We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Casa Pochomil(Pochomil)(Great Value!)
US$ 81
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Vistamar(Pochomil)
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$ 175
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$ 171
US$ 162
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Barcelo Managua(Managua)
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$ 158
US$ 93
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 106
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 107
US$ 95
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$ 114
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 96
US$ 87
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$ 75
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 84/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (1,967)
Filter reviews
1,967 results
Traveller rating
889
540
286
130
122
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
889
540
286
130
122
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmain poolbeautiful resortnightly entertainmenttropical paradiselobby barmain buildinghorseback ridingcentral americahuge poollanguage barrierping pongmasaya volcanolounge chairsyour luggagerainy seasonhamburgerthe pacific ocean
Filter
Updating list...
385 - 390 of 1,967 reviews
Reviewed 24 May 2012

The hotel is quite good and is really clean and well maintained but charging $US10 a day for wifi that only works in the hotels reception is a bad joke. I have just travelled in Costa Rica where every single hotel/motel/hostel I saw had free wifi. I'm told they're "working on it" at Barcelo Montelimar - In the mean time they're still willing to charge more than full price for what is pretty much a basic amenity in other comparable hotels.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
4  Thank jason666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 27 June 2012

Dear client is a pleasure for us to know you visited us in Barceló Montelimar Beach, the cost of the Internet is for 24 hours, wifi in the only one hotel all inclusive, already we count with wifi in the cabins, and you can use the ciber also.

We hope you visit us soon.

Best Regards,



Ignacio Humanes
Gereneral Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2012

Been here a few times and while it the quality has gone down a little we did enjoy our stay. The bungalow was beautiful, pool was wonderful, food was delicious and the price couldn't be beat. Most of the wait staff in the restaurant was fabulous friendly. We had a few problems, internet was not available except at reception. The ac in the bungalow didn't work to well and we called a few times to repair it but no one came. There wasn't enough towels in the room and housekeeping was suppose to bring some but they didn't. Also they didn't clean our room the 3rd day and when we about it, the first thing they said (not even a hello) was housekeeping had all left. Which was odd because when we left to go to the pool a few minutes later,we saw some housekeeping staff cleaning rooms. Reception and housekeeping staff definitely needs customer service training. Overall, the resort is great and a good value. If the management works with the staff on customer service, I would definitely come back later this year.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank ritam29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nmurillo, Director General at Barcelo Montelimar, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2012

Dear client makes is a pleasure to know that your demurrage was nice. All your comments are very important for us, this makes us improve the service to our clients, the Wi-Fi will be activated in May in the whole hotel, we send your comments to all the involved areas and the necessary measurements were taken, we hope you will visit us soon.

Regards,



Ignacio Humanes
Gerente General

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2012

We went to the resort for a weekend and had a great time! The all inclusive food and drink was excellent. Our room was clean, we had a working AC and comfortable chairs in the room. Ours was a villa by the beach and it was beautiful. The pool is gorgeous and huge! We also went horseback riding and had massages for very reasonable prices. I wouldnt shop in the resort and instead head into town to get some good souvenirs and sample local fare.
Overall solid resort with beautiful scenery!

Room Tip: Get a villa room by the beach.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rehanmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2012

My friend and I were in Nicaragua for one month volunteering at a children's program in Managua. After a very rough week, we decided to plan a getaway for the weekend and we found Barcelo. We ended up staying her twice on our trip we loved it so much! The price was right and food and drinks were included so that was all we needed to know! We were more than pleseantly surprised when we arrived and saw how gorgeous the grounds were. The first weekend we stayed in a villa that we had all to ourselves. It was very spacious and had a lovely patio with a traditional Nicaraguan hammock. The room was very clean and the bathroom was huge! The second weekend we stayed in a traditional room with a balcony which was equally clean, but much smaller for the same price (we did book last minute, however). The buffet was excellent, however, the desserts were just so so. The best part about this hotel is the huge pool! There is always a chair to be found and the pool itself is clean and inviting. The beach is also wonderful and relaxing! You will not be disappointed if you stay here.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alitravelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nmurillo, Director General at Barcelo Montelimar, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2012

Dear Client,

Is a pleasure for us to know your stay was good at Barcelo Montelimar Beach, we have a great variety of attractions as a field of tennis, mini golf, pool, zoo, a wide flora and fauna, great weather all the year round.

We hope you visit us soon!

Best Regards,



Ignacio Humanes
Gerente General

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2012

My daughter and I were in Nicaragua on a medical mission and came to Montelimar Beach for a long weekend before returning home to New York . We were pleasantly surprised. The beach was gorgeous and the bungalow we stayed in was lovely (especially considering the price point..I think I paid $75 a day for each of us). The food I have to say wasn't great. Though the buffet was plentiful the quality of the food was poor (But then again we have been traveling to Nicaragua for four years and would have to say that in general, we find it hard to get a good meal) Drinks were included in our price--but I didn't indulge since the liquor was pretty rough stuff. Shows are pretty amateur and there is a place on site called a zoo which is just plain depressing. BUT I still award the place four stars for its great value, amazing beach, good swimming pools and friendly staff

Room Tip: Stay at one of the beach bungalows...so lovely
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank doubletravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews