We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hosts, lovely room, lovely food, lovely location. Would love to return.”
Review of Chateau de Corrige

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chateau de Corrige
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 May 2017

A little gem not to be missed if you have the opportunity. I was greeted by Lorraine on arrival, quite relieved to be able to speak English as Id been reciting French in my head for the past month!
The "chateau" is not what we might classically expect to be called a chateau, but more a large manor house in its appearance, elegant and understated on the outside, but Lorraine and Ben have created a stylish, quirky and relaxing interior, totally up my street.
I had the "blue" room, with lovely big bedroom, attached seating area and nice shower room with waterfall tap, cool.
I had two big windows, one in each room, overlooking the front terrace and the meadows beyond. The birdsong here is lovely and amazing both at sunrise and sunset. I was treated to the song of a Nightingale as I went to bed, which I managed to record on my phone, above the sound of the crickets!
Everything in the room was immaculate.
I had dinner there too, the dining room with candle light is understated and perfect. Dinner was a "deconstructed" prawn cocktail with lovely big prawns and avocado. Main was Boeuf Bourgignon, with dauphinois potato, and veg. The beef was melt in your mouth. Ben is the desserts specialist and a lovely strawberry bavarois topped off the experience, along with a carafe of red wine just for me! I managed only two glasses.
The only other guests were a pleasant Belgian couple, who spoke no English and although we had brief conversation, I did struggle at times to know where to look as I was seated facing them.
I was seated at a different table for breakfast so that I could actually just focus outside the window which was much more comfortable for me.
Breakfast was excellent too.
There is a lovely lounge area for guests where there is a large television. This room is bright and light and designed/decorated like little rooms within the one big area, a big of Art Deco, a bit of classic French and a bit of almost Vintage Bric a brac, it all works really well.
Lorraine and Ben make a great team, Ben has a wicked sense of humour and I found my stay was made all the more perfect by their friendly contribution.
I would absolutely recommend Chateau de Corrige to anyone and would love to return myself one day.
The grounds are in the process of Ben and Lorraine planning to get some of the area back to their original appearance, like the walled garden to the side, and the tennis court.
If you had the time to stay longer, there are lovely footpaths leading directly from the property.

Room Tip: The blue room is lovely with view over the front terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Gail T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lorrainemorris m, Owner at Chateau de Corrige, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2017

Thank you for those positive comments, we certainly strive to provide a great experience.We are glad you took the time to write your review and we thank you for that.
We take on board youcomments regarding the walk to the car, we do like to ask guests to park away from the property, ( we timed it less than 49 seconds) because it spoils those stunning views when your peering round cars.
Look forward to hosting you again one day, and once again thank you for all your positive comments and the extremely detailed review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (73)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 73 reviews

Reviewed 4 May 2017

This is a fantastic gem. In the middle of the French country side, very large rooms, great food, just a fantastic place to go and relax. There is a reasonably large garden and a terrace overlooking he countryside which is just a perfect place to sit with a bottle of wine while the sun goes down.

Room Tip: view over the front garden!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Alan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lorrainezoom, Owner at Chateau de Corrige, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2017

Thank you for your high praise and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay.
We agree the garden is a great place to watch the sun sink behind the hills whilst partaking of a glass of wine
We look forward to welcoming you back one day,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2016

What a delightful treat this place is. Lorraine and her son, Ben, welcomed us warmly. It was evening and we were a bit hungry. Lorraine quickly prepared a beautiful charcuterie platter for us. The rooms are spacious and lovely. It's a beautiful property. It is "off the main road" but this is a plus in my opinion. It is not that far out. Well worth it. Thank you Lorraine and Ben.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank gamayrouge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lorrainemorris m, Owner at Chateau de Corrige, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2017

Thank you for your review, yes we try to make each guest feel special......hope you felt that way...
Hope to see you again one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2016

Overnight stop on my journey to Brittany. Wish it was longer. Lorraine & Ben were very welcoming. No evening meal available but Lorraine was kind enough to do me a cheese and wine platter on the terrace which was terrific. Breakfast was very good but not being a breakfast person I did not make full use of what was on offer. Will certainly stay here again on my travels thru France

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2016

In every way this was the most perfect small hotel we have ever stayed in. A warm and geneous welcome from Lorraine and Ben, an exquisite bucolic landscape worthy of Capability Brown that in the early morning mist was breathtakingly beautiful, a delicious evening meal cooked by Lorraine served with such panache and attention to detail by Ben, a lovely room with large en suite, and then a perfect breakfast. The only drawback was having to leave.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kay J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Chateau de Corrige? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de Corrige

Address: allee du Chateau, 87140 Chamboret, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Haute-Vienne > Chamboret
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Chamboret
Price Range: ₹ 7,441 - ₹ 7,669 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chateau de Corrige is a 15th century hillside castle, set in the beautiful Limousin countryside.The accomodation boasts well appointed spacious and comfortable ensuite rooms.Rooms are decorated with fine French furniture, and your bed is fitted with luxury sateen bedlinens.Your room comes with a seating area where magazines and books are provided for your enjoyment. We provide complimentary toiletries, bathrobes and supersoft towels to complete your bathing experience. You are invited to sample our lunches and evening meals, prepared from seasonal and locally sourced produce. The guest lounge provides a TV area and seating for relaxing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Chateau de Corrige reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing