We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous property, average amenities”
Review of Barcelo Montelimar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Barcelo Montelimar
Reviewed 23 February 2012

The property was clean and well-kept. I often saw maintenance crews painting, sweeping, etc to keep the place updated. The resort is all-inclusive, but leaves out horseback riding, 4-wheeling, and biking as those will all cost extra. The buffet was below average with many items being overcooked or bland.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Daniel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nmurillo, General Manager at Barcelo Montelimar, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2012

Dear Guest,

Is so good to know the hotel was a pleasure for you, Montelimar have many activities like motorcycle, horses, and bicycles.

Thank you so much for your comments this makes us improve our service, we hope to see you very soon.

Best Regards,



Ignacio Humanes
Gerente General

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,818)
There are newer reviews for Barcelo Montelimar
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

358 - 362 of 1,818 reviews

Reviewed 16 February 2012

Hotel grounds are kept very clean.Staff working everywhere-landscaping,plumbing,chefs,room service etc.If you like to expericence a new culture--Nicaraguan food and people then this is the place.Food was great at the Oceano restaurant--nicaraguan.Also you got to go to the a la carte restaurant athe the old Samosa Summer House overlooking the beach--great Free lobster Grill with huge shrimps sauted in garlic butter and fresh fish.We also tried the Sirloin Steak--cut like like butter --delicious.
The beach was great--super long 4 km-great to walk.It was very wide-almost empty.Great to do boogie boarding.
We took a bicycle rickshaw for $15 to the nearest fishing villageand to another beach where President Daniel Ortega has his huge beach house.

The place is huge-has mini golf,a zoo with small reindeers, and horses for riding.We went on a ATV on the beach--lots of fun.Booze was great--tried the Eco martini--Vodka/7-Up/Green Melon Liqueur.
The burgers were great at the snack bar by the huge pool.used the Gym and jaccuzi as well.
Only complaint was that there was no Beach Umbrella Huts.Also as being in the tropical jungle setting--our bungalow had some nightly visitors--10 cockroaches over 14 days.

otherwise highly recommended--would go again!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sultanofsin007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nmurillo, General Manager at Barcelo Montelimar, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments, Barceló Montelimar Beach possesses beautiful beaches, many history as the restaurant La Casona the one that was the beach house of the president Somoza.

We have many activities in the ranchon, your comments are very important to us, this helps us to continue improving our service to our clients our mission is every client enjoy a great time in Barcelo Montelimar Beach

Atentamente,



Ignacio Humanes
Gerente General

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2012

Two bungalows were booked on October 18 2011 for our February 2012 five night family stay at the Barceló Montelimar. Upon our arrival on February fourth, the Reception staff told us that there were no bungalows available for the first night and we would have to stay in the main hotel section. As it turned out this was just as well as the next day we declined to change rooms whereas the two bungalows we were shown both smelled very musty.
The presentation and quality of food was well below what we have come to expect at an all-inclusive major hotel chain. In fact some family members declined to eat some meals as they were just not feeling up to it!
If you are not too concerned with the quality of food and the level of customer service, you can certainly expect to enjoy your stay as the property is beautiful and well maintained.

Room Tip: Recommend the main hotel rooms whereas the bungalows we were offered had a musty smell.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BobC486
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2012

We stayed at the Barceló Montelimar for 8 days and had an alright time. The resort offeres great landscape, multiple pools, private beach, hammocks, drinks, casino (horrible), buffet style food (not too bad) and an opportunity to dine at a restaurant (good) for an extra charge. They also rent ATV’s ($35 per hr) and some group excursions ($65 per person) that you should look into a.s.a.p. The resort “bars” close at dark so there is not much night life.

The resort staff was very friendly but didn’t speak much English. Most of the guests were older than us (we are 30) and spoke French/Spanish. There were not too many Americans.

The resort can get pretty boring after a few days so we had the front desk call us a bike-taxi to take us into town. We requested Louis, bike #20, to show us around town. He introduced us to his family & friends, showed us his house and assisted us w/renting a boat. The life style in Nicaragua is very different (poor) but the people were very friendly.

We stumbled upon a Canadian, Luc, who owned a B&B, Casa Larocque, near the beach. He was a great host and had good food. We wished we would have stayed at his place for a few nights.

For a true Nicaraguan experience I would recommend skipping the Montelimar and staying a few nights at the Casa Larocque. We would have also liked to travel to Leon and San Juan Del Sur and stayed a few nights at a local B&B.

We used the taxi cabs w/red plates and didn’t have any safety concerns. I would recommend bringing a Spanish/English book and/or download a translator app on your phone that you don’t need a Wi-Fi connection to access. We knew very little Spanish but still managed to have a good time.

Room Tip: We stayed in a hotel room but the also offer bungalows closer to the beach.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2012

The beach, pool and grounds are beautiful. The entertainment is quite a distance from the bungalows. There is a shuttle service but it was sporadic at night, we waited for over 30 minutes one evening and just gave up. Entertainment announcements are pictures, changed daily, at the main dining area and the pool. There is no description of the entertainment and nothing in the rooms or on the resort's tv station. The food was good and the staff were very nice although few spoke English. (Few guests spoke English) After several days exploring Nicaragua the resort was a welcome place to relax and finally get hot showers! We did have to wait for towels, as well as a working clock and hair dryer, but Nicaraguans throughout our trip were slow but sure and very, very kind. There is not much to do after dark, and it gets very dark, the bar at the pool is the only one open after 7pm unless you can get transportation to the casino and entertainment. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: Request a bungalow close to the pool and restaurant. There is also a hotel.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gcflash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Rafael del Sur
15.9 km away
Gran Pacifica Beach and Golf Resort
5.2 km away
Casa Pochomil
Casa Pochomil
#2 of 4 in Pochomil
36 reviews
36.0 km away
Hotel y Restaurante Hacienda San Pedro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 km away
Hotel Vistamar
Hotel Vistamar
#4 of 4 in Pochomil
92 reviews
2.1 km away
Hotel Escuela Palmeras Resort
31.3 km away
Tortuga Verde
Tortuga Verde
#1 of 1 in Diriamba
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Montelimar? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Montelimar

Address: Carretera a Masachapa, Km. 65, San Rafael del Sur 01262, Nicaragua
Phone Number:
Region: Nicaragua > Managua Department > San Rafael del Sur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in San Rafael del Sur
Price Range: ₹ 10,472 - ₹ 21,778 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Barcelo Montelimar 3.5*
Number of rooms: 293
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Barcelo Montelimar Beach Hotel, an All-Inclusivesystem Hotel with 88 double rooms, 203 bungalow and 2suites, is located in the Central Pacific Coast of Nicaragua,65 km from downtown Managua, 75 km from the AugustoCesar Sandino International Airport, and only 500 metersfrom its private airport.Barcelo Montelimar Beach is located nearby areas ofgreat tourist interest, some of the most noteworthy, are:the Masaya Volcano National Park (65 km), the Colonialtowns of Granada (80 km) and Leon (58km), Los MaribiosVolcanic Range, lagoons, lakes, mountains, and othernatural attractions.The Barcelo Montelimar Beach, the beach hotel byexcellence; is the only hotel in Nicaragua that offers theAll-Inclusive system. It is the ideal place to relax body andmind, in contact with nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Barcelo, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Prestigia so you can book your Barcelo Montelimar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Montelimar Beach Hotel Montelimar
Montelimar Beach
Montelimar Barcelo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing