We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very relaxing and comfortable”
Review of Barcelo Montelimar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Barcelo Montelimar
Reviewed 28 January 2008

My boyfriend and I have just come back from a getaway at this resort, and it was a most relaxing week. The pool facilities are clean, it wasn't too crowded and it seems to attract mostly older people and couples. In January the weather was perfect.

I would recommend the massage services - and at $30 per hour it represents good value.

The only thing I wasn't keen on was the cheesy pop music blaring from the main pool during the day. Also, one of the organised activities was seemingly a girls dancing competition where guests were invited to dance enticingly for men sitting by the pool. An unecessarily tacky addition to an otherwise classy and well-organised resort.

Stayed: January 2008
3  Thank Marfypops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,866)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

469 - 473 of 1,866 reviews

Reviewed 24 January 2008

Just got back, here's a quick reliable review... I consider myself a reasonable traveller.

Hotel rooms in tower: nice, but smaller than the bungalos, but newer then the bungalows.

Bungalows: I stayed in one, they are ok, larger than the hotel rooms, a little dated... I prefer the bungalows over the tower as they are larger, a little quieter too, but bungalos were not as nice as the "tower".

Weather: incredible, hot sunny, few clouds, slight breeze... much better than Punta Cana where it is often too windy in winter

Food: Buffet and a la carte were good; Downside: can only do 2 a la carte dinners during your stay... the seafood restaurant was the best... there are three restaurants, all in the same building.

Casino: quaint

Bars: good service

Excersions: good, see the volcano and go shopping

Excellent rum deals believe it or not at the duty free on the way out... example: Appleton 740ml for $8US, local rum even cheaper

I consider it a 3.5 to 4 star, no more. Very clean, good food and service, just not luxurious. Nice grounds too, just for walks.

Very good for couples and for a relaxing week, I do NOT recommended it for singles.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank GoHabsGo24Cups
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2008

We just returned from the Barcelo Montelimar and recommend it for anyone looking for an affordable all-inclusive resort.

The hotel grounds were lush and immaculate. During the day you can swim in the largest pool in Central America, dry off in a hammock, take in the sunset over the Pacific and wait for the night sky to become dense with bright stars.

There are a few options for food and drink including their main restaurant which offers a variety of food for breakfast lunch and dinner, numerous bars located throughout the resort, a snack bar in the center of the pool that serves burgers, hot dogs, and tasty chicken wings and an a la carte restaurant downstairs
from the casino ($25 per person) which offers three menus: Seafood, Spanish and Nicaraguan.

Our first night was spent in a bungalow. The bungalow was spacious but not to our liking because it retained too much humidity, the bathroom light was dim, we could hear our neighbors through its thin walls and we discovered a rather large mutated cricket on the bedspread. However, don't let this turn you off to the bungalows. If you want close access to the beach, a private hammock and don't mind more rustic accommodations, then choose the bungalow. The next day the
hotel kindly granted our request and placed us in a standard room in the main building and it made all the difference. The room was comfortable and came with a bigger bathroom and a private balcony.

We found the hotel staff extremely friendly. The other guests at the resort were mostly from Montreal or from neighboring countries. It's a good place to brush up on both your Spanish and French. There was plenty to do including sea kayaking, boogie boarding, mini golf, ping-pong, tennis, basketball and for an extra cost horseback riding and ATV rentals. The best deal was booking a 1 hour massage for $30! At night there's no where to go except to the casino and the discotheque. The casino was lively during the weekend but quiet during the weeknights.

All in all we had a great time and endorse the hotel 100%. Be the first of your friends to visit Nicaragua and spread the word!

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
9  Thank CelleNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2008

Stayed at the Barcelo Montelimar for 1 week with 2 kids (15 and 11) and 1 more week in couple. Kids simply loved their stay (experienced Manzanillo and Cuba before). Lots to do for them, and adults...kayak, body surf, mini golf, basket, ping-pong,etc plus 4 wheels ($$ but was worth the tour!). At night, kids enjoyed the shows (we found them a bit amateur so we went to the Casino!...). Food at the buffet was great with lots of variety (main courses always had fish, beef, chicken and or pork and pasta at your choice) with salad bar and all kind of other things. View on the ocean was a great pleasure. Went to the a la carte restaurants 4 times and enjoyed everything out there. Staff is great and helpful, lots of smiles and welcoming formulas. Pool is huge and very clean. The ocean is great with nice waves for body surf with no undertoe (very safe for everyone, kids and olders). Beach is so huge you feel the place is empty! Stayed in the hotel rather than in a bungalow and enjoyed proximity to front desk, bar, internet, etc. Room always very clean with ocean view (all of them when you stay 2nd, 3rd or 4th level).
We did 2 of the 10 offered tours and enjoyed them very much (Managua and Volcan Masaya tour and Shopping to Masaya tour) where we found nice things for souvenirs.
One suggestion we made was to have umbrellas at the beach (otherwise we had to stay under the trees which are a bit far from the ocean). We also found that the different other bars than the one at the Casino/disco should stay opened longer and later (not that much a big deal!). All in all very peaceful place, nice food and nice staff. Will certainly go back!

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank Rob12Ottawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2008

I thought montelimar was heaven. The food was delicious, the pool was great, everything is included with your stay. Lots of fun things to do, like horse back riding (extra charge), minigolf, and other sports. Everything form the hotel to the beach is beautiful there, the garden,the rooms, the pools, even the buffet restaurant with the view of the ocean in front. You dont speak spanish you might have to get some lessons, most of the staff thier speak very little english, but not everybody in the world is expected to speak english. I had no trouble understanding since I come from Nicaragua, I just went to visit. The staff was great and very helpful. I really enjoyed my stay and I will surely be going back very soon.

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank xox-Fernanda-xox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Rafael del Sur
15.9 km away
Gran Pacifica Beach and Golf Resort
5.2 km away
Casa Pochomil
Casa Pochomil
#2 of 4 in Pochomil
37 reviews
14.1 km away
Los Cardones EcoLodge
Los Cardones EcoLodge
#1 of 4 in Pochomil
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 km away
Hotel Vistamar
Hotel Vistamar
#4 of 4 in Pochomil
92 reviews
2.1 km away
Hotel Escuela Palmeras Resort
0 km away
Tortuga Verde
Tortuga Verde
#1 of 2 in Diriamba
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Montelimar? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Montelimar

Address: Carretera a Masachapa, Km. 65, San Rafael del Sur 01262, Nicaragua
Phone Number:
Region: Nicaragua > Managua Department > San Rafael del Sur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in San Rafael del Sur
Price Range: ₹ 10,969 - ₹ 23,661 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Barcelo Montelimar 3.5*
Number of rooms: 293
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Barcelo Montelimar Beach Hotel, an All-Inclusivesystem Hotel with 88 double rooms, 203 bungalow and 2suites, is located in the Central Pacific Coast of Nicaragua,65 km from downtown Managua, 75 km from the AugustoCesar Sandino International Airport, and only 500 metersfrom its private airport.Barcelo Montelimar Beach is located nearby areas ofgreat tourist interest, some of the most noteworthy, are:the Masaya Volcano National Park (65 km), the Colonialtowns of Granada (80 km) and Leon (58km), Los MaribiosVolcanic Range, lagoons, lakes, mountains, and othernatural attractions.The Barcelo Montelimar Beach, the beach hotel byexcellence; is the only hotel in Nicaragua that offers theAll-Inclusive system. It is the ideal place to relax body andmind, in contact with nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Prestigia and Agoda so you can book your Barcelo Montelimar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Montelimar Beach Hotel Montelimar
Montelimar Beach
Montelimar Barcelo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing