We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (110)
Filter reviews
110 results
Traveller rating
30
37
18
13
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
30
37
18
13
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews offers amazing views the owner assortment balcony hill
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 110 reviews
Reviewed 19 August 2013

This hotel is definitely a good option for those looking to avoid the horrendous crowds at Cinque Terra. Its is a good base but it is far out and not a quick drive in.. We were recommended to go to Levanto and park/train to the Cinque Terra but we could not get a park anywhere after an hour. We ended up driving to La Spezia and parking at the multi-story parking lot at the station and this was a much better option and a quicker drive on better roads.

Room - Stunning view and tastefully decorated. Very spacious and the bathroom was spacious as well. Be aware that due to the lack of air conditioning and no fan it is hot and stuffy on summer nights. I recommend a lot of bug spray as you'll need to sleep with the windows all open to get by! Also, the walls are very thin and you can hear everything...

Staff - So friendly and kind. They were very helpful and all had a smile on their face. Breakfast staff in particular was great.

Restaurant - The breakfast was good. The dinner is AMAZING. We were so impressed with it and couldn’t recommend it more! Great choices at a great price. Can’t go wrong!

Pool - Good size, good temperature and loads of sun loungers. It was a great place just to relax and take some time out.

Overall I think this is a good hotel at a very good price ideal for those with a car that dislike the huge summer crowds. The views are amazing and the general vibe is very relaxed and warm. We did have a very good stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dfitzgerald84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

It is situated in the hills of Liguria offshoot of Cinque Terre , with its large park for al lot of pleasures for sport and leisure and perfect friendly owners you can spent a lot of time there coming home from a trip of each of this most beautiful little five places of Cinque Terre .... Go and have a look...

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank britta F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Stayed mid june before the busy season, amazing views. Tucked away in the hills. Great food in the restaurant & staff very nice & helpful with information for our visit the next day to cinque tera. Rooms are clean & tidy & did i mention the view from the balcony stunning!!

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Chrissy2410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2012

The region of Pignone, Italy is a beautiful part of the country that surprised and charmed us. It is quiet and far away from the usual crowds. Nestled in the hills, this lovely hotel is a great get-a-way from the heat and hub-bub one is used to when spending the summer months in Italy. Since this place is about a 45 minute drive from the sea, it is much less touristy and, therefore, much more pleasant. And since it is in the hills, it is also cooler.

The service in the hotel was extremely friendly and helpful, the scenery breathtaking, the rooms simple but clean. The hotel also has a restaurant where breakfast is included, which was average: not bad, but not outstanding either. We had dinner there twice and were satisfied, but not blown away. There is a nice pizzeria in the village of Pignone that looks unremarkable but serve very nice fresh pizza and salads at very reasonable prices. But you have to drive there.

The hotel also has a pool that is very nice; it is surrounded by trees and flowers offering plenty of shade.

The only drawback of our stay at Villagio Albergo dei Gallo was that you can hear EVERYTHING in the neighbouring rooms and outside in the parking area at night. So if other guests come back at a later hour, it is sure to wake the whole building. We didn't sleep very well, to be honest, but despite that, every morning when we looked out at the view from our little balcony, we thought to heck with it. It is so pretty here.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank julia_wien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2012

This was a very basic hotel. We aim to spend a few nights resting in the mountains... but there is NOTHING near the hotel, and the pool looses the sun early evening.

We left early and had to pay the penalty (obviously lots of people leave early!).

The food in the attached resturaunt was ok - but nothing special, for breakfast or dinner.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews