We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (285)
Filter reviews
285 results
Traveller rating
234
37
3
4
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
234
37
3
4
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews night safari tented camp morning drive safari experience whole experience great experience private game reserve no electricity schotia safaris natural environment end of the day highlight of our trip great fun wild animals great safari our tour guide double bed
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 285 reviews
Reviewed 3 April 2018

It was our first time in South Africa and after a recommendation of friends we decided us for the overnight Option at Schotia. It was definitely worth the Money - Thanks a lot everybody. The welcome of the Team was brilliant and everything was explained very good. We were a bit early and had the Chance to stay in the Lounge with free Drinks and small Snacks. Afterwards we were picked up by our guide Robert who directly placed us in the car so that we could start our first drive. Robert was an experienced guide who knew at every stage during our game drives where to go to see all the animals. He always explained everything in Detail and answered all our questions. Thanks a lot, Robert - good Job! As we booked the overnight stay at Orlando Lodge, we continued with a night drive after the dinner. The dinner with all other Groups and rangers was a nice experience and the Food was really good. Also the Orlando Lodge with double-room facilities was good. One Point I have to deduct for the cleanliness of the toilet facilities. You have showers in the rooms, but toilets outside - 1 for 4 rooms. Although only 5 People in total were staying there, the cleanliness could be better. This is the only Point I would suggest to improve. After our night in the Lodge (the beds are really comfortable!) we were picked up and started with a morning drive before breakfast. We were lucky again to see all animals, especially elephants, rhinos and lions. Awesome! The breakfast was also really good and the personal was very friendly every time. In comparison to a Safari in Addo, I would recommend a Private Game Reserve as the Chance to see all animals is higher because the rangers can drive off-road as well. Furthermore, they really know how to react in dangerous situations. For the future, I would always prefer a guided tour instead of a self-drive experience in a National Park. Thanks again for the great experience and the stay at Schotia! Good Job!

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank katharina_we88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

Loved the game drive we went on here - our guide, Karl, was amazing. Very knowledgeable and fun, and accommodating - our 75 year old mother was with us and he helped her so much. Really EPIC day seeing all the animals - the lion roaring about 10 feet from our open-air transport was just so cool. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank katederaedt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2018

My friends and I loved the reserve and wealth of knowledge about the animals and surrounding area we received. The BBQ and stargazing / night drive made the whole experience that much better! Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Sherpa754409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2018

This was my first trip on a game reserve. I thought it was an excellent introduction to what I might experience on a larger reserve. There was just enough travelling around in a big jeep-like truck to make it feel as though we were in the wild and that there was a risk we might not see the important wildlife. The guide was knowledgeable, open in his views, willing to respond to requests and careful to ensure that everyone in the vehicle got a shot of each of the animals we saw.

Lions, giraffes, elephants, hippos, water buffalo, wart hogs, zebra, all sorts of antelope and rhinoceros were all sighted and could all be seen at surprisingly close range. There was information too about birds, insects and vegetation - all interesting. The communication between the guides was effective in getting us to the right places at the right times but the tour didn't feel formulaic. The half hearted charge of a rhino on one of the other vehicles underlined the truly wild state of the animals.

The evening dinner preceding the night tour was generous and very pleasant. The night tour itself was very interesting and allowed a better understanding of the volume of antelope on the reserve. The early morning tour was also good and allowed some additional information to be imparted and a reprise of some of the animals we wanted to see again.

The three tours (afternoon, night and morning), the meals and drinks and the functional but comfortable enough accommodation was very good value in my opinion.

Those running the reserve also did a good job of looking after my wife who had food poisoning and were very helpful through the booking process during which I made an error which they were flexible in accommodating.

The whole experience was very positive and I would recommend Schotia wholeheartedly as a taster for some of the larger reserves (where more time would be required and the animals, while greater in number, may be further away).

The lions

Room Tip: We stayed in the Orlando Rooms. This was fine.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Paul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2018

We had a delightful time at Schotia, game driver/artist Nic was very entertaining and helpful, the experience was just refreshing, saw a fair amount of game, even thought the weather didnt play ball. the dinner was simple, but fun boma setting with some live music, and the cherry on the top the wildlife artist, drawing live and selling prints .. a treat, the artwork is incredible and wonderful momento of the safari. thank you for the experience.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
Thank 878dodds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews