We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty gardens, room ok”
Review of Om Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Om Beach Resort
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Gokarna
Reviewed 20 March 2012

Our bungalow was set in beautiful gardens. The room was spacious, tho a bit tired and in need of maintenance. The property is quite away from everywhere so you either have to eat on the premises or walk / find an autorickshaw. They weren't offering their full menu when we were there, as there was an indian buffet for a group we could share - so wasn't much to eat. We went to the place over the road - but that seemed to be a party place for the locals and the restaurant was closed. We thought it would be a very quiet place, but the party got louder thru the night!! (not that the Resort staff had any control over that!). The name is misleading as it is not located on the beach - in fact we didn't get to the beach. The staff are very helpful - had a lot of correspondence prior to our stay trying to sort out a taxi to Hampi. The price they quoted us was really excessive and we didn't like all the reports we'd heard of of the overnight bus trip so we cancelled Hampi. We found we could've got a taxi to Hampi for much less than they indicated, but were very happy with our stay in Palolem (Fernz Gardenia) instead.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PegaTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (121)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

92 - 96 of 121 reviews

Reviewed 10 March 2012

I booked the resort on line and was there last week. Yes the property is really good and not too far from the town. Its on the way to Om Beach. But the maintenance of the cottage was HORRIBLE. I don't know what better word can I use. Its an utter waste to pay 3700 Rs per night basis for such badly maintained rooms. The AC belongs to the Britishers time w/o a remote, the cot makes weird sounds, the sheets & pillow covers aren't changed,above all the Bathroom SUCKS.The leakage in the bathroom is so much that you don't know what water is it.Lack of staff number, no receptionist to pick us up, no water, nothing is provided to us in the room. This place is an UTTER WASTE AND NOT WORTH THE MONEY. I wonder how people give 5 star rating to this sick place

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
19  Thank cpr29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2012

Booked this hotel on the internet, very easy and payment straight forward.
We arrived expecting an OK hotel, but were pleased to find a jewel of a place set in its own lush, well maintained gardens with spectacular views from the restaurant and around.
Staff were excellent and the manager very helpful. Rooms were huge with comfortable beds, fittings and fixtures are a bit dated........ but the place oozed charm.
We had a great 3 night stay and intend to book again for next year.

Room Tip: Front facing rooms are the best as they have a sit out porch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Neil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2011

After reading all the reviews about how terrible Om Beach Resort was when I landed there with hubby dear and two other couples I was pleasantly surprised to find it a clean and beautiful resort. We had packed with a vengeance to ensure that we had everything that other travelers had missed out on….bedsheets, room freshner, insect repellents, first aid kit etc…etc…

To my surprise the bathroom was spotlessly clean, with a bathtub, biden, and a handheld shower with hot and cold water…the bed linen freshly changed and the TV and AC fully functional.

Room service was efficient. Some of the reviews had mentioned that no soul was to be seen at the reception and they hardly had any room service. We were provided with morning tea and late night snacks. The food is not something to die for but in a small place like Gokarna one could it rate it near average. Since we visited during the rainy season, it was wonderful to sit in the villa’s porch with friends with a cup of tea and surrounded by greenery. We had a villa to ourselves. The drawing room is not much to write about as the couch was damp but the room was airy even though the curtains had seen better days. A dressing area and a dressing table outside the big bath was convenient. A table and a cupboard in the room gave it a neat look.

The only down side is that this is not a beach resort. It is around 5km away from the beach but if you have your own vehicle you could make Om Beach Resort your home just for a few days.

Room Tip: Villas out front are good for they have a porch which is a good place to enjoy your morning tea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tanvi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2011

We were greeted to fungus ridden pillow covers and a bathtub which had a hole in it. After us telling them and haggling with them about what they can do to correct it, they put a little white cement on the hole in the bathtub which did not dry for many hours and we could not use the tub at all! The geyser was leaking and hot water came only for half a bucket and after that nothing! Each tap gave out some very dirty water which was deep red in colour for quite sometime. The manager was adamant in saying he cannot do anything to help us until the next day and the next day he gave us a different room. We were told our old room had many problems and then we were surprised as to why they gave that room to us at all! They seem to think that people can be cheated and they will keep quiet! The big rooms and green surroundings did not make up for the smell of fungus in the room and the bad food. The price for the buffet was too much compared to the quality of food. We felt cheated that we had to pack and shift twice in our short stay of two nights. The ayurvedic massage was also not up to the mark. Instead of feeling rejuvenated, I felt tired at the end of it. Instead of experienced masseuses, they have people who are undergoing training and they are not good at all! And we were guinea pigs for them! Overall, I would say, this place is not worth the money and you are better off staying somewhere else!

Room Tip: Room might be freshly painted, but make sure you check everything including the bathtub and geyser b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
7  Thank Padmalekha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gokarna
36.7 km away
Jungle Lodges Devbagh Beach Resort
2.6 km away
Arthigamya Resort & Spa
Arthigamya Resort & Spa
#3 of 8 in Gokarna
43 reviews
3.0 km away
SwaSwara
SwaSwara
#2 of 8 in Gokarna
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Kudle Ocean Front Resort
Kudle Ocean Front Resort
#3 of 35 in Gokarna
41 reviews
0.0 km away
MG Cottages
MG Cottages
#9 of 35 in Gokarna
3 reviews
16.3 km away
Honey Beach Cottages
Honey Beach Cottages
#1 of 7 in Ankola
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Om Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Om Beach Resort

Address: Om Beach Road,Bangle Gudde, Gokarna 581326, India
Region: India > Karnataka > Dakshina Kannada District > Gokarna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Gokarna
Price Range: ₹ 8,471 - ₹ 23,653 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Om Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The "Khashi of South India", Gokarna lies at the confluence of the Aghanashini and Gangavalli rivers and is cradled between the Sahyadri's and the Arabian Sea. Its timeless temples and beguiling beaches draw a steady stream of pilgrims and tourists. The Om Beach that traces the shape of the Hindu symbol Om is the most popular of Gokarna's Beaches and lends its name to the Om Beach Resort perched on the slopes of hillock overlooking a verdant valley. While Gokarna's temples transcend eras its beaches are throbbing with life. The famous Om Beach, the less known Kudle Beach, the quiet Half Moon Beach and the pristine Paradise Beach are four scenic strips of sand, sandwiched between the hills and the sea. The villages of Sanikatta and Tadadi are located in close proximity to Gokarna. Manufacturing salt for over three centuries, Sanikatta is the oldest salt manufacturing site in Karnataka. Tadadi has a fishing harbour and a fish processing plant set up through an Indo-Danish collaboration. With rugged trekking trails and great outdoors, the adventurous can embark on paths of discovery in and around Gokarna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Yatra, MakeMyTrip and TravelGuru so you can book your Om Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Om Beach Hotel Gokarna
Om Beach Resort Gokarna, Karnataka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing