We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nicaragua Beach”
Review of Barcelo Montelimar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Barcelo Montelimar
Reviewed 1 June 2012

The Barcelo Montelimar is a great place. The pools are awesome. The casitas/cabanas are great. Loved the Palapa (thatched roof) Pool side bar near the beach. Nice beach. Good food. Overall a nice place to vacation.

Room Tip: Get one of the casitas/cabanas and not a room in the main building.
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Seroli_Family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 4 July 2012

Dear Guest is a pleasure to us to know you had a great time in Barcelo Montelimar Beach, we have a great beach with excellent view, you can enjoy the lovely sunset every afternoon, we hope to see you soon at the Resort unique all inclusive in Nicaragua.

Best Regards,



Ignacio Humanes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,818)
There are newer reviews for Barcelo Montelimar
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

342 - 346 of 1,818 reviews

Reviewed 24 May 2012

The hotel is quite good and is really clean and well maintained but charging $US10 a day for wifi that only works in the hotels reception is a bad joke. I have just travelled in Costa Rica where every single hotel/motel/hostel I saw had free wifi. I'm told they're "working on it" at Barcelo Montelimar - In the mean time they're still willing to charge more than full price for what is pretty much a basic amenity in other comparable hotels.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
4  Thank jason666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 27 June 2012

Dear client is a pleasure for us to know you visited us in Barceló Montelimar Beach, the cost of the Internet is for 24 hours, wifi in the only one hotel all inclusive, already we count with wifi in the cabins, and you can use the ciber also.

We hope you visit us soon.

Best Regards,



Ignacio Humanes
Gereneral Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2012

Been here a few times and while it the quality has gone down a little we did enjoy our stay. The bungalow was beautiful, pool was wonderful, food was delicious and the price couldn't be beat. Most of the wait staff in the restaurant was fabulous friendly. We had a few problems, internet was not available except at reception. The ac in the bungalow didn't work to well and we called a few times to repair it but no one came. There wasn't enough towels in the room and housekeeping was suppose to bring some but they didn't. Also they didn't clean our room the 3rd day and when we about it, the first thing they said (not even a hello) was housekeeping had all left. Which was odd because when we left to go to the pool a few minutes later,we saw some housekeeping staff cleaning rooms. Reception and housekeeping staff definitely needs customer service training. Overall, the resort is great and a good value. If the management works with the staff on customer service, I would definitely come back later this year.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Rita M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nmurillo, Director General at Barcelo Montelimar, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2012

Dear client makes is a pleasure to know that your demurrage was nice. All your comments are very important for us, this makes us improve the service to our clients, the Wi-Fi will be activated in May in the whole hotel, we send your comments to all the involved areas and the necessary measurements were taken, we hope you will visit us soon.

Regards,



Ignacio Humanes
Gerente General

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2012

We went to the resort for a weekend and had a great time! The all inclusive food and drink was excellent. Our room was clean, we had a working AC and comfortable chairs in the room. Ours was a villa by the beach and it was beautiful. The pool is gorgeous and huge! We also went horseback riding and had massages for very reasonable prices. I wouldnt shop in the resort and instead head into town to get some good souvenirs and sample local fare.
Overall solid resort with beautiful scenery!

Room Tip: Get a villa room by the beach.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rehanmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2012

My friend and I were in Nicaragua for one month volunteering at a children's program in Managua. After a very rough week, we decided to plan a getaway for the weekend and we found Barcelo. We ended up staying her twice on our trip we loved it so much! The price was right and food and drinks were included so that was all we needed to know! We were more than pleseantly surprised when we arrived and saw how gorgeous the grounds were. The first weekend we stayed in a villa that we had all to ourselves. It was very spacious and had a lovely patio with a traditional Nicaraguan hammock. The room was very clean and the bathroom was huge! The second weekend we stayed in a traditional room with a balcony which was equally clean, but much smaller for the same price (we did book last minute, however). The buffet was excellent, however, the desserts were just so so. The best part about this hotel is the huge pool! There is always a chair to be found and the pool itself is clean and inviting. The beach is also wonderful and relaxing! You will not be disappointed if you stay here.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alitravelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nmurillo, Director General at Barcelo Montelimar, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2012

Dear Client,

Is a pleasure for us to know your stay was good at Barcelo Montelimar Beach, we have a great variety of attractions as a field of tennis, mini golf, pool, zoo, a wide flora and fauna, great weather all the year round.

We hope you visit us soon!

Best Regards,



Ignacio Humanes
Gerente General

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Rafael del Sur
15.9 km away
Gran Pacifica Beach and Golf Resort
5.2 km away
Casa Pochomil
Casa Pochomil
#2 of 4 in Pochomil
36 reviews
36.0 km away
Hotel y Restaurante Hacienda San Pedro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 km away
Hotel Vistamar
Hotel Vistamar
#4 of 4 in Pochomil
92 reviews
2.1 km away
Hotel Escuela Palmeras Resort
31.3 km away
Tortuga Verde
Tortuga Verde
#1 of 1 in Diriamba
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Montelimar? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Montelimar

Address: Carretera a Masachapa, Km. 65, San Rafael del Sur 01262, Nicaragua
Phone Number:
Region: Nicaragua > Managua Department > San Rafael del Sur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in San Rafael del Sur
Price Range: ₹ 10,579 - ₹ 21,802 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Barcelo Montelimar 3.5*
Number of rooms: 293
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Barcelo Montelimar Beach Hotel, an All-Inclusivesystem Hotel with 88 double rooms, 203 bungalow and 2suites, is located in the Central Pacific Coast of Nicaragua,65 km from downtown Managua, 75 km from the AugustoCesar Sandino International Airport, and only 500 metersfrom its private airport.Barcelo Montelimar Beach is located nearby areas ofgreat tourist interest, some of the most noteworthy, are:the Masaya Volcano National Park (65 km), the Colonialtowns of Granada (80 km) and Leon (58km), Los MaribiosVolcanic Range, lagoons, lakes, mountains, and othernatural attractions.The Barcelo Montelimar Beach, the beach hotel byexcellence; is the only hotel in Nicaragua that offers theAll-Inclusive system. It is the ideal place to relax body andmind, in contact with nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Barcelo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com and Prestigia so you can book your Barcelo Montelimar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Montelimar Beach Hotel Montelimar
Montelimar Beach
Montelimar Barcelo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing