We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Afternoon Tea”
Review of Astro Cafe

Astro Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: Astro Cafe on top of Mt John, beside the Mt John Observatory. Operated by Earth and Sky Limited, with office situated in Lake Tekapo township.
Reviewed 14 October 2017 via mobile

Great views, coffee and carrot cake were nice. Not a cheap place though, $30 for four coffees and one piece of cake, plus you have to pay $8 per car to drive in the gate.

Thank Moira M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Astro_Cafe, General Manager at Astro Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Kia ora,

We wish to thank you for sharing your experience with our team.

We are delighted that you thoroughly enjoyed the great views, coffee and sweet treats!

We wish to thank you for your contribution for using the Mt. John Access Road. The privately owned road has been in operation for many years and with that, has incurred ever increasing road maintenance costs.

By implementing the Road User Fee, it then allows the safe and continued use of the Mt. John Access Road for many more years and many future generations. For those wishing to use the free Mt. John Walkways, visitors may do so by enquiring at the village office.

We hope you have the opportunity to visit us again.

Safe travels,

Margaret Munro
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (723)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

11 - 15 of 723 reviews

Reviewed 12 October 2017

Great water is available forma a special well .... The highest post office in NZ ...great coffee and light meals.. but the view whew on a clear day you can wee next week .. DON'T STAND ON THE TABLES...and when using you tripod be wary of the wind guts

Thank birdman222015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Astro_Cafe, General Manager at Astro Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Kia ora,

Thank you for your kind words, t is great appreciated to received feedback from our guests.

We are delighted that you enjoyed the selection of food and drinks we have to offer.

As Lake Tekapo can experience high volumes of high winds and adverse weather conditions, we do not allow guests to stand on the tables provided. Thank you for sharing the warning to other guests.

We would also encourage guests to take as many photographs as possible - the views are truly spectacular.

We are pleased to hear your experience was positive and we wish you well on your future travels.

Safe travels,
Margaret Munro
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2017 via mobile

The observatory coffee shop is perched at the top of mount john. It has a range of sandwiches and cakes along with tea, coffee and drinks. We had salmon bagel, carrot cake, coffee and tea. It was all really good and the staff were super friendly.

The place is usually packed with tired hikers who walked up the mountain, or lazy drivers like us!

Omar

Thank Omar I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Astro_Cafe, General Manager at Astro Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Kia ora Omar,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with our team.

We are delighted to hear you chose to use the Mt. John Access Road - your valued contribution will go towards the ever increasing maintenance costs of the privately owned road.

Your contribution, along with others, will allow the safe and continued use of the Mt. John Access Road for future generations for many more years.

It is great to hear you chose to dine with us, sampling a variety of our sweet & savoury options and our hot & cold beverages!

We are pleased you enjoyed your visit and we hope to host you again soon.

Safe travels,
Margaret Munro
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2017 via mobile

This cafe is located at the top of Mt. John next to the observatory. Can take a walking trail up to the top, only takes 30 mins with a few steep inclines, or you can drive. Has lots of tables to sit in or outside and take in the gorgeous view. Got chocolate is a must with a fun design on the top with marshmallow. I would recommend to continue the walk around the lakeside to see more of the views.

Thank Gabby Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Astro_Cafe, General Manager at Astro Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago


Kia ora,

Thank you for writing and sharing an excellent account of your recent visit to the University of Canterbury Mt. John Observatory.

We are delighted that you chose to use the free Mt. John Walkways and visit our friendly team here at the Astro Cafe.

We are delighted that you chose to sample our famous hot chocolate - a must on those colder afternoons!

It is great to hear that you enjoyed many elements of your visit - we hope to welcome you back, again soon.

Safe travels,
Margaret Munro
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2017 via mobile

Good coffee and chocolate, very welcome on a cool breezy day. The staff was very friendly and helpful, and very good prices even though there is no competition.

Thank DavidRobinson22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Astro_Cafe, General Manager at Astro Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Kia ora,

Thank you for your excellent review.

We are pleased to hear you chose to use the free Mt. John Walkways and hike to the summit of Mt. John.

With breathtaking views from the moment you step on the trail in the village, it is a hike not to be missed.

We are pleased to hear you found our team to be friendly and helpful and felt the pricing for our wide selection of sweet & savoury snacks, to be reasonable.

We wish to thank you for your kind words and hope to greet you again at the cafe where Earth truly does meet Sky.

Safe travels,
Margaret Munro
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Astro Cafe also viewed

Lake Tekapo, Mackenzie District
Lake Tekapo, Mackenzie District
 
Lake Tekapo, Mackenzie District
Lake Tekapo, Mackenzie District
 
Lake Tekapo, Mackenzie District
Lake Tekapo, Mackenzie District
 

Been to Astro Cafe? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing