We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service”
Review of Highbullen Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Highbullen Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chittlehamholt
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 October 2017

This is an extremely well kept estate with rooms in various buildings around the estate , every facility available in the rooms with the exception of a fridge .
The staff in the hotel are friendly and efficient and breakfast menu and cooking a triumph .Dinner at £39 per head possibly a touch overpriced .
There are some wonderful sculptures in the manicured grounds and lovely country views from the lounges and restaurant

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WMoore001, General Manager at Highbullen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2017

Thank you for your review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you found the staff to be friendly and efficient. I hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back to Highbullen on a future occasion. Kind regards, Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (629)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 38 of 629 reviews

Reviewed 18 October 2017

I suppose I had not got my head into gear re the Devon lanes as not having been that way for 3/4 years and I am not a fan of Sat Navs !! A good old map still gets me there.
However, that is the first warning, this place is well tucked away up some really narrow back lanes but quite impressive on arrival and set in lovely grounds as well as the golf course so plenty of walking area's.
Very pleasant lounges, main restaurant and bistro. Very good breakfast selection and quality. For evening meals we hit on, once again, the issues with fine dining and what I call "messed with" or "funny" food. Some of these chefs do go over the top with their experiments that we are completely turned off by going to bed hungry. !!
In this case, yes, we were prepared for the worst but the meals turned out to be reasonably acceptable and tasty in both eateries.
The usual problem came for my wife who is not a meat eater but takes fish and vegetarian and once again, she was faced with a very limited choice. We had a three night stay and the menu was the same on the first two, which meant I had to go for the same as the previous night due to its limitations. So, that was when we changed to the bistro for our last night which at least allowed us to have a change of menu, ie, steak's, burgers, fish and chips ect. We must sound like 'heathen' fast food eaters but far from it as I believe, like most people we talk with in hotels, we like a sensibly cooked amount and quality at realistic prices with a varied selection plus not having to lay out for vegies and potatoes to make a meal.
Our room was excellent on the first floor of the house. Roomy, clean and comfortable with a good bathroom
A Warning. I have to own up to not asking if the hotel had a lift so beware, it does not as it is a listed building. As a result my wife, who is not that good with stairs, had to navigate two flights up and down due to the eateries being in the basement.
There are 3/4 ways to reach this hotel and now that I have found the shortest may well consider a future stay coupled with some eating at the village pub 2/300 yds along the road.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ianbunnybell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WMoore001, General Manager at Highbullen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2017

Thank you for your recent review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, and you were happy with the service and facilities we provided. I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Highbullen on a future occasion. Kind regards, Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2017

A group of five of us came to High Bullen for one night and a round of golf. We were all impressed by the warm and friendly welcome from all the staff we came into contact with from the receptionists, to the catering staff and including groundsmen on the golf course. We are looking forward to returning.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andrewbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WMoore001, General Manager at Highbullen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2017

Thank you for your review, and your wonderful comments. I hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back to Highbullen on a future occasion. Kind regards, Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2017 via mobile

This is the 3rd visit now in the last 18 months after a summer visit in 2016 and a New Year stay late 2016. We stayed in one of the sportsmans lodges which are in the grounds, rather than the Manor House. The lodge is great, very spacious room and a lovely view of the countryside.

The spa and pool facilities are still top notch and we booked a massage this time with Dee Brand, this was well worth it.

The food in the Cellars restaurant was ok but they should note that the soup portion for lunch was minimal, barely a few centimetres and the burger in the evening was very undercooked, although tasty.

The Devon View menu and food was excellent and highly recommended. The service was great as well.

Breakfast, as always, was tasty.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Coopes63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WMoore001, General Manager at Highbullen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2017

Thank you for your recent review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. I have noted your comments regarding the soup portion and beef burger, and I will be reviewing it with my Head Chef. I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Highbullen on a future occasion. Kind regards, Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2017 via mobile

We had a fabulous stay. Beautiful surroundings, lovely room, delicious food and brilliant staff!

The only suggestion i would make is to make the fine dining vegetarian option a bit more interesting. When we visited it was something like ravioli or risotto - not very exciting! We opted for the cellars restaurant instead as more choice however the veggie options there were also the usual suspects- mainly pizza and pasta.

The food we ordered was really delicious though and we hope to stay again next time we are in Devon!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank starGstarstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WMoore001, General Manager at Highbullen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2017

Thank you for your review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your weekend break with us. I have noted your comments regarding vegetarian options. I am delighted that you were able to experience both the Devon View and Cellars restaurants. I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Highbullen on a future occasion. Kind regards, Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chittlehamholt
36.7 km away
Bovey Castle Hotel
Bovey Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Bovey
2,483 reviews
3.5 km away
Northcote Manor Country House Hotel
8.8 km away
Fox and Hounds Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.2 km away
Saunton Sands Hotel
Saunton Sands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Braunton
1,879 reviews
31.3 km away
Watersmeet Hotel
Watersmeet Hotel
#1 of 4 in Woolacombe
908 reviews
17.3 km away
Barnstaple Hotel
Barnstaple Hotel
#3 of 6 in Barnstaple
1,411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highbullen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highbullen Hotel

Address: Chittlehamholt EX37 9HD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Chittlehamholt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chittlehamholt
Price Range: ₹ 8,237 - ₹ 17,198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Highbullen Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Highbullen Hotel, Golf and Country Club is set in a 125 acre estate in the heart of North Devon, with far reaching views down the Mole Valley and across to Exmoor. Here you will find a warm welcome, comfortable and luxurious surroundings and the opportunity to enjoy an unrivalled selection of activities on site and nearby. Highbullen has been fully refurbished in 2013, including all the rooms, restaurant and all public areas. There is an 18 hole USPGA specification golf course and a extensive leisure facilities, including swimming (indoor and outdoor), gym, sauna, steam room, Jacuzzi and tennis. Nestled between Dartmoor and Exmoor and within easy reach of Exeter in one direction and the Atlantic coast in the other. Guests can take their pick of accommodation - from a luxury room in the impressive Victorian "Arts and Crafts" manor house, to a selection of peaceful rooms located around the estate. Nearby you can walk on Exmoor or the South West Coast Path, with breathtaking views, or enjoy all the activities and attractions of this beautiful part of North Devon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Highbullen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highbullen Hotel Umberleigh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing