We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average place in the midst of nature”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Om Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Om Beach Resort
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Gokarna
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Average place in the midst of nature”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2012

We opted to stay in this place after going through many options online. The response from the booking office was very prompt and timely.
The place in itself is nice and in the midst of nature. The cottages/villa are well placed and built for lavish stay. They are big and surrounded by good greenary and that's the USP of the hotel. The whole properly is maintained well, the cottages are also in decent shapes but it still needs a little tidyness. The wires of phone and TV cable are hanging around and the coushions in living room need desparate change. Phone in our room was not working which made us walk till the restaurant or reception for any small room service. Another put off was that they serve only one water bottle per room per day, so you alway have to pay for water bottles, which is double the MRP rate. The food served for breakfast is good but a-la-carte food or buffet meal is only edible not more than that.
On positive side one can sit in foyer of the cottage sipping tea and watch some exotic birds fly around. We spotted hornbills while having our cup of tea.
The OM beach is about 3 kms from this place.

Room Tip: Select rooms which are closer to reception and restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank deshiashish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

120 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    48
    32
    12
    3
See reviews for
47
29
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2012

Om Beach resort is one of the best places to stay in Gokarna. The staff are friendly and very helpful, the villas are huge and make us feel at home. Would definitely visit this place again as a family!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank johnmanoahs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gangtok, India
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2012

We stayed at this resort around the last week of January for a night. We were on a road trip across India and happened to reach this place because It had adequate parking.

Driving down from south goa to gokarna was a nice experience. We stayed here only for a night but i enjoyed my stay here.

Thanks to the watchman at the gate. He gave our vehicle a good wash on request and also must say he was the most courteous of all the staff there...

The resort is a bit expensive but if it is in one's budget, i think its a nice, quiet and serene place. Though its not close to the beach or has a beach view, somehow it felt like a nice hotel in the hills rather!:)

Alls good at this place except that the food could be priced better and also the toilets though big...could be a little more tasteful!")Final word---highly recommended...

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NRSGTK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai, India
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2012

It was nice to stay there, the whole cottage was fully covered with pretty gardens, nice atmosphere.
The rooms were good, but need to have some improvements.
The food items were also good enough, still they could have more items.
The room service was fine.
But while roaming the city, Gokarna, the resort could have arranged some vehicles. Because, every time we had to hire auto while going out as we were not having our own car at that time.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D_Hussain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2012

Our bungalow was set in beautiful gardens. The room was spacious, tho a bit tired and in need of maintenance. The property is quite away from everywhere so you either have to eat on the premises or walk / find an autorickshaw. They weren't offering their full menu when we were there, as there was an indian buffet for a group we could share - so wasn't much to eat. We went to the place over the road - but that seemed to be a party place for the locals and the restaurant was closed. We thought it would be a very quiet place, but the party got louder thru the night!! (not that the Resort staff had any control over that!). The name is misleading as it is not located on the beach - in fact we didn't get to the beach. The staff are very helpful - had a lot of correspondence prior to our stay trying to sort out a taxi to Hampi. The price they quoted us was really excessive and we didn't like all the reports we'd heard of of the overnight bus trip so we cancelled Hampi. We found we could've got a taxi to Hampi for much less than they indicated, but were very happy with our stay in Palolem (Fernz Gardenia) instead.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PegaTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gokarna hotels
1.1 km away
Sanskruti Quality  Resort
1.8 km away
Kudle Beach View Resort & Spa
3.0 km away
SwaSwara
SwaSwara
#2 of 8 in Gokarna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Zostel Gokarna
Zostel Gokarna
#1 of 30 in Gokarna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
2.6 km away
Arthigamya Resort & Spa
Arthigamya Resort & Spa
#4 of 8 in Gokarna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
1.9 km away
Namaste Yoga Farm
Namaste Yoga Farm
#2 of 30 in Gokarna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Om Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Om Beach Resort

Property: Om Beach Resort
Address: Om Beach Road,Bangle Gudde, Gokarna 581326, India
Region: India > Karnataka > Gokarna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Gokarna
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,353 - ₹ 23,661
Hotel Class:3 star — Om Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The "Khashi of South India", Gokarna lies at the confluence of the Aghanashini and Gangavalli rivers and is cradled between the Sahyadri's and the Arabian Sea. Its timeless temples and beguiling beaches draw a steady stream of pilgrims and tourists. The Om Beach that traces the shape of the Hindu symbol Om is the most popular of Gokarna's Beaches and lends its name to the Om Beach Resort perched on the slopes of hillock overlooking a verdant valley. While Gokarna's temples transcend eras its beaches are throbbing with life. The famous Om Beach, the less known Kudle Beach, the quiet Half Moon Beach and the pristine Paradise Beach are four scenic strips of sand, sandwiched between the hills and the sea. The villages of Sanikatta and Tadadi are located in close proximity to Gokarna. Manufacturing salt for over three centuries, Sanikatta is the oldest salt manufacturing site in Karnataka. Tadadi has a fishing harbour and a fish processing plant set up through an Indo-Danish collaboration. With rugged trekking trails and great outdoors, the adventurous can embark on paths of discovery in and around Gokarna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Yatra so you can book your Om Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Om Beach Hotel Gokarna
Om Beach Resort Gokarna, Karnataka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing