We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautifully cooked meals”

Lake Tekapo Rakinui Restaurant
Ranked #6 of 15 Restaurants in Lake Tekapo
Price range: US$ 9 - US$ 35
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Rakinui Restaurant celebrates this abundance of fine fare, capturing the flavours of the region perfectly with a contemporary farm to table philosophy. The wine list carries a selection of fine New Zealand wines to complement your dining selection. Enjoy the spectacular views of Lake Tekapo in a relaxed and casual dining setting.
Reviewed 15 July 2017

We were staying at the resort, so had dinner at Rakinui. They accommodated a booking at very short notice and we weren't disappointed. I normally find eye fillet a bit flavourless but the Angus Eye Fillet was the best steak I've had in years. Perfectly cooked, melt in the mouth tender and with plenty of flavour. Hubby raved about his pork belly and there were good servings of veges with both meals. The only thing that stopped me giving them a 5 was that the service was quite slow. We waited nearly 20 minutes before we were offered a drink or orders taken and then the drinks were slow to arrive. As a result our meals were there before we'd finished aperitifs. We weren't in any hurry but a drink when we first sat down would have made the difference. LOVED the focus on using locally grown and sourced ingredients, and the section in the menu telling the story about local producers they use.

Date of visit: July 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank BBs_Mrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (105)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

33 - 37 of 105 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2017

The hotel was very busy with a large tour group & we couldn't book dinner until 8, on arrival first impressions were not good, slow to serve & very understaffed. However, the meal was worth the wait, both our meals were excellent. The High Country Salmon
was delicious not like the over rich fatty farmed salmon you get at the supermarket. A huge variety on the menu all the while the kitchen keeping up with a very big tour group. Hearing the groups morning plans we arrived early for breakfast to a great buffet plenty of choice but my favourite was the creamed spinach & mushrooms - yum.

Date of visit: June 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank StewyNT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2017

My partner and I came here two days in a row, for their buffet breakfast. They have a wonderful selection with pancakes, bacon, lamb sausages, baked beans, grilled tomato, eggs, roast potatoes and mushrooms. As well as toast, pastries and different canned fruits, cereals and yoghurt as well as a few others. Everything we ate was delicious and definitely worth the price. The view is stunning if you get a good table as you can see the mountains from the restaurant.The only slight criticism we had was that on the 2nd day when it was busier we had to wait a long time for our eggs and the other food we wanted to have with it was getting cold.

Date of visit: July 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Shadowintheflame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2017

Ate here for the buffet breakfast, was very good. Staff did their best to keep the food replenished but both days the restaurant was very busy, Good selection to choose from and lovely view.

Date of visit: June 2017
Thank Holz64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2017

We were staying on site and had the Entertainment Book app on the phone (so an immediate discount) so decided to dine here.

The staff were fairly good but service was incredibly slow for the dessert, felt like it was forgotten.

My steak was well cooked, but my wife was disappointed with her pork belly which was dry.

I suggest you also look at the beer list. So many good NZ craft beers available at the better restaurants but not at Rakinui.

Over all it looked promising but disappointed.

Date of visit: June 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank Ian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lake Tekapo Rakinui Restaurant also viewed

Lake Tekapo, Mackenzie District
Lake Tekapo, Mackenzie District
 
Lake Tekapo, Mackenzie District
Lake Tekapo, Mackenzie District
 
Lake Tekapo, Mackenzie District
Lake Tekapo, Mackenzie District
 

Been to Lake Tekapo Rakinui Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing