We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Peaceful retreat .”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Le Bas Chenay

Le Bas Chenay
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Le Bas Chenay
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
11 reviews
Le Bas Chenay
Pets welcome
Resident
Neighbour
Typical stone and colombage building
Castle ruins Domfront
Sunset over Domfront
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Domfront, Orne, Basse-Normandie, Normandy

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
rsmith123...
Glasgow
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Peaceful retreat .”
Reviewed 27 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018

My wife and myself and our two dogs decided to try a holiday in France for three weeks . So after some searching picked this property .
On arrival we were met by the owner and her friend Andrew who showed us all what we needed .
The cottage has everything that you would need . June had also left us a nice welcome
Pack of groceries .
The grounds of the property were great for the two dogs to play in .
There was darts , table tennis , bar football to keep you busy .
The cottage is ideal for travelling to all the tourist areas .
Can not fault the place and would certainly consider returning .

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jack P
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent ”
Reviewed 5 December 2017 for a stay in October 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Andy and June are very friendly and make you feel very welcome. It's easy to find from the main road as it is signposted.
The beds are comfy and if you are cooking at 'home' as we did everything you could ever need to cook with is there.
It's that good I'll be coming again next year.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gavin E
1 review
“We loved Le Bas Chenay, and so did the dogs”
Reviewed 23 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

June and Andy obviously put a lot of effort into (y)our stay. A lovely welcome & starter pack meant we could relax from the moment we arrived. To us, the location was great - can get to a lot of interesting places in an hour or so's drive, and plenty of great dog walking to be had in the forests not far away or indeed in the immediate area. Its a spacious gite which was cool when the days heated up, and cosy on the cooler evenings. Its a lovely looking setting which inspired a good "coming home" feeling after a day out.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WalesLois
Wales
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“The best place we have ever stayed”
Reviewed 13 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

This is the most perfect and beautiful gite, situated close to the town of Domfront but in idyllic countryside which was so peaceful and perfect to let our dog run free. The owners June and Andy went above and beyond anything we might have expected with lots of welcome goodies and an immaculate yet homely gite with everything needed to make our stay complete. We would definitely recommend and return.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jul 2017
Thank you for your kind comments and we're very glad you enjoyed your stay. You will be welcome back anytime.
With kind regards, June & Andy - Le Bas Chenay
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan R
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“An amazing place ”
Reviewed 30 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We have just spent 2 weeks at this cottage with our dog, Digby and have been blown away by the welcome and generosity of the owners, June and Andy. Nothing has been too much trouble and it is clear that they have put their hearts and souls into creating this fabulous place. It is a secluded delight, extremely well equipped and great for couples or families and dogs... our wee cocker spaniel was made as welcome as we were, he had been provided with bowls, treats, towels and poo bags: way over and above what one might expect! The experience can be as quiet or as busy as you wish it to be, especially as it is well placed for the many attractions around the area and further afield. We simply wished to stop and re-charge our batteries and couldn't have chosen a better place to do it! 10/10.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Jul 2017
So glad our guests enjoyed their stay and we certainly enjoyed having them.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing