bathroom. Lovely pool and surrounding area. What we didn't know was that we were sharing with a very large group of school pupils. The noise from 22.30 onwards was awful. We complained to reception but little was done. When checking out we questioned why we had been given that room. It is a very large hotel, every other room on the corridor was occupied by school pupils. We even had the teacher knocking our door in the morning!! No explanation given, a half hearted apology and still charged us for two drinks from the mini bar.

Room Tip: Ensure that there isn't a school group there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Agnes J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Noto hotels
0.8 km away
Hotel Flora
Hotel Flora
#12 of 33 in Noto
338 reviews
9.5 km away
Masseria degli Ulivi
0.9 km away
Hotel Porta Reale
Hotel Porta Reale
#1 of 33 in Noto
398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 km away
Hotel La Corte del Sole
2.1 km away
Relais Villa Favorita
4.7 km away
Hotel Club Eloro
Hotel Club Eloro
#30 of 33 in Noto
598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Sofia? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Sofia

Address: Via Confalonieri s/n, 96017, Noto, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Syracuse > Noto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Noto
#6 Family Hotel in Noto
#8 Luxury Hotel in Noto
Price Range: ₹ 4,853 - ₹ 9,243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Sofia 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The charming and well designed Grand Hotel Sofia, at the entrance of Noto, is set amidst green, wonderful gardens, among the baroque symphony of Noto's world heritage town and the particular light blue sea with its golden beaches, which go far along the Oasis of Vendicari, Marina di Noto, Eloro, Marzamemi. Ortigia and the Greek theater of Siracusa are just a few minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Sofia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sofia Noto, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing