We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Casa Pochomil(Pochomil)(Great Value!)
US$ 81
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Vistamar(Pochomil)
US$ 166
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 174
US$ 158
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Barcelo Managua(Managua)
US$ 118
US$ 91
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 159
US$ 120
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 99
US$ 80
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 102
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 98
US$ 85
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 88
US$ 86
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,990)
Filter reviews
1,991 results
Traveller rating
901
545
288
133
124
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
901
545
288
133
124
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmain poolbeautiful resortnightly entertainmentlobby barcentral americahorseback ridingmain restaurantlanguage barrierping ponglounge chairsmasaya volcanoyour luggagehamburgerbig poolthe pacific oceanspoke englishfishing village
Filter
Updating list...
68 - 73 of 1,991 reviews
Reviewed 26 March 2017

Overall everything was acceptable.
Pros: the food was decent, the grounds were beautiful, it wasn't overcrowded, weather was perfect, bungalow we stayed in was nice, clean and had good A/C, very few bugs
Cons: excursions are a 2 hour bus ride away, had a bottle of rum stolen from the bus while we were on a boat ride, 2 people on the resort spoke english, internet was $35 US for the week - it only worked in the lobby and near the pool and spotty, beach not great for walking, 2 hour bus ride to airport

Room Tip: For bungalows choose 100 or 200 series
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank erwin5187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
montelimar_rrpp, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo Montelimar, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2017

Dear Erwin5187

The vision of our clients is the key to complete guest-satisfaction, therefore we are very grateful for the time you spent writing this review. We are delighted to see that you really enjoyed the beauty of our installations, pool, food and rooms. It is our intention to offer pleasing and clean accommodations so that our guests can still enjoy their vacation memories once they are back home. Please accept our sincerest apologies for the difficulties you had with our Wi-Fi service, nevertheless we will pass on your comments to our technical department for revision and improvement. At Barceló we strive to deliver an excellent service to our international clientele, therefore we always ensure that on every shift we have receptionists able to communicate with all main nationalities represented by our guests, nevertheless we thank you for your constructive remark and will make sure to share your review with our head of departments for improvement. Thank you once again for making us your choice hotel and for your constructive critics, we certainly look forward to serving you again and to have the opportunity to exceed you expectations in a not too distant future.

Best regards,

Barceló Montelimar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2017

Stayed here from March 13-20, 2017, travelling with Air Transat out of Montreal. After a great flight, we were presented with room keys, towel cards and hotel information at the airport prior to boarding the bus to the resort. ( Yes, you can buy beer on the bus!) Bus ride was 1.5 hours, with interesting scenery and commentary along the way.

After a welcome drink in the main lobby, you could go straight to your room. Luggage was delivered to the room shortly afterwards. It is a larger than average resort, so request a room close to main pool and buffet if possible. A shuttle bus runs frequently around the entire resort if walking is an issue. We had a bungalow in the 100 section, and it was spacious, clean and quiet. I loved the hammock to relax in before supper!

The beach is wide and very clean, but don't expect Caribbean blue waters...the fine dark sand is churned up by a substantial surf, which is great for boogie boarding! Pools are immaculate, and constantly maintained by very attentive ground staff. No shortage of loungers at any time of the day, and there is a large contingent of entertainers looking to keep guests occupied. Demographic was generally an older crowd, so they certainly had their work cut out for them!

Food was above average at the main buffet, and was varied enough each night to keep it interesting. Hot items were kept very hot, and refrigerated items kept very cold. A la carte meals were also excellent. Lunch was either hot dogs, hamburgers and fries at the pool snack bar, or a wider assortment at the main buffet.

The resort was not crowded, but did get busier on the weekend when the locals arrive. For this reason, we booked a la carte meals for Friday and Saturday night, and took a day trip to Masaya Volcano (well worth it!) on the Saturday also.

The large grounds are incredibly well-maintained, and are very lush compared to the surrounding countryside. Lots of wildlife to see around the resort too. The evening shows were a little weak, and like many other reviewers, I would prefer it if there was a bar open after 7pm other than the one by the casino! It is a long climb to the casino, and sometimes it is just nice to sit and talk with people you have met without the loud noise from the show drowning you out!

Check out was the fastest I've ever experienced, and they even provided a breakfast mini-buffet in the lobby while we waited for our morning shuttle back to the airport.

As much as we enjoy going somewhere different on every vacation, I would give very serious consideration to making this resort a permanent destination!!

Room Tip: Bungalows in the 100 section put you in the most central location for the pool, beach, and main buffet. Very little noise after 7pm.
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank daveandnickiec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
montelimar_rrpp, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo Montelimar, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2017

Dear Daveandnickiec

Firstly we would like to thank you for the lovely review you shared following your recent visit to our hotel and are delighted to read that we were able to match your holiday expectations. We are delighted to see that you really enjoyed the beauty of our installations, pool, food, our private beach, entertainment and overall the service. It is our intention to offer pleasing and clean accommodations so that our guests can still enjoy their vacation memories once they are back home. It is also good to know that you enjoyed the many culinary delights prepared by our professional Chefs who always strive to offer a wide variety of typical and international delights in order to please all palates and we thank you for letting us know that we could conquer yours. Thank you for making us your choice hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Best regards

Barceló Montelimar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2017

Stayed 7 nights with my wife. Overall had an amazing time. Stayed in a bungalow. I'll start with the few small annoyances: our shower did not drain properly, maintenance was sent right away and they tried to fix, it still wasn't great though so we just cut our showers short. Also the water bottles they give every day are small and we drink a lot of water, so recommend re-filling or bring your own water bottles, there are water jugs to re-fill throughout the resort which is less wasteful actually. some more premium drinks are extra charge, ex a mojito. the walk to the entertainment is a bit steep for anyone less mobile, but you can just call the shuttle for free and they're on time.
otherwise, everything else was perfect - beach is huge and beautiful, sunsets every night, we loved the food, service was also very good even when busier, there are deer and peacocks roaming, mini putt was fun even though its on concrete lol. even when it gets busy on the weekends we were still always able to find lounge chairs and our own space at the smaller pool and kids pool even. Tried the seafood restaurant which included lobster. Marcos the Air Transat rep was amazing - the best we've seen. I will say that we got a good price, so if paying full price you can probably get better value in Cuba / Dominican / Mexico (we have been to all those) but the reason we came here was to try another spot and it did not disappoint, Nicaragua was awesome - the people, food, scenery and maybe the best is the resort is so big you never feel cramped and its very relaxing. we did the mombacho volanco excursion with zip lining and it was great, also heard good things about the masaya excursion. we also walked along the road and beach to the fishing village Masachapa (about 30 minutes walk) - were a bit hesitant but there were no issues and felt safe the whole time. I highly recommend this resort for anyone wanting to go to Nicaragua!

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank paulrI1721KV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
montelimar_rrpp, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo Montelimar, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2017

Dear paulrI1721KV

Thank you very much for sharing this great review of your recent stay at our hotel . We are thrilled that you have enjoyed your stay and certainly agree that our dedicated staff plays a key role to our guests' overall experience. The entire team works very hard to ensure that we deliver a high standard of service and a warm, memorable experience. We are delighted to see that you really enjoyed the beauty of our installations, pool service and food . It is our intention to offer pleasing and clean accommodations so that our guests can still enjoy their vacation memories once they are back home. Thank you once again for making us your choice hotel we certaily look forward to serving you again and have the opportunity to exceed your expectations.

Best regards

Barceló Montelimar


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2017 via mobile

My husband and I are Travel Agents and trying to take every opportunity to travel and learn more about different countries and the resorts in the area we visit. First we want to thank Barcelo Montelimar and Air Transat for the trip, upgrading our room and giving us the chance to visit beautiful Nicaragua.

Now onto our experience. Flight on schedule (actually early), through customs quickly and met by Marcos to check us all in on the bus. Beer and water available on the bus for a small fee. Vacation has begun! Even though it was a 2 hour ride to the resort it gave you a chance to see Nicaragua. The city similar to any big city but then it is another world outside of the city. It is an experience that you wouldn't want to miss. Marcos was wonderful through out our stay. Always a friendly smile making sure our stay was going well.

Barcelo Montelimar was ready for us! Drinks in hand and off we go into this tropical garden to find our room. We got lost and a gardener helped us right to our door. 10 minutes later our luggage arrived. All done in time to hit the pool which you MUST wear flip flops in and out. The sun just heats up the patio so much that it will burn your feet. Pool floor a little rough for some so water shoes would be another option. It does get crazy busy over the weekend with locals so go on excursions on those days or hit the beach area and find a lounger in the shade. Lots of areas to have some wonderful quiet nap time.

I found the beach lovely to look at and the sunsets were stunning. Possibly stingrays in the area worried me so I only did a stroll along the edge on my way to the huts at the end of the beach selling t-shirts and local wares. Worth the walk. The warm days we're saved by the breeze! Weather was perfect.

Resort is on the larger side but a shuttle is provided to get around and only a phone call away.

Gardens are lush and well taken care off. I loved the strolls along the canopied streets and walkways. Many areas to take in. We tried a few of the bars. Pool, one by the beach, one by the tennis courts, lobby and the one up by the restaurants. All great. Go for a nice walk and you will find some place to quench your thirst. I do think that after hearing you could by a 6 pack of beer for $5.00 or less that it wouldn't hurt to give the rooms 2 beers every other day. As well as keeping the lobby bar open later. It is a long way to go to the bar at the top.

Buffet was good. Always a table ready many options to choose from. Try the Montelimar coffee after your meal. So good! We did the seafood grill and lasagna for our choice of dinners. I highly recommend the seafood not so much for the lasagna. Felt the service was much better on the Saturday then the Wednesday at the restaurant. Snacks were great at the pool. Always lots of fruit!

Entertainment they try very hard to involve the tourists but the language barrier makes it difficult. Kereoke was a lot of fun. Met some very nice people and had gatherings by the pool or bar. Canadians are always friendly!!

Our bungalow was Oceanfront. It was as close to the ocean as you could get. Walking distance to pool or buffet. Great location!

We prefer private tours vs a group and chose to use Tours by Locals. We had an English speaking guide Miguel who took us to Granada, Catarina and Masaya Nat'l Volcano (be there before 4:30 as seeing the glow of the lava you miss the rest of the views). Also offered at the resort for in around $89 US. Toured Leon as well. Both beautiful. The breeze disappeared when in town and it was downright hot hot hot.

Walk, taxi or go by rickshaw $15/$20 US and go to Masachapa. Great spot to watch the local fisherman. Go early.

Tipping for good service is very much appreciated every where you go in Nicaragua.

Check out easy. Guys were over an hour early to pick up luggage so sent away till we were ready. Some places to shop and eat at the airport while waiting to head home. You head out at 8:30/9:00 am.

Very enjoyable holiday and would recommend to anyone looking for a week of warm weather, plenty of sunshine and some relaxation. This is the spot.


Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Darlene1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
montelimar_rrpp, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo Montelimar, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2017

Dear Darlene1967

Thank you very much for sharing this great review of your recent stay at our hotel. We are thrilled that you have enjoyed your stay and certainly agree that our dedicated staff plays a key role to our guests' overall experience. The entire team works very hard to ensure that we deliver a high standard of service and a warm, memorable experience. We are delighted to see that you really enjoyed the beauty of our installations , pool, beach andspecially our service . It is our intention to offer pleasing and clean accommodations so that our guests can still enjoy their vacation memories once they are back home.We are thrilled you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Thank you for making us your choice hotel when visiting the area. We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Best regards

Barceló Montelimar


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2017

We recently visited and had a 7-day stay at the Barceló Montelimar. We were a big group travelling from Canada (approx. 60 people), all there for mine and my partner’s wedding which took place on Saturday, March 11, 2017. From the very beginning until the very end our trip, our experience was extraordinary. The grounds of the Barceló are large and stunning. It feels like you’re in a jungle. It is very well taken care of and wherever you are is a beautiful sight. We were greeted at the Barceló with traditional folkloric dancers and with delicious cocktails. The staff took care of our luggage and brought them to our respective rooms in a timely manner. The rooms are spacious and clean with AC, the beds are extremely comfortable and ensure restful nights. Within the hour of arriving at the Barceló, we were all at the beach. The beach is stunning and spectacular. The sand is soft, there are no rocks and no seaweed. It is kept clean and feels deserted due to its size. Our group took advantage of the beach volleyball court which is already set up. We also rented boogie boards and enjoyed riding the waves. On our first day there we arrived before dinner time but this was not an issue as the Barceló has a snack bar opened daily from noon to 7pm, which we all enjoyed. The snack bar is located where the main pool is, which our group enjoyed very much. Most of us participated in the games and activities that took place in that area, all were very fun and entertaining! The food at the Barceló is delicious and the buffet menu varied throughout the week and for all of the 3 meals (breakfast, lunch, and dinner). The beverages were also very good, our group had a favourite, the Chacarrón. Our group very much enjoyed and took advantage of the karaoke nights. We especially enjoyed hanging out at the Casino and the disco which had great music. The shows at the Barceló were also very entertaining. I only wish they took place more often as they were great! The shows started with an interactive portion which was a lot of fun and hilarious and it was followed by traditional Nicaraguan folkloric dancing, which was stunning. The biggest factor in our incredible experience was the staff of the Barceló. All staff, from the reception staff to the gardeners, from the maids to the bar staff, from the shuttle drivers to the entertainment team, and from the restaurant staff to the security guards, were incredibly friendly and always willing to help. They were so flexible with our group and also very patient with us! We felt very welcomed and acknowledged. Many of them knew our names and would go out of their way to come greet us. Through the staff we were able to set up private excursions and get “microbuses” to get around and visit neighbouring towns; all at affordable prices. The drivers were always friendly, patient, and flexible as well. My partner and I worked closely with the events coordinator Maria who was extremely helpful throughout the week and always there for us. She was one of those staff who always went out of her way to ensure our needs were met. She helped relieve a lot of stress and worries surrounding our wedding, which was held at the Barceló’s Ranchón. She was present for our wedding reception, ensuring everything went according to plan. The food for our wedding buffet was delicious, but the best part about our reception was the Dj the Barceló provided who perfectly read the crowd. If it hadn’t been for him stopping the music (past the time our party was supposed to end) we could have stayed there all night. The Dj played music for everyone in our group, music for the older generations, for the younger crowd, latin music, and even typical Nicaragua music that we all enjoyed. I highly recommend visiting and staying at the Barceló Montelimar, your experience will be one of a kind. My partner and I will certainly be returning, and our group is actually planning a reunion there in a few years, that’s how much we all enjoyed it! Gracias Barceló!!

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank kvgn05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
montelimar_rrpp, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo Montelimar, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2017

Dear kvgn05

Thank you very much for sharing this great review of your recent stay at our hotel. We are thrilled that you have enjoyed your stay and certainly agree that our dedicated staff plays a key role to our guests' overall experience. The entire team works very hard to ensure that we deliver a high standard of service and a warm, memorable experience. We are delighted to see that you really enjoyed the beauty of our installations, pool, food, and over more our service. It is our intention to offer pleasing and clean accommodations so that our guests can still enjoy their vacation memories once they are back home. Once again we thank you for choosing our hotel for your holiday and made us part of that precious moment. We look forward to having the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Best regards

Barceló Montelimar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews