We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Casa Pochomil(Pochomil)(Great Value!)
US$ 81
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Vistamar(Pochomil)
US$ 167
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 174
US$ 159
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Barcelo Managua(Managua)
US$ 118
US$ 91
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 121
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 92
US$ 80
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 102
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 87
US$ 85
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 88
US$ 86
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,988)
Filter reviews
1,988 results
Traveller rating
899
544
288
133
124
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
899
544
288
133
124
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmain poolbeautiful resortnightly entertainmentlobby barcentral americahorseback ridingmain restaurantlanguage barrierping ponglounge chairsmasaya volcanoyour luggagehamburgerbig poolthe pacific oceanspoke englishfishing village
Filter
Updating list...
65 - 70 of 1,988 reviews
Reviewed 1 April 2017

Check in very smooth. They take your luggage at the airport and provide you with your rooming information on the bus, so all you have to do upon arrival is find your room. Food was good and prep area visible so you could see it was clean. Variety got a little old by the end of the week, but we were the last flight to leave the resort for the season so probably cutting back on supplies. A La Cartes "ok" - most of my food was too salty and/or overcooked, but service was wonderful. Almost all staff were friendly and smiling - a couple of bartenders looked like they didn't like their jobs. There is a language barrier, but that is to be expected - if they came to Canada we wouldn't automatically speak Spanish for them. Surf is fun to play in, but too rough to swim in. The main large pool is great, but sometimes gets too noisy for my liking, so we would just head down to the other smaller pool by the beach, which was always quiet and had a bar right beside it. The grounds are gorgeous with lots of gardens and trees - the gardeners and groundskeepers are to be commended. The beach is huge but not that soft powdery sand like Cuba, which was fine as that's what we were expecting. Our room, 136 in the bungalows, was ideally located between the main pool and the buffet and was spacious and clean. My only two complaints would be that there isn't a bar open past 7:00 p.m. except up at the a la carte's where the entertainment is in the evening. If you don't want to participate in the entertainment, or you just want a quiet area to have a conversation, there isn't anywhere to have a drink except the buffet until 10:00. The other is that it would be nice if they built some sun shelters on the beach. You have to sit a long way back, in among the palm trees, to get any shade in the beach area.

If you walk to town on the beach, leave early-it gets hot. Children in poverty situations will ask you to take their picture. They need the money- take small change with you and help them out.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Lynne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
montelimar_rrpp, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo Montelimar, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2017

Dear Lynne M


Thank you for sharing your feedback on your recent holiday experience among us, our main goal being to ensure we keep on delivering unforgettable holiday experiences to our guests, your comments are crucial in this process therefore we highly value your time and constructive critics. We are glad to read that you liked the way our reception team greeted you on arrival and that you were promptly checked in without any hassle as expected. We are delighted to see that you really enjoyed the beauty of our installations and pool. It is our intention to offer pleasing and clean accommodations so that our guests can still enjoy their vacation memories once they are back home. Thank you again for this heartwarming review of your stay with us, we look forward to your next visit.

Best regads,

Barceló Montelimar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2017

As many have already written, the site is paradisiacal, the grounds immaculately kept, the grounds beautifully maintained, and the rooms/bathrooms are clean and functional. The staff is obliging and friendly. (Tip them, their salaries are very low.) The food in the main Oceano restaurant is good, not as greasy as some writers would suggest. You will find a solid choice of raw and cooked vegetables, sublime fresh tropical fruit, and many light dishes including homemade, not oversalted, soup, sauteed chicken, stews, as well as genuine Nicaraguan soul food like chicharrones, yuca, beans, pico de gallo etc. The desserts, made fresh daily, are great; less so the breads. The draft beer served everywhere is OK; the selection of "included" mostly local alcohols is poor. The amphitheatre, night bar, mini-casino,and specialty restaurants.are located in "La Casona,"on the hill, the converted once mansion-retreat of the last Somoza dictator. Here you can sit on a large terrace and enjoy the panoramic view. Since all the nocturnal "action" takes place at this remove the hotel premises are fairly quiet at night. Do not expect any real live music here or anywhere else in the hotel. We had a room on the 4th (top) floor of the main building, close to the reception, the pool, beach, and restaurant. All these rooms have balconies looking toward the sea, beyond a lush canopy of tropical vegetation. You can bathe in the Pacific here, at low tide, but won't be able to swim much, because of the surf. (Lifeguard usually on duty.) No sign of the dreaded manta-rays. Wear water shoes if you have concerns.I tip my hat to the intrepid Nicas whose love for the ocean equals mine! The sunsets seen from the beach are spectacular. We much enjoyed sitting in the chairs under the trees, just back from the shoreline.The sanitary facilities are here and everywhere excellent. The intense heat kept us off the beach at peak daylight hours. In late April-May the season changes and the rains begin. We were on the last returning Air Transat flight to Toronto. We hope they resume next December.
Some suggestions. For a reality check, go the nearby Masachapa or better Pochomil (neither for shopping!) The hotel taxi will take you for $10 each way. Stop and have a cold beer at a pulperia, then head to one of the beachfront restaurants. The Pochomil beach is spectacular and very popular with locals. Each restaurant shares the same menu, prices, and kitchen. A complete lunch with whole fresh fish and beer will set you back about U.S.$18. Do not expect prompt service. The Nicas are generally very honest people who are comfortable with foriegners. Nonetheless, in the hotel, place your valuables in the free room safe, and do not leave your things unattended by the pool. You may return to find your them on the ground and your "place" occupied by strangers!
I offer the following remarks, in a constructive spirit, to management.The hotel today mostly depends on a local and central American clientele. This causes the staff some problems, since many of the guests are demanding, and less than environmentally enlightened. If Montelimar is to attract new visitors from more distant countries, they should make some changes. The house wine is a terrible plonk that comes from Argentina in paper boxes. Given that the locals are not wine drinkers, the change to a better wine, in bottles, from Spain or Chile, would be a wise investment. Other Spanish hotels in the same category offer free-flowing cava and brand-name liquors at no extra charge. The lobby bar, with its hated 7pm closing time,is not a congenial gathering place. It should go--to be replaced with a redesigned, theme-oriented venue, with expresso machine, visible drink list, sociable staff etc. In a country that prides itself for producing fine coffee, a major hotel should also provide a coffee nook with light pastries. The existing poolside snack bar is not appealing to gringos. A lunch grill or ranchon, offering fresh fish, chicken, hamburgers etc in a pleasant setting should be created. A quiet pool should be established for adults only. This will require work. So far, the hotel has been unsuccessful at keeping children and infants out of the "adults only" open air whirlpool bath.A walking tour of the magnificent grounds, identifying the exotic flora and fauna, would also be welcome. Last but not least, employees should be assigned more humane working schedules--many work 12 hour day or the equivalent. Such exploitive practices are illegal elsewhere, including Cuba where an 8 hour working day is the norm.
A closing note: Buy your coffee and rum at the well-stocked airport stores, where the prices are far lower. ...And yes, we hope to return to Montelimar!.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
7  Thank Reuel-London-Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
montelimar_rrpp, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo Montelimar, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2017

Dear Reuel-London-Canada,

Firstly we would like to thank you for the lovely review you shared following your recent visit to our Barceló hotel and are delighted to read that we were able to match your holiday expectations.
We are delighted to see that you really enjoyed the beauty of our installations, beach, gardens, activities, pool and overall our services. It is our intention to offer pleasing and clean accommodations so that our guests can still enjoy their vacation memories once they are back home. It is also good to know that you enjoyed the many culinary delights prepared by our professional Chefs who always strive to offer a wide variety of typical delights in order to please all palates and we thank you for letting us know that we could conquer yours. Thank you once again for making us your choice hotel and for your constructive critics, we certainly look forward to serving you again and to have the opportunity to exceed you expectations in a not too distant future.

Best regards,

Barceló Motelimar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2017

We went with many Canadians on the Air Transat trip to Barcelo Montelimar March 23 to March 30. I love how this trip started out. There was a bus conveniently located at the airport, baggage loaded for us and details sorted out in excellent fashion. Our Air Transat point of contact was a well educated local named Marcos. Marcos gave us a history of Nicaragua culture, politics, attractions and many other interesting facts during the bus ride to the resort.

The resort is stunning. All you would expect in a tropical paradise. Many day trips are available for you. My wife and I rented motorcycles for the week and did our own day trips to volcanoes, local farms, beaches and small towns near by. We rented them from Nica Moto out of Managua for about $1200 for the week for a 125 and 200 cc.

Their were many great people who made our visit a pleasant experience. I was quite surprised at a few employees in key positions that were visibly prejudice against us the entire week.The male pool bartender who sees the majority of guests and a female lobby bartender were the worst at the resort. We actually stopped going to the main pool for this reason. The other surprising part was the food, although nothing was bad, it was not something I would brag about, and the a la Carte restaurants (we were allowed 2 during the week) were plain bad and not worth going.

The sunsets were the best I have seen.The beach is absolutely gorgeous. There is lots of equipment to use for free or rent. Quads, horses, surfboards to rent. I tired boogie boarding and the surf made this a great experience.

Quite the mixed review, but this is how the trip felt. Some fantastic staff made our experience memorable, and some unexpected prejudice took away some of this. Seeing how the locals lived in corrugated metal shacks and some out of cinder blocks, no running water or power in most was certainly an eye opener to me. This did not deter all the smiles we encountered and felt safe during our off the beaten path excursions.

Room Tip: Rooms off the ground floor facing the beach offer security and fantastic views of the forest.
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank mrkeithfowler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
montelimar_rrpp, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo Montelimar, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2017

Dear mrkeithflower

We greatly appreciate the time you spent to review your recent experience in our hotel, at Barceló we always strive to exceed guests' expectations and your comments will help our teams reaching that goal. We are delighted to see that you really enjoyed the beauty of our installations, pool, the activities and overall our service. It is our intention to offer pleasing and clean accommodations so that our guests can still enjoy their vacation memories once they are back home. We are most concerned to read your remarks on the service you experienced whilst staying among us, mostly because your comments do not reflect the usual standard of service we strive to ensure for our guests, nevertheless please rest assured that your review will be shared with our head of departments for information and further revision. We are delighted to see that you really enjoyed the beauty of our installations and pool. It is our intention to offer pleasing and clean accommodations so that our guests can still enjoy their vacation memories once they are back home. Thank you once again for making us your choice hotel, we certainly look forward to serving you again in the future.

Best regards,

Barceló Montelimar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2017

Overall everything was acceptable.
Pros: the food was decent, the grounds were beautiful, it wasn't overcrowded, weather was perfect, bungalow we stayed in was nice, clean and had good A/C, very few bugs
Cons: excursions are a 2 hour bus ride away, had a bottle of rum stolen from the bus while we were on a boat ride, 2 people on the resort spoke english, internet was $35 US for the week - it only worked in the lobby and near the pool and spotty, beach not great for walking, 2 hour bus ride to airport

Room Tip: For bungalows choose 100 or 200 series
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank erwin5187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
montelimar_rrpp, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo Montelimar, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2017

Dear Erwin5187

The vision of our clients is the key to complete guest-satisfaction, therefore we are very grateful for the time you spent writing this review. We are delighted to see that you really enjoyed the beauty of our installations, pool, food and rooms. It is our intention to offer pleasing and clean accommodations so that our guests can still enjoy their vacation memories once they are back home. Please accept our sincerest apologies for the difficulties you had with our Wi-Fi service, nevertheless we will pass on your comments to our technical department for revision and improvement. At Barceló we strive to deliver an excellent service to our international clientele, therefore we always ensure that on every shift we have receptionists able to communicate with all main nationalities represented by our guests, nevertheless we thank you for your constructive remark and will make sure to share your review with our head of departments for improvement. Thank you once again for making us your choice hotel and for your constructive critics, we certainly look forward to serving you again and to have the opportunity to exceed you expectations in a not too distant future.

Best regards,

Barceló Montelimar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2017

Stayed here from March 13-20, 2017, travelling with Air Transat out of Montreal. After a great flight, we were presented with room keys, towel cards and hotel information at the airport prior to boarding the bus to the resort. ( Yes, you can buy beer on the bus!) Bus ride was 1.5 hours, with interesting scenery and commentary along the way.

After a welcome drink in the main lobby, you could go straight to your room. Luggage was delivered to the room shortly afterwards. It is a larger than average resort, so request a room close to main pool and buffet if possible. A shuttle bus runs frequently around the entire resort if walking is an issue. We had a bungalow in the 100 section, and it was spacious, clean and quiet. I loved the hammock to relax in before supper!

The beach is wide and very clean, but don't expect Caribbean blue waters...the fine dark sand is churned up by a substantial surf, which is great for boogie boarding! Pools are immaculate, and constantly maintained by very attentive ground staff. No shortage of loungers at any time of the day, and there is a large contingent of entertainers looking to keep guests occupied. Demographic was generally an older crowd, so they certainly had their work cut out for them!

Food was above average at the main buffet, and was varied enough each night to keep it interesting. Hot items were kept very hot, and refrigerated items kept very cold. A la carte meals were also excellent. Lunch was either hot dogs, hamburgers and fries at the pool snack bar, or a wider assortment at the main buffet.

The resort was not crowded, but did get busier on the weekend when the locals arrive. For this reason, we booked a la carte meals for Friday and Saturday night, and took a day trip to Masaya Volcano (well worth it!) on the Saturday also.

The large grounds are incredibly well-maintained, and are very lush compared to the surrounding countryside. Lots of wildlife to see around the resort too. The evening shows were a little weak, and like many other reviewers, I would prefer it if there was a bar open after 7pm other than the one by the casino! It is a long climb to the casino, and sometimes it is just nice to sit and talk with people you have met without the loud noise from the show drowning you out!

Check out was the fastest I've ever experienced, and they even provided a breakfast mini-buffet in the lobby while we waited for our morning shuttle back to the airport.

As much as we enjoy going somewhere different on every vacation, I would give very serious consideration to making this resort a permanent destination!!

Room Tip: Bungalows in the 100 section put you in the most central location for the pool, beach, and main buffet. Very little noise after 7pm.
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank daveandnickiec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
montelimar_rrpp, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo Montelimar, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2017

Dear Daveandnickiec

Firstly we would like to thank you for the lovely review you shared following your recent visit to our hotel and are delighted to read that we were able to match your holiday expectations. We are delighted to see that you really enjoyed the beauty of our installations, pool, food, our private beach, entertainment and overall the service. It is our intention to offer pleasing and clean accommodations so that our guests can still enjoy their vacation memories once they are back home. It is also good to know that you enjoyed the many culinary delights prepared by our professional Chefs who always strive to offer a wide variety of typical and international delights in order to please all palates and we thank you for letting us know that we could conquer yours. Thank you for making us your choice hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Best regards

Barceló Montelimar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews