We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“excellent location for exploring Puglia”
Trullo from main drive
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Trullo from main drive
Trullo leading to private courtyard Trullo looking down drive
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
52 reviews
Trullo from main drive
Trullo leading to private courtyard
Trullo looking down drive
Trullo bedroom from the courtyard
Trullo sitting room from kitchen
Trullo kitchen from sitting room
Sitting room from the kitchen
Trullo bedroom with en suite bathroom. Mattress size 140 cms wide.
Courtyard in bloom
Garden - evening light
Trulli cones of main Trullo
Olive blossom in May
Olives - ready for picking in October/November
Pool from far side
Sitting area on main garden side by the pool
Time for an aperitivo!
Magical pool by night!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Cisternino, Province of Brindisi, Puglia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 52 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Oleg_and...
Kiev
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“excellent location for exploring Puglia”
Reviewed 22 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015

The property is completely as described. Even though we stayed in January and temperature outside was freezing at night inside it was comfortably warm.

Jill and Andrew are great hosts. They did everything possible to make our stay as comfortable as possible.

the property is just enough for 2 people. the only complaint I had was that the doorways between the rooms were quite low and i hit my head couple of times even though I am not exactly a tall person. But that minor discomfort is well worth staying in an authentic Italian trullo.

so, if you are looking for a rustic place to stay in southern Italy - take this one.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline...
De Pinte, Belgium
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful location with the best hospitality we've ever seen”
Reviewed 11 November 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We've enjoyed every minute of our stay at this trullo!
Jill and Andrew are the most caring people, with attention to every detail. For a self catering location, everything was thought of. From dishwashing liquid, candles over a welcoming drink by choice (Jill had foreseen wine, beer, water, milk, coffee and tea), biscuits,... so we could truly relax by arrival and did not need to rush to the supermarket for first shopping.
The trulli is beautiful with different terraces, swimming pool, barbecue, ... everything you could want and more!
We did feel ever so welcome and could not have wanted our stay to be any better.

If there would be one remark, we would advise to invest in a box spring bed or a higher quality matras for better sleeping comfort, but this is just our personal preference. I'm sure if we would have mentioned it, Jill & Andrew would've looked for a solution to resolve this. We just couldn't because they already were doing more than enough to ensure our perfect stay :)

We advise this location for couples who like peace and quiet with excellent service!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: excellent hospitality and beautiful peaceful location
Liked least: quality of matras
Travelling group: Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie86
Farnham,Surrey
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Paradise in Puglia”
Reviewed 19 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We spent a perfect week in beautiful Caterina Trullo at the end of September. Jill and Andrew were wonderful hosts providing us with everything that we required from a very generous Welcome pack to giving us plenty of advice and recommendations to help us to make the most of our time spent in this beautiful region of Italy. The Trullo, gardens and pool were excellent and a credit to Andrew and Jill's hard work and ingenuity. Thoroughly recommend taking a tour with their son James to the local Wine, Mozarella and Olive oil factories which was both fun and informative.
Would not hesitate to recommend this beautiful trullo set in peaceful countryside surrounded by picturesque towns and only a short drive to the coast.
Thank you Jill, Andrew and James and also not forgetting Charlie Pickles!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Private secluded pool
Liked least: Having to say goodbye and leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harribone...
UK
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Simply The Best”
Reviewed 6 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014

If you are looking to stay in a trullo in Puglia, look no further than Trullo Caterina; you will not do better. We stayed there for 9 super days and were very impressed with everything. The location is perfect; just outside the beautiful town of Cisternino which is about 1.5 miles distant. Cisternino itself is a beautiful Italian town completely unspoilt by tourists; white stone buildings and superb views over the surrounding countryside, lots of lovely bars and restaurants. The trullo was well appointed and very clean and when we arrived there were good stocks of food and basics available as well as 2 bottles of local wine! The bed was comfortable and there was free wifi available. The shower was good and there was always plenty of hot water. Outside the gardens were a credit to owner Andrew who has clearly perfected the art of stone walling! The extensive grounds were beautifully kept with aromatic shrubs and herbs; rosemary, lavender and basil were growing along the pathways within the olives and there were many pretty spots to sit. The pool was exceptional – deep at both ends so no wading through knee deep water for a swim. Above the pool was a perfect raised patio for sitting and eating with lovely views of Cisternino and surrounding countryside. So, you may think you could find this in many trullos in Puglia? Maybe. But what you would be hard pressed to find is the very generous and kind hospitality of the owners, Jill & Andrew and their son James. We had a puncture one day along a deserted country road. Unable to contact Hertz on their 24 hour line, we ran Jill, and Andrew arrived in a heartbeat and changed the wheel and made sure we got back on the road. Jill would leave freshly picked figs on our patio table which were quite delicious – together with her own roasted veggies. Their knowledge of the local area is excellent and James arranged trips for us to see local cheese being produced and to see an olive oil factory and we had the chance to test and buy some of the local products. We also got to see wine and salami production. It was fabulous. James also suggested a visit to the local grape festival on a Saturday night which was great fun with floats parading round a small local town together with live music, dancing and street food. They recommended restaurants, organised taxis, let us use their phone to sort out the puncture, and even took us out to local towns and unknown beaches when our car was being repaired! However, probably the best bit was the wonderful Charlie Pickles, their super dog who used to call each morning for tit bits but was always so well behaved! Book here – you won’t do better!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Charlie Pickels
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AllyBr
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Absolutely PERFECT”
Reviewed 29 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

This was quite simply the best vacation rental I have ever had, everything was just too good to be true, from the way the villa was stocked for our arrival to the fabulous pool. After MUCH consideration only down side was no little fridge by the pool to keep your drinks cold nor a foot rest in lounge for when you watch tv - but this is being REALLY picky. Would return in a heart beat and the owners go out of their way to help should you need it. Beautifully quiet, yet not far from town and shops and gorgeous far-reaching views.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Distance to Pool (a little fridge by the pool area for drinks would solve this)
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing