We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (197)
Filter reviews
197 results
Traveller rating
12
29
56
51
49
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
12
29
56
51
49
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 197 reviews
Reviewed 28 January 2018

The hotel was just OK for one night after a 9:30 pm flight arrival. The staff that checked us in was not welcoming at all. We left early the next morning so did not use any of the amenities but did not miss much. I would not recommend this hotel

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tropical_traveler13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2017

I stayed here in Guadeloupe on a school architecture 'study tour' for 2 weeks. So, I was with a large group of approximately 30 students and 2 lecturers from Jamaica. We were not really using the hotel's amenities or such because we were exploring and studying the city of Pointe-a-Pitre during the days to the early evening and working in the lobby area of the hotel in the nights.

First of all, our flight arrived in Guadeloupe around noon and we were told that Karaibes does not start check in until about 2pm. We got there and waited maybe an hour before checking in, but the hotel was so disorganized because they were probably startled at the amount of students and luggage there were staying here.

The chaotic mess ensued for about an hour or two before we were all settled in rooms. Not to mention that I was staying in a room with 2 other ladies. We were given the wrong room at first - We paid for a room with a kitchenette and appliances because we were on budget as a school group. When we were directed to our correct room, it ended up being very far from the lobby, in fact it was disconnected from the main hotel... It was also not as clean as it should have been.

The next issue we had was that the communication was extremely poor... We are an english speaking group in a french territory... Yes, we spoke a slight bit of french, managing to use words here and there but barely anyone of the staff could understand us. This was irritating.

The wifi was another issue. We were told that we have wifi in our room that was far from the main... Well. That was a lie. The wifi had to have been paid for and only a few devices could connect to it. Not to mention that we were far from the signal so basically we paid for wifi connection and could not pick it up in our room. This made us, as students, have to stay in the lobby to use the internet and possibly bother guests that were also staying here. Every day for two weeks my school group was in the lobby soaking up the wifi because it could not reach our rooms.

Shall I go on, the kitchenette in the rooms was absolutely disgusting. I was not sure if the dishes and cups, etc were cleaned before we got the room. The floor was sticky and the sink, too. This was difficult to deal with. It was also roach infested at times and also taken over by birds and snails, sometimes.

I would not recommend this hotel to people. We had no other choice but to stay here because of our budget but it doesn't mean that the staff had to be rude and impatient with us.

It was an overall bad experience staying here.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Megan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2017

Basic clean room and new bathroom. Very colorful building on the outside. All the beaches in Guadeloupe are public and this hotel is very near them. No elevator. Many good restaurants within walking distance. Cab was very late to pick us up for the airport so we missed out flight. Cab went to the wrong hotel.

Room Tip: Request a first floor room if you don't want to carry luggage upstairs.
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank romayne k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel K, Directeur général at Karaibes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2017

Hello,

Thank you for your good comments. we really appraciate. See you next time.

Julie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2017

...I can't remember staying in a worse hotel. At the end of our vacation, our flight home was cancelled so the airline put up many of the passengers at this hotel, which was a benefit that I know not every airline will provide. They bussed us to the hotel and picked us up in the morning. That was great. I can understand, however, why this hotel was one of the few that had vacancies for so many people. We were placed in an out building that had an "apartment" with a full kitchen, a bed in a dining area, and no real window. It was clean, but extremely sparse. Only working lighting was overhead, and I felt like I was in a cell. Nearby are two resort hotels with beautiful amenities. This is not one of them.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Revfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel K, Directeur général at Karaibes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2017

Hello,
It was nice receiving you in this emergency case, you were probably very tired, and stress full by the cancellation of your flight.
Staying just a few hours, it's difficult to really appreciate the apartment, and his advantage.
Hope you will come back soon, to really enjoy it.
Best regards,

Julie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2017 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for just one night. It's a basic hotel, nothing fancy. The rooms have AC, TV, queen bed, rooms are very small, the bathroom are clean. They only give soap, no shampoo, no conditioner. This hotel is not up to the American standard, it is mostly for European (French). The pool is small and located on the side of the hotel, kind of hidden between 4 walls. The water was too cold so we did not swim there. There were no lights in the hallways to get to your room. The staffs are nice but nothing more. They charge €5 per day for the internet but we did not use their wifi. I wish they include wifi to their customers. There are plenty of restaurants around (walking distance). The beach which is 4mns walk from the hotel is 'acceptable' the water has rocks and lot of seaweed, it is also very dirty and smelly. There are other hotels using the same beach. We did not swim there, there are much better beaches in Guadeloupe.
Overall the hotel is just 'acceptable', feel cheap, nothing more. I would probably not return to this hotel as it is too basic for us.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Scenic16132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel K, Directeur général at Karaibes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2017

Hello,

Thank you for your comments. next time if you wish to stay longer we recommend you to book a apartment. there are more spacious and equipped with kitchen.
Concerning the beaches there are 3 others in 1 km from the hotel.

See You
Julie

Julie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews