We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (787)
Filter reviews
787 results
Traveller rating
408
228
108
23
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
408
228
108
23
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgolf coursewoodland walkmain buildingexecutive roomlovely hotelswimming poolblunsdon housetennis courtsleisure facilitiesrestaurant manageran upgradereception staffbirthday partychanging roomswedding venuelovely groundsflame restaurant
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 787 reviews
Reviewed 13 July 2018 via mobile

We spent one night here in an executive room with balcony.
Parking was excellent and although we arrived early our room was ready.
Our room was on the 1st floor and although we had a balcony, I felt that the room was very dark and claustrophobic, both curtain tie backs were broken so we were unable to tie back the curtains fully.
I called Reception to report that our tv was not working and to see if there were any brighter rooms but was told they were all the same.
Someone came up to look at the tv and got it to work but said the lead was broken.
The hotel itself we found quite soulless and seemed oddly laid out. Whilst we were eating our evening meal in the bar (which was really good food) there were people walking through from the gym in their workout gear which we found strange.
We had a lovely view from our balcony which was not overlooked at all.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank VeronicaJ4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blunsdon, Owner at Blunsdon House Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear VeronicaJ4,

Thank you for posting a review at TripAdvisor. Naturally we were disappointed to read that you felt we were "not as expected". We strive to communicate our offer to market accurately and spend a great deal of time and effort in doing so. The light levels in the pavilion rooms are typically very good. We have since repaired the tie backs (they are decorative and people occasionally try to draw them) and have replaced the faulty cable from your television. The hotel is family owned and has been since it it's inception in 1960 and having grown up over the decades is not conventionally laid out Please accept our apologies if these minor issues detracted from your stay.

We were very glad to note that you enjoyed the view and surroundings and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again at some point in the near future.

Kind regards, BHH

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2018

Surprised by the friendly, helpful and professional service we received from all members of the team at the hotel during a weekend event stay
Huge room, granted a tad dated but, clean and everything in it you needed plus stunning views
Fantastic and highly recommended .... oh and fantastic value with it

Stayed: May 2018
Thank TrickyM1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blunsdon, Owner at Blunsdon House Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear TrickyM1,

Thank you for posting a review here at TripAdvisor! We were very happy to read that you found the hotel to be fantastic and that you would highly recommend us to others. We hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards, BHH

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2018 via mobile

First class visit. Room was clean and extremely comfortable. Air con worked a treat too. Only had breakfast and evening drinks in the hotel, so can’t comment on evening meals, but breakfast was excellent. Hot food well cooked and plenty of fruit and pastries. Staff very accommodating and very friendly.

The grounds are beautifully kept with wonderful views. We would definitely return.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank 27Scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blunsdon, Owner at Blunsdon House Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear 27Scotland,

Thank you for posting a review here at TripAdvisor. We were delighted to read that you found the visit "first class" and that the air con made your stay comfortable during the summer heat wave. Perhaps the most gratifying comment is your noted intent to return and we wish you all the best until that time.

Kind regards, BHH

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2018

We requested an executive room but at the time of booking we were not told that all the executive rooms are in The Pavilion which is a few yards away from the hotel itself. There is no under cover pathway so if it is raining a visit to the bar or dining room requires an umbrella or similar.

Our executive room was dark and dingy. The decor was not in good condition and the nice little balcony was so covered in cobwebs we were not inclined to sit outside to take in the views which from 368 are obscured by trees.

The WIFi was good and the shower was hot and powerful.
There is a lift to the higher floors but we were not offered assistance with our luggage despite being elderly.

The leisure facilities were very good and both Carrie's bar and Flame Restaurant were clean and comfortable. Breakfast was included in the price we paid and was of an excellent standard.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Pengor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blunsdon, Owner at Blunsdon House Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Pengor,

Thank you for the review and your constructive feedback. We were pleased to note that in general you enjoyed your stay with us. We are actively promote the short distance to the Pavilion in all of our marketing literature and via our various channels. We do operate a full, complimentary porter service from main reception. Please accept our apologies if the hiccups in service you mention caused you any inconvenience. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel again soon.

Kind regards, BHH

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2018 via mobile

This was just a one night stay whilst visiting relatives nearby. The hotel is located very close to Swindon and is also a great location for exploring the Cotswolds and quaint local towns and villages. This hotel seems to be catered to tourists from far away - it is almost stereotypically British at points - with a small cosy study/library including bookshelves adjacent to the lobby, newspaper articles about the history of the hotel plastered over one section and a nice looking breakfast room. That is by no means a criticism of the place and it does provide a degree of charm. Set in a quiet area, the hotel also offers spa, pool and gym facilities, which rate up there amongst the best hotel facilities I have seen (although memberships are available to those living nearby as well, meaning it is not an exclusive facility but explains some of the quality).

The communal areas were all well maintained and looked good. Staff were perhaps a little haphazard- not knowing when the facilities/breakfast was open from and to by way of an example. Perhaps that added a little Fawlty Towers style charm to it as well. The rooms are probably where I'd say investment was needed. That's not to say they weren't perfectly adequate - with tea/coffee making facilities - a relatively comfortable albeit clearly slept on for some time bed/mattress and a good bathroom. They are however really tired looking and could do with a lick of paint to spruce things up.

We had paid for breakfast at the hotel and here is where I think the establishment is really cheeky. Upfront, I will say that the quality of the food on the buffet is very good - however, I did think it rather rude that there are lots of extras that you have to pay for - so it is not an all included buffet. For example, standard filter coffee is included but a latte will cost you well over £2 on top of the £10-£13 you have already paid for breakfast. There are also a number of other dishes which you have to pay a supplement for. It was the coffee that got me! So a good quality breakfast but be careful of them trying to screw you over!

Overall I think this is a very good place to stay - good quality and a sense of charm and calm.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Darren F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blunsdon, Owner at Blunsdon House Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Darren F,

Thank you for an incredibly comprehensive review. We were glad to note that in general you enjoyed a great stay with us and that you found the hotel to be charming and distinctively British.

We offer large number of specialty coffee's from the bar but at breakfast these do incur a surcharge. Far from trying to "screw anyone over" these charges are entirely in keeping with the marketplace and indicative of the additional training, equipment and time required to prepare them.

You will be pleased to learn that now our public area refurbishment programme is drawing to an end, we are now in the process of refurbishing our house bedrooms. We hope that you will have the opportunity to visit the hotel again soon.

Kind regards, BHH

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews