We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A step back in time at Gouge - down the road from...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
34 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Parthenay, Deux-Sevres, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Canada4me
Brisbane
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A step back in time at Gouge - down the road from Parthenary”
Reviewed 3 September 2011 for a stay in September 2011

I recently had the pleasure of spending a relaxing and reviving week with Donna and Peter at their wonderfully resorted century old Country get-a-way called 'Au Pont'. The owners go out of the way to make you feel welcome and even stocked the fridge with cheese and fresh bread on our arrival. The unit we stayed in included a kitchen, dinning and huge lounge as well as 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms. Much larger than we expected.

We spent several days exploring the local roads and villages on the bikes they provided and discovered some wonderful spots to picnic. The property sits right on the banks of the river where we sat each evening and watched the sun set over the old Roman bridge that almost adjoints the property.

If you want to relax, unwind and immerse yourself in history, take a visit to 'Au Pont'.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The opportunity to visit the local villages.
Liked least: A week was not long enough.
Travelling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingaroy, Australia
Reviewed 12 August 2011 for a stay in September 2010

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Families with teenagers Tourists
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
4 Sep 2011
Many thanks Frances. We are so glad that we could offer you "a holiday to remember". Best Wishes Pete and Donna
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Bodmin, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 August 2011 for a stay in July 2011

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The hosts
Liked least: The weather
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
17 Aug 2011
Hi Jacqui, Ged and Mimi. We thoroughly enjoyed your company and your wonderful true life story. Slicing cheese will never be the same!! Cheers Pete and Donna
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Melinda66
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Hi speed Internet for teens, chilled river views for parents - fantastic!”
Reviewed 6 August 2011 for a stay in August 2011

The gite was comfortable, cool in the heat and the bedrooms were fantastic. Very comfy beds, lovely bathrooms- designs really thought out. Garden was great with access to the river where we watched herons fishing - it looks just like the photos in the listing - peaceful and calm with great views. We loved the full length boules court as well. Kitchen was well equipped. I really liked the area - stumbling across wonderful chateaux - great views from Parthenay and Bressuire donjons - good walking and good food nearby. The hi speed Internet access kept the teenager happy - very relaxing holiday for us both. Donna and Peter were also really helpful and friendly.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The river views and the garden
Liked least: No visible gift shopping in Parthenay!
Travelling group: Family with Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Aug 2011
Many thanks Melinda. It was our pleasure to host yourself and your son. We look forward to seeing you again sometime at "au pont". Kind Regards Peter and Donna
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghislaine...
1 review
Reviewed 25 July 2018 for a stay in July 2018
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Jul 2018
Merci Ghislaine :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing