We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One week stay at Barcelo Montelimar March 2017 not as expected”
Review of Barcelo Montelimar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Barcelo Montelimar
Reviewed 31 March 2017

We went with many Canadians on the Air Transat trip to Barcelo Montelimar March 23 to March 30. I love how this trip started out. There was a bus conveniently located at the airport, baggage loaded for us and details sorted out in excellent fashion. Our Air Transat point of contact was a well educated local named Marcos. Marcos gave us a history of Nicaragua culture, politics, attractions and many other interesting facts during the bus ride to the resort.

The resort is stunning. All you would expect in a tropical paradise. Many day trips are available for you. My wife and I rented motorcycles for the week and did our own day trips to volcanoes, local farms, beaches and small towns near by. We rented them from Nica Moto out of Managua for about $1200 for the week for a 125 and 200 cc.

Their were many great people who made our visit a pleasant experience. I was quite surprised at a few employees in key positions that were visibly prejudice against us the entire week.The male pool bartender who sees the majority of guests and a female lobby bartender were the worst at the resort. We actually stopped going to the main pool for this reason. The other surprising part was the food, although nothing was bad, it was not something I would brag about, and the a la Carte restaurants (we were allowed 2 during the week) were plain bad and not worth going.

The sunsets were the best I have seen.The beach is absolutely gorgeous. There is lots of equipment to use for free or rent. Quads, horses, surfboards to rent. I tired boogie boarding and the surf made this a great experience.

Quite the mixed review, but this is how the trip felt. Some fantastic staff made our experience memorable, and some unexpected prejudice took away some of this. Seeing how the locals lived in corrugated metal shacks and some out of cinder blocks, no running water or power in most was certainly an eye opener to me. This did not deter all the smiles we encountered and felt safe during our off the beaten path excursions.

Room Tip: Rooms off the ground floor facing the beach offer security and fantastic views of the forest.
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank mrkeithfowler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
montelimar_rrpp, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo Montelimar, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2017

Dear mrkeithflower

We greatly appreciate the time you spent to review your recent experience in our hotel, at Barceló we always strive to exceed guests' expectations and your comments will help our teams reaching that goal. We are delighted to see that you really enjoyed the beauty of our installations, pool, the activities and overall our service. It is our intention to offer pleasing and clean accommodations so that our guests can still enjoy their vacation memories once they are back home. We are most concerned to read your remarks on the service you experienced whilst staying among us, mostly because your comments do not reflect the usual standard of service we strive to ensure for our guests, nevertheless please rest assured that your review will be shared with our head of departments for information and further revision. We are delighted to see that you really enjoyed the beauty of our installations and pool. It is our intention to offer pleasing and clean accommodations so that our guests can still enjoy their vacation memories once they are back home. Thank you once again for making us your choice hotel, we certainly look forward to serving you again in the future.

Best regards,

Barceló Montelimar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,818)
There are newer reviews for Barcelo Montelimar
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

21 - 25 of 1,818 reviews

Reviewed 26 March 2017

Overall everything was acceptable.
Pros: the food was decent, the grounds were beautiful, it wasn't overcrowded, weather was perfect, bungalow we stayed in was nice, clean and had good A/C, very few bugs
Cons: excursions are a 2 hour bus ride away, had a bottle of rum stolen from the bus while we were on a boat ride, 2 people on the resort spoke english, internet was $35 US for the week - it only worked in the lobby and near the pool and spotty, beach not great for walking, 2 hour bus ride to airport

Room Tip: For bungalows choose 100 or 200 series
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank erwin5187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
montelimar_rrpp, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo Montelimar, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2017

Dear Erwin5187

The vision of our clients is the key to complete guest-satisfaction, therefore we are very grateful for the time you spent writing this review. We are delighted to see that you really enjoyed the beauty of our installations, pool, food and rooms. It is our intention to offer pleasing and clean accommodations so that our guests can still enjoy their vacation memories once they are back home. Please accept our sincerest apologies for the difficulties you had with our Wi-Fi service, nevertheless we will pass on your comments to our technical department for revision and improvement. At Barceló we strive to deliver an excellent service to our international clientele, therefore we always ensure that on every shift we have receptionists able to communicate with all main nationalities represented by our guests, nevertheless we thank you for your constructive remark and will make sure to share your review with our head of departments for improvement. Thank you once again for making us your choice hotel and for your constructive critics, we certainly look forward to serving you again and to have the opportunity to exceed you expectations in a not too distant future.

Best regards,

Barceló Montelimar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2017

Stayed here from March 13-20, 2017, travelling with Air Transat out of Montreal. After a great flight, we were presented with room keys, towel cards and hotel information at the airport prior to boarding the bus to the resort. ( Yes, you can buy beer on the bus!) Bus ride was 1.5 hours, with interesting scenery and commentary along the way.

After a welcome drink in the main lobby, you could go straight to your room. Luggage was delivered to the room shortly afterwards. It is a larger than average resort, so request a room close to main pool and buffet if possible. A shuttle bus runs frequently around the entire resort if walking is an issue. We had a bungalow in the 100 section, and it was spacious, clean and quiet. I loved the hammock to relax in before supper!

The beach is wide and very clean, but don't expect Caribbean blue waters...the fine dark sand is churned up by a substantial surf, which is great for boogie boarding! Pools are immaculate, and constantly maintained by very attentive ground staff. No shortage of loungers at any time of the day, and there is a large contingent of entertainers looking to keep guests occupied. Demographic was generally an older crowd, so they certainly had their work cut out for them!

Food was above average at the main buffet, and was varied enough each night to keep it interesting. Hot items were kept very hot, and refrigerated items kept very cold. A la carte meals were also excellent. Lunch was either hot dogs, hamburgers and fries at the pool snack bar, or a wider assortment at the main buffet.

The resort was not crowded, but did get busier on the weekend when the locals arrive. For this reason, we booked a la carte meals for Friday and Saturday night, and took a day trip to Masaya Volcano (well worth it!) on the Saturday also.

The large grounds are incredibly well-maintained, and are very lush compared to the surrounding countryside. Lots of wildlife to see around the resort too. The evening shows were a little weak, and like many other reviewers, I would prefer it if there was a bar open after 7pm other than the one by the casino! It is a long climb to the casino, and sometimes it is just nice to sit and talk with people you have met without the loud noise from the show drowning you out!

Check out was the fastest I've ever experienced, and they even provided a breakfast mini-buffet in the lobby while we waited for our morning shuttle back to the airport.

As much as we enjoy going somewhere different on every vacation, I would give very serious consideration to making this resort a permanent destination!!

Room Tip: Bungalows in the 100 section put you in the most central location for the pool, beach, and main buff...
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank daveandnickiec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
montelimar_rrpp, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo Montelimar, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2017

Dear Daveandnickiec

Firstly we would like to thank you for the lovely review you shared following your recent visit to our hotel and are delighted to read that we were able to match your holiday expectations. We are delighted to see that you really enjoyed the beauty of our installations, pool, food, our private beach, entertainment and overall the service. It is our intention to offer pleasing and clean accommodations so that our guests can still enjoy their vacation memories once they are back home. It is also good to know that you enjoyed the many culinary delights prepared by our professional Chefs who always strive to offer a wide variety of typical and international delights in order to please all palates and we thank you for letting us know that we could conquer yours. Thank you for making us your choice hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Best regards

Barceló Montelimar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2017

Stayed 7 nights with my wife. Overall had an amazing time. Stayed in a bungalow. I'll start with the few small annoyances: our shower did not drain properly, maintenance was sent right away and they tried to fix, it still wasn't great though so we just cut our showers short. Also the water bottles they give every day are small and we drink a lot of water, so recommend re-filling or bring your own water bottles, there are water jugs to re-fill throughout the resort which is less wasteful actually. some more premium drinks are extra charge, ex a mojito. the walk to the entertainment is a bit steep for anyone less mobile, but you can just call the shuttle for free and they're on time.
otherwise, everything else was perfect - beach is huge and beautiful, sunsets every night, we loved the food, service was also very good even when busier, there are deer and peacocks roaming, mini putt was fun even though its on concrete lol. even when it gets busy on the weekends we were still always able to find lounge chairs and our own space at the smaller pool and kids pool even. Tried the seafood restaurant which included lobster. Marcos the Air Transat rep was amazing - the best we've seen. I will say that we got a good price, so if paying full price you can probably get better value in Cuba / Dominican / Mexico (we have been to all those) but the reason we came here was to try another spot and it did not disappoint, Nicaragua was awesome - the people, food, scenery and maybe the best is the resort is so big you never feel cramped and its very relaxing. we did the mombacho volanco excursion with zip lining and it was great, also heard good things about the masaya excursion. we also walked along the road and beach to the fishing village Masachapa (about 30 minutes walk) - were a bit hesitant but there were no issues and felt safe the whole time. I highly recommend this resort for anyone wanting to go to Nicaragua!

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank paulrI1721KV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
montelimar_rrpp, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo Montelimar, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2017

Dear paulrI1721KV

Thank you very much for sharing this great review of your recent stay at our hotel . We are thrilled that you have enjoyed your stay and certainly agree that our dedicated staff plays a key role to our guests' overall experience. The entire team works very hard to ensure that we deliver a high standard of service and a warm, memorable experience. We are delighted to see that you really enjoyed the beauty of our installations, pool service and food . It is our intention to offer pleasing and clean accommodations so that our guests can still enjoy their vacation memories once they are back home. Thank you once again for making us your choice hotel we certaily look forward to serving you again and have the opportunity to exceed your expectations.

Best regards

Barceló Montelimar


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2017 via mobile

My husband and I are Travel Agents and trying to take every opportunity to travel and learn more about different countries and the resorts in the area we visit. First we want to thank Barcelo Montelimar and Air Transat for the trip, upgrading our room and giving us the chance to visit beautiful Nicaragua.

Now onto our experience. Flight on schedule (actually early), through customs quickly and met by Marcos to check us all in on the bus. Beer and water available on the bus for a small fee. Vacation has begun! Even though it was a 2 hour ride to the resort it gave you a chance to see Nicaragua. The city similar to any big city but then it is another world outside of the city. It is an experience that you wouldn't want to miss. Marcos was wonderful through out our stay. Always a friendly smile making sure our stay was going well.

Barcelo Montelimar was ready for us! Drinks in hand and off we go into this tropical garden to find our room. We got lost and a gardener helped us right to our door. 10 minutes later our luggage arrived. All done in time to hit the pool which you MUST wear flip flops in and out. The sun just heats up the patio so much that it will burn your feet. Pool floor a little rough for some so water shoes would be another option. It does get crazy busy over the weekend with locals so go on excursions on those days or hit the beach area and find a lounger in the shade. Lots of areas to have some wonderful quiet nap time.

I found the beach lovely to look at and the sunsets were stunning. Possibly stingrays in the area worried me so I only did a stroll along the edge on my way to the huts at the end of the beach selling t-shirts and local wares. Worth the walk. The warm days we're saved by the breeze! Weather was perfect.

Resort is on the larger side but a shuttle is provided to get around and only a phone call away.

Gardens are lush and well taken care off. I loved the strolls along the canopied streets and walkways. Many areas to take in. We tried a few of the bars. Pool, one by the beach, one by the tennis courts, lobby and the one up by the restaurants. All great. Go for a nice walk and you will find some place to quench your thirst. I do think that after hearing you could by a 6 pack of beer for $5.00 or less that it wouldn't hurt to give the rooms 2 beers every other day. As well as keeping the lobby bar open later. It is a long way to go to the bar at the top.

Buffet was good. Always a table ready many options to choose from. Try the Montelimar coffee after your meal. So good! We did the seafood grill and lasagna for our choice of dinners. I highly recommend the seafood not so much for the lasagna. Felt the service was much better on the Saturday then the Wednesday at the restaurant. Snacks were great at the pool. Always lots of fruit!

Entertainment they try very hard to involve the tourists but the language barrier makes it difficult. Kereoke was a lot of fun. Met some very nice people and had gatherings by the pool or bar. Canadians are always friendly!!

Our bungalow was Oceanfront. It was as close to the ocean as you could get. Walking distance to pool or buffet. Great location!

We prefer private tours vs a group and chose to use Tours by Locals. We had an English speaking guide Miguel who took us to Granada, Catarina and Masaya Nat'l Volcano (be there before 4:30 as seeing the glow of the lava you miss the rest of the views). Also offered at the resort for in around $89 US. Toured Leon as well. Both beautiful. The breeze disappeared when in town and it was downright hot hot hot.

Walk, taxi or go by rickshaw $15/$20 US and go to Masachapa. Great spot to watch the local fisherman. Go early.

Tipping for good service is very much appreciated every where you go in Nicaragua.

Check out easy. Guys were over an hour early to pick up luggage so sent away till we were ready. Some places to shop and eat at the airport while waiting to head home. You head out at 8:30/9:00 am.

Very enjoyable holiday and would recommend to anyone looking for a week of warm weather, plenty of sunshine and some relaxation. This is the spot.


Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Darlene1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
montelimar_rrpp, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo Montelimar, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2017

Dear Darlene1967

Thank you very much for sharing this great review of your recent stay at our hotel. We are thrilled that you have enjoyed your stay and certainly agree that our dedicated staff plays a key role to our guests' overall experience. The entire team works very hard to ensure that we deliver a high standard of service and a warm, memorable experience. We are delighted to see that you really enjoyed the beauty of our installations , pool, beach andspecially our service . It is our intention to offer pleasing and clean accommodations so that our guests can still enjoy their vacation memories once they are back home.We are thrilled you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Thank you for making us your choice hotel when visiting the area. We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Best regards

Barceló Montelimar


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Rafael del Sur
15.9 km away
Gran Pacifica Beach and Golf Resort
5.2 km away
Casa Pochomil
Casa Pochomil
#2 of 4 in Pochomil
36 reviews
36.0 km away
Hotel y Restaurante Hacienda San Pedro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 km away
Hotel Vistamar
Hotel Vistamar
#4 of 4 in Pochomil
92 reviews
2.1 km away
Hotel Escuela Palmeras Resort
31.3 km away
Tortuga Verde
Tortuga Verde
#1 of 1 in Diriamba
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Montelimar? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Montelimar

Address: Carretera a Masachapa, Km. 65, San Rafael del Sur 01262, Nicaragua
Phone Number:
Region: Nicaragua > Managua Department > San Rafael del Sur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in San Rafael del Sur
Price Range: ₹ 10,302 - ₹ 21,827 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Barcelo Montelimar 3.5*
Number of rooms: 293
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Barcelo Montelimar Beach Hotel, an All-Inclusivesystem Hotel with 88 double rooms, 203 bungalow and 2suites, is located in the Central Pacific Coast of Nicaragua,65 km from downtown Managua, 75 km from the AugustoCesar Sandino International Airport, and only 500 metersfrom its private airport.Barcelo Montelimar Beach is located nearby areas ofgreat tourist interest, some of the most noteworthy, are:the Masaya Volcano National Park (65 km), the Colonialtowns of Granada (80 km) and Leon (58km), Los MaribiosVolcanic Range, lagoons, lakes, mountains, and othernatural attractions.The Barcelo Montelimar Beach, the beach hotel byexcellence; is the only hotel in Nicaragua that offers theAll-Inclusive system. It is the ideal place to relax body andmind, in contact with nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Barcelo, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Prestigia so you can book your Barcelo Montelimar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Montelimar Beach Hotel Montelimar
Montelimar Beach
Montelimar Barcelo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing