We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
US$ 31
US$ 29
View deal
SAVE US$ 2
Free cancellation until 22/05/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hotels.com
Expedia.com
US$ 31
US$ 29
View deal
SAVE US$ 2
Free cancellation until 22/05/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Booking.comUS$ 31
PricelineUS$ 31
eDreamsUS$ 31
View all 10 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (18)
Filter reviews
18 results
Traveller rating
6
8
3
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
6
8
3
1
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 18 reviews
Reviewed 11 March 2019

We spent one night here. As others have said, accommodations are basic, but the beds are comfortable and clean, and Viviana and Carlos were helpful in sorting out transport to and from the island, along with whatever else we needed, including a trip by canoe to see the bioluminescent plankton at Laguna Encantada, which is nearby (which was magical!).

The location is great, situated a couple of minutes walk from Playa Libre in one direction and another very small, quiet beach in the other.

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Colette2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2018 via mobile

This place on Isla Grande in the Rosario islands was a good find with wonderful hospitality by Viviana and Carlos. At short notice, it was the cheapest private accommodation we could find online. Our room was clean and comfortable with a fan by the beds, a nice touch but the sea breeze was enough anyway. The beds have mosquito nets but again the breeze helped deter them. You shower with a bucket of water and same with flushing toilets, but it was pleasant enough in the heat and circumstances. This is island life after all! The kitchen is good and necessary with food and drink expensive on the island. The kitchen has rules on certain hours that you can use it so ask at beginning of your stay. The best bit is the hostel is located next to the sea, a minutes walk from a small beach with a pier (fun to jump off) which had really good snorkeling when we were there. My best advice is bring water shoes if you have them as alot of the seafloor is not sandy as you might imagine and I got stung by something on the ground plus there can be sharp bits of broken coral on the ground so water shoes are very useful. Playa Libre is 10 minutes walk away which is a really nice sandy beach and our favourite that we visited. Come here either before 10am or after 3pm, to set your hours to when the day trippers have left. It is much nicer! And that advice works for the whole island. The place is amazing when all the day trippers and most beach vendors are gone with brilliant sunsets and wonderful sounds at night. Plus you can visit a lake where you can snorkel and see the phosphorescent plankton that glow at night! These are the reasons that you should stay a night or two.

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Wildlifenut88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2018 via mobile

We stayed one night with Carlos at Arte. He was very friendly and helpful, our room was clean and comfortable. As others have mentioned, the accommodation on the island is quite basic, with no running water or electricity. We used the clean water provided and a bucket to wash. It was an unexpected benefit to have a consistent fan, as in other locations you have to wait until the evening to turn the fan on with the electricity.

I understand there are extra running costs with a place like this given the location, but we still found the price on the high side (120,000COP not including breakfast) and that’s why I’ve given it a very good as opposed to an excellent.

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2018 via mobile

We had a private room, with private bathroom, at Arte y Aventura.

After having arrived by speedboat to Isla Grande, a guide took us to the hostel. We were looking for an authentic island experience - we came to the right place.

The hostel has no running water or electricity. There were car batteries that powered a small bedside fan. Showering involved pouring a jug of fresh water over yourself, and flushing the toilet involved dumping a bucket of sea water down the toilet.

Our room came with a mosquito net, which we later found out was definitely a necessity. When we woke up, the net was covered in hundreds of mosquitoes which was pretty terrifying. This was probably brought on by the slight downpour the previous evening. We had brought our insect repellent into the net, so we could leave the net safely.

Breakfast (traditional Colombian) is available upon request. However, for other meals you’ll have to go to one of the restaurants on the island. As there is no electricity on the island, getting back to the hostel can be pretty difficult in the pitch black, even with torches. We got lost is the dark, but were luckily found by a local who guided us back.

The lady who owns the hostel can speak both Spanish and English. She is very helpful for booking all the tours you would want to go on (snorkelling, mangroves, Enchanted Lagoon).

Say hi to her son who plays all-day, every-day in the hostel grounds!

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Cruiser814073
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2018

The host was very sweet and even offered us fresh fruit one morning with our coffee. The rooms are all attached and the walls aren't finished so not much privacy. Bucket showers and toilet. You do need to walk to the beach and it seems the only food options to find are at Majagua (expensive) or Cocoliso (mid-range). The beach that is a 5-10 minute walk is wonderful, but this place is not on the water and it is typically windy and rocky by the water that is closer to it. Bring or rent a mask snorkel and definitely go swimming in the lagoon at night for the bioluminescence. It is soooo incredible.

Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank captain_tahoe_steve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews