We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh food”
Review of La Villa Vietnam

La Villa Vietnam
Ranked #3 of 88 Restaurants in Libourne
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 22 February 2016 via mobile

We have been here twice now and still think it is one of the best. We appreciated the fresh salad and vegetables and the seafood. All included in the fixed price menu. The entre deux mers white wine was excellent with a very reasonable mark up.

Date of visit: February 2016
1  Thank Jonathan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
75
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (223)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 223 reviews

Reviewed 19 January 2016

La Villa Vietnam is an island of tranquillity and tastes just opposite the bustling Carrefour retail center on the eastern edge of Libourne. If you are travelling by on the D1089, its the perfect place to stop for lunch or dinner (it's just two streets off the exit rondabout).

Even entering the parking lot, which can sneak up on you as it immediately abuts the Carrefour roundabout, is pleasant. Surrounded by stone walls and white-pebbled, it offers a nice view of the restaurant's understated facade.

The food is unfailingly delicious, as befits a restaurant in a region known for its love of food, and it has a special touch that distinguishes it from any other Vietnamese restaurant I've enjoyed, even the superlative Mekong in Richmond, VA. The Tom Yum soup is some of the most savoury I've ever tasted, and their steamed ("vapuer") dumplings are just the right kind of slightly-sticky delicious that they should be (think dim sum). The variety is also excellent, including not only the traditional pho (hearty vermicelli noodle soup, pron. "fuh") and bhun (steamed rice w/beef, chicken or veg), but a variety of curries and some absolutely mouth-watering soups.

The only thing more charming than the interior (which is tastefully tropical) is the staff, who are friendly and expeditious, but also extremely polite and unobtrusive. The owner will often come out and greet guests individually, and you can tell by his warm smile that this small corner of Indochine in the Entre-deux-Mers remains eternally benevolent and generous.

Date of visit: January 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Sascha A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2015

Recommended by the Mercure Hotel Libourne. In the absence of an Indian restaurant, this is about as near as you will get and I urge you to try it

Date of visit: October 2015
1  Thank WilfWood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2015 via mobile

Since I live not far from this place I go often to this place. A nice family type Vietnamese restaurant. All equally home made dishes. Many different crunchy starters made with carb or prawns. Also many typical Vietnamese dishes and nice wine also available. People are nice and speak decent French. Definitely worth for your money.

Date of visit: August 2015
2  Thank Nimalaraj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2015

When one takes Vietnamese cuisine, which is generally delicate and tasty, and modifies it to suit French palates it can all become a bit bland and uninteresting.
Sadly this appears to be the case here, which offers a mix of many Asian foods including Chinese and Thai.

Our enrees of nems (spring rolls) and assorted vapeurs (steamed dumplings) were passable, but tasted commercially bought rather than made in-house, as they were identical to what finds in Chinese takeaways in France.
The mains of curried chicken and caramelised pork were a bit bland, as was the Cantonese rice and mixed vegetables.

There is a pleasant terrace out the back and parking is easy in front.
Service was very good, as was the cold Chinese Tsing Tao beer on a day of 34C.

We lived in Singapore for 6 years and we crave good Asian food, which is really hard to find in France.
Sadly La Villa Vietnam did not meet our cravings and we will not rush back.

Date of visit: July 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LesH211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Villa Vietnam also viewed

Libourne, Gironde
Libourne, Gironde
 

Been to La Villa Vietnam? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
75
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing