We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Filthy place”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Namaste Cafe

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gokarna
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Namaste Cafe
Mumbai
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Filthy place”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2012

We were very excited to finally find ourselves at the Om Beach at Gokarna, and since we saw good reviews about Namaste cafe, decided to put up der. However, when we saw the room, we were very disappointed. It was filthy and musty (this was AC), then we asked to see another room(non AC) and that was equally bad. We were so put off, we drove back to Goa the same day. The cafe has a great location but nothing would make us stay there.

Room Tip: Recommend staying elsewhere. Preferably in the town and not at the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Navu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

290 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    128
    66
    14
    44
See reviews for
25
76
30
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
55 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2012

Fantastic beach side relaxation spot. But a definite no if you are with senior folks who are not that much into the beach scene ! The setting, the rooms, restaurants etc is very rustic. Not the best in hygiene. But the location is unmatched.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rajavel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

Visted Namaste Cafe with few friends in Jan 2012 , was kind a peak season also a weekend !!!! Rs 900 for a night ....but the rooms were good you can get rooms at lesser price at Om Beach but if you looking for the best comfort then Namaste Cafe rooms is your den !!!! i loved their cafe which is bang opp the sea and is very close to the entrance of Om Beach !!! food is good too !!!! service can change depending how crowded the place is !!! staff is quite friendly !!!!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sagartambe85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterlooville, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

Chose this accommodation because it was near Gokarna (Rs150 rickshaw ride away) and right next to Om Beach.
Fabulous location with chalet-type rooms built into the hillside leading down to Om Beach. To have breakfast/lunch right next to the beach, overlooking the sea, was wonderful.
Some reviews criticize the food, but the menu is quite diverse, even including Israeli dishes. (Try the Israeli breakfast for something rather different.). Prices quite good and all meals we had were very generous portions, often defeating us!
The room was superb value for Rs1100. Probably the nicest room I've stayed in India. Newly furbished, nicely furnished and a very nice bathroom.
Staff were very friendly and helpful, though some of the ladies only spoke a little English. Popular with independent travellers and mostly Indians when we were there.
An easy pleasant walk to nearby Kudle beach, but a little bit of a trek to Half Moon beach nearby.
Would recommend giving 'Paradise' beach a miss. It may well have deserved its' name in the past, but in 2011, the government destroyed all restaurants and guesthouses and didn't clear up the mess. It now looks like it's been hit by an air-raid.
Namaste Cafe may not be the cheapest accommodation in the area but, all things considered, I'd recommend it as excellent value for money.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank qifitness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2012

I've been a Gokarna veteran for a long time now and I go there once in two months to get away from the rat race and find some peace. Each time, I always make it a point to check in at Namaste Cafe.
It's the first cafe you reach as soon as you get down to Om beach. It's run by a family of five (the Gowdas, I think) and they are warm, peaceful people. The cafe is truly a blissful place to just sit with your feet up nursing a cold beer or a tall, hot glass of tea, and watch the sea.
Namaste Cafe has room too, and you can get a room for as low as Rs. 100 during off-season and the maximum rate for a room is Rs. 800 during the season. The food is quite heavenly here, with a complete continental spread.
It has an internet cafe, tattoo parlor and options for hiring cars, bikes and water sports. It's quite a fantastic place to stay!

Room Tip: Ask for the cottages, they're more peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NikhilKumar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gokarna hotels
2.8 km away
Sanskruti Quality  Resort
1.5 km away
Kudle Beach View Resort & Spa
2.2 km away
Zostel Gokarna
Zostel Gokarna
#1 of 30 in Gokarna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
SwaSwara
SwaSwara
#2 of 8 in Gokarna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
1.5 km away
Namaste Yoga Farm
Namaste Yoga Farm
#2 of 30 in Gokarna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
3.3 km away
Om Beach Resort
Om Beach Resort
#3 of 8 in Gokarna
3.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Namaste Cafe? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Namaste Cafe

Property: Namaste Cafe
Address: Om Beach Rd., Gokarna 581326, India
Region: India > Karnataka > Gokarna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 30 Speciality Lodging in Gokarna
Price range (per night): ₹ 300 - ₹ 2,500
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located right at the tip of Om Beach, Namaste Cafe is well located with road access as well as a beach front restaurant. The rooms are all at most a couple of minutes walk on the outside end to the beach. The beach front restaurant affords a large dining area with unrestricted views of the beach and the sea. Centrally located takes an all new meaning when it comes to Namaste Cafe ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Namaste Cafe Hotel Gokarna
Namaste Cafe Gokarna, Karnataka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing